We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bit of history”

Jewish Museum in Prague
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.46*
and up
Walking Tour of Prague's Jewish Quarter Including...
Ranked #93 of 1,097 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The expositions of the Jewish Museum in Prague are located in four historical synagogues (Maisel Synagogue, Klausen Synagogue with the Ceremonial Hall, Pinkas Synagogue and Spanish Synagogue). The museum tour further includes the Old Jewish Cemetery and Robert Guttmann Gallery. The museum is open daily except Saturdays and other Jewish holidays: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m. (summer time) and 9 a.m. – 4.30 p.m. (winter time). Tickets can be purchased at the museum’s ticket offices, Information and Reservation Centre (Maiselova 15, Prague 1) or in the museum's e-shop.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Unfortunately I only experienced the area from the outside, as I hadn't realised the day I visited the area was a Saturday (days of the week mean nothing on holiday, there's only yesterday, today, and tomorrow), and everything was shut for the sabbath. The history is amazing, and I'll leave you to google it, and it's ironic that what was once the poorest and most crowded part of Prague is now one of the nicest and most expensive. A must see for everyone.

Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Front Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"spanish synagogue"
in 167 reviews
"ceremonial hall"
in 68 reviews
"maisel synagogue"
in 38 reviews
"jewish holidays"
in 16 reviews
"holocaust memorial"
in 20 reviews
"audio guide"
in 71 reviews
"second world war"
in 26 reviews
"terezin concentration camp"
in 18 reviews
"buy a ticket"
in 20 reviews
"take your time"
in 18 reviews
"czech republic"
in 27 reviews
"walking tour"
in 24 reviews
"jews"
in 214 reviews
"sites"
in 194 reviews
"graveyard"
in 67 reviews
"history"
in 476 reviews
"judaism"
in 27 reviews
Filter

1,211 - 1,215 of 2,979 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Regardless of one's religion or belief system, walking the Jewish Quarter is a MUST in Prague. Rent the headsets at the Museum to maximize your experience. Set aside 3-4 hours to see the various sites within the Quarter. The walking is easy and will give you an emotional break between the sites to process your experience. This is NOT a grim Holocaust visit, but one which tells the history of the Jews in Prague over an 800 year history. The walls of names and the "children's drawings" will personalize the Holocaust in a dramatic and sobering way.

2  Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Front Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are looking forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were not sure about going to this after reading the reviews. It is pricey for Prague and it doesn't take credit cards. The people were about average Prague friendliness. The cemetery was okay. Nobody bought photo passes, but they took photos anyway. The Pinkas was pretty plain, but the names were quite moving. The children's art was interesting, though it had been oversold to me a little - go right when you enter for the description board that explains everything. Spanish synagogue was really impressive. The exhibits were all in a very old museum style and they need updating. Overall, it is probably worth doing.

Thank KiwiMohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear KiwiMohog,
Thank you for your evaluation.
We do accept credit cards in the Information and reservation center (Maiselova 15, Praha 1) where you can purchase your ticket.
The price, from our point of view, corresponds with the uniqueness of the visited sites and it is on par with the admission to other major European cultural heritage.
Regarding our staff, each unfriendly conduct of our employees is a violation of internal regulations. We apologize on behalf of our staff. We welcome specific description of your unpleasant experience so we could deduce concrete conclusions and prevent its recurrence.
Regarding following the rules of picture taking, rather than strictly insisting on paying the fee, we rely on the common decency of our visitors.
Thank you for your understanding and we will look forward your next visit of the Jewish Museum in Prague!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a very moving museum tour. The tour consists of a museum, 2 synagogues, the old and the new, and the Jewish Cemetery. In the museum you will see artifacts of faith that have survived multiple regime changes and two world wars. The two synagogues are very different, one very traditional and the other is considered modern. The museum is very moving, as you see names, stories, pictures and personal items of those impacted by WWII. The walk through the cemetery allows you to see the grand remembrances done for some and the simple stones used to remember others. The sheer quantity of people in the cemetery is brought to life with all of the markers.

1  Thank MJVADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear MJVADC,
Thank you very much, we are very happy the Jewish Museum in Prague had such an impact on you and we will look forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Didn't know Jewish have been suffering that much (besides they were killed massively by the Nazis) until I visited these museums - there're several places to see with one ticket purchased. It was very well curated and information was quite complete - Jewish's living, religion, society, culture and so on were all covered.
I am not a person into history, but still this was an extremely enjoyable experience, probably the most memorable one among all other places I visited in Prague.

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewishmuseminprague, Tým podpory webu TripAdvisorFront Office Manager at Jewish Museum in Prague, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear Amanda C,
Thank you very much, we are very happy the Jewish Museum in Prague had such an impact on you and we will look forward your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum in Prague also viewed

 

Been to Jewish Museum in Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing