We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating history”

Jewish Museum in Prague
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.30*
and up
Jewish Prague Walking Tour
More Info
$44.30*
and up
Walking Tour of Prague's Jewish Quarter Including Admission to the Jewish...
More Info
$45.50*
and up
Jewish Prague Walking Tour
Ranked #43 of 993 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This historic pre-war Jewish neighborhood now stands as a silent memorial to its people.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We bought the ticket which allowed us into 6 sites including the cemetery. We opted not to do a guided tour since it was 3 hours long. It took us about 1 and3/4 hours to see everything except the Spanish synagogue(we were going back there at night for a concert). That was adequate time if you are interested in the history and the buildings but not overly concerned with getting all of the details. The tour would be great if Jewish history was a special interest.The cemetery was our favorite with 12 layers of graves in one small space.

Thank maapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Manažer at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,143 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Jewish Museum gives a good baseline history of the Jewish community in Prague throughout history, but to really understand the community and what they went through you must do the full circuit of sites included in the Jewish Quarter ticket (about six synagogues, Robert Guttmann Gallery, cemetery, etc.). That's what will bring life to the words in the museum.

Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear slsnyc,
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
JMP consists of four synagogues, Ceremonial hall, the Old Jewish Cemetery and Robert Guttmann Gallery. It is worldwide unique - you won't find so many synagogues in one place in a variety of architectural styles ranging from Gothic in any other city in the world. We also highly recommend to do the full circuit in order to gain a comprehensive picture of the Prague Jewish Quearter as a whole including its history.
We´ll be pleased to welcome you again in the Jewish Museum in Prague!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Based largely on Tripadvisor reviews, I booked a tour of the Jewish Quarter with Roman for my family (consisting of myself and three grown children), and it was without a doubt the highlight of our trip to Prague. Roman is extremely knowledgeable, engaging, and passionate about both his city and Jewish history, and by the end of the afternoon, we felt like he was part of the family. My son (who has traveled fairly extensively) put it best for all of us: "This was the best tour of my LIFE!"
If you're going to Prague, be sure to book a tour with Roman--you won't regret it!

2  Thank smendel126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Manažer at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Unfortunately I only experienced the area from the outside, as I hadn't realised the day I visited the area was a Saturday (days of the week mean nothing on holiday, there's only yesterday, today, and tomorrow), and everything was shut for the sabbath. The history is amazing, and I'll leave you to google it, and it's ironic that what was once the poorest and most crowded part of Prague is now one of the nicest and most expensive. A must see for everyone.

Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Front Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Regardless of one's religion or belief system, walking the Jewish Quarter is a MUST in Prague. Rent the headsets at the Museum to maximize your experience. Set aside 3-4 hours to see the various sites within the Quarter. The walking is easy and will give you an emotional break between the sites to process your experience. This is NOT a grim Holocaust visit, but one which tells the history of the Jews in Prague over an 800 year history. The walls of names and the "children's drawings" will personalize the Holocaust in a dramatic and sobering way.

2  Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Front Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jewish Museum in Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing