We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

St. Vitus Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.43*
and up
Private Transfer from Passau to Prague with Stopover in Cesky Krumlov
Ranked #5 of 951 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Situated at the Prague Castle, St. Vitus Cathedral is the most important and largest church in Prague. The cathedral is the burial place of the former Czech kings and a home of the Czech Crown Jewels.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It's free for a part only but you are there already so worth every cent to pay for entry into the church all areas which also includes access into parts of the castle. You could be there for hours ( like we were) looking at all the beauty in the room, u almost forget it was raining outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,247
    3,483
    632
    73
    43
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but go with a tour or a guide”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The cathedral itself is very nice. The stained glass windows are very pretty. However, there is not much in the way of available information in English. We certainly enjoyed the beauty of the place, but would have enjoyed some narrative on the importance of what we were viewing and interesting facts on the items inside.

We tried to hire a guide when we bought our ticket, but one wasn't available for over an hour. In hindsight, I would have gone on the castle tour with a guide that we met in the square (Keith... from California... wears a green shirt). I think I would have enjoyed it even more with his type of narrative giving lots of interesting facts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KHMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Entry is free, but you only get to restricted parts of the church. Buy a combo ticket with the main castle and see the whole spendor of the cathedral. Well worth the extra bucks to see the whole thing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dandyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
247 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A must see not only for the architecture inside and out but a little known fact is that Catholics do not have to pay an admission fee to tour the inside of the cathedral. I

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank teresa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was very pretty; some of the most beautiful and detailed stained glass I've seen. You can enter the main entrance for free, and have to pay a few crown to walk around, which I did, and I was glad of it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Vitus Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Vitus Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing