We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and helpful staff”
Review of Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera
Ranked #308 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value and helpful staff”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, rooms are good, clean and spacious, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is comprehensive and would satisfy the greatest hunger. About 20 mins from the old square and about 15 mins from the main train station.
MONEY SAVING TIP: Instead of paying the 500-600Kr taxi fare from the airport, get the express bus to the train station then get the taxi from there.
Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatoldbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    115
    65
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
93
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a nice hotel very well located. It was very cold outside in Prague in february but warm and cosy inside.Rooms of good size, sufficiently furnished, good beds. The TV set is old and the screen small to be watched from the bed and the remote control was as in many hotels, low on battery.The bathroom was large, well lit and furnished. The bathrobe and slippers are to be appreciated. On the bad side,the tub included the shower and had no curtain or wall so everything could get wet.
Breakfast buffet as usual though fruit and a decent orange juice were missing. Service was fine thogh check in out should be faster. The bar had the excellent Pilsner Urquell, for me the best in the world

Room Tip: I too a room to the inner court, it was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huyggens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston on the Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel on our first trip to Prague. This was after a recomendation from a Czech friend. We were both delighted with our stay. We found the staff helpful (their English is far better than our Czech!), the room spotless, the buffet breakfast was excellent.
We used the hotel limo to go to the airport after our stay, and found the service well-priced, prompt, and efficient.
The hotel is very well placed to walk into the old town, and we recieved excellent directions - in English- from the lady on the desk.

Over all, we are happy to recommend this hotel. We will be visiting Prague again next year, and will be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, Oxon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Plus points: Good location, helpful friendly staff, big double room (almost a suite! - Room 306), great big King Size mattress.

Not so plus points: Very noisy outside at night ALL night (trams, Police sirens, traffic on adjacent flyover). Not much in the way of sound proofing so not much sleep! The towels in particular are awful, really thin, almost like tea towels. Otherwise, although ok for a couple of nights the rooms are a little tired with odd bits of damage (broken hook on bathroom door, extractor fan in bathroom innefective).

Buffet breakfast adequate but nothing special. I'm not familiar with the standards in Czech hotels but I would have expected better considering it is billed as being 4 Star. One night with a few drinks in the bar equated to about £100 so I can't complain about the price (although I believe a special rate had been negotiated for us by the people we were visting, we were in Prague for a wedding).

I would say overall ok for a couple of nights but don't go with 4 Star expectations and maybe not a great choice if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Room 306 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is an ordinary hotel in Prague. Good location, at the edge of the old city. If you also get it at a good price (eg 60 euros) it makes a lot of sense. No luxury here, no late night room service, but things are clean and work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George_Silverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel is very clean and efficient. The front desk is friendly and outgoing. The buffet breakfast was quite adequate but watch out for the dragon lady with the dark hair and glasses! My only complaints would be that the beds were very hard and the towels in the bathroom were more like tea towels in terms of pile. The location was a bit out of the way but manageable. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Charming old style hotel with helpful staff. I would consider the location very good. I stayed for three nights and was able to sleep like a log every night. Even though subway and tram stations are just around the corner, I didn't need to use them a single time as every main attraction in Prague was in reasonable walking distance (Old town square, Tÿn church, Vaclavsquare, Charles bridge etc). There are a couple of nice bars on the Petrské nám street just a couple of blocks away too.

The breakfast was a real disappointment. Quite narrow selection of tasteless essentials. The machine brewed coffee was undrinkable. Would expect more quality breakfast from a four star hotel.

I would also have prefered to have WiFi internet access in the room instead of an ethernet cable with RJ45-plug, as I would have liked the internet access to go with my smartphone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
#186 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#112 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#66 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#172 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
AXA hotel
AXA hotel
#173 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera

Property: Opera
Address: Teshnov 1743/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OPERA is a 4-star Neorenaissance family-owned hotel located in the centre of Prague. It´s been completely renovated to ensure full comfort of the guests. Each room has an air-conditioning, high-speed internet connection, direct dial telephone access, satelite TV, a minibar and a deposit box. Other hotel amenities include a restaurant, a bar, room, concierge, business and valet parking services, a dry sauna and a fitness room and a private meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing