We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a 5 star hotel!”
Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #84 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NOT a 5 star hotel!”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

This hotel is centrally located. It's in a quite area just away from the noise & hussle of the city center, but still a quick walk to all of the major sites.

The staff are pleasant, but I would not call them friendly. I was told to "please proceed with my question" when I called to book a shuttle from the airport and started the conversation with, "Hello, how are you today?"

The hotel is clean. The hotel room itself and bathroom in the room were clean. But the hotel is a bit shabby. The look of the Hotel is done in the art nouveau style (from the 1920s). That would have been very charming if it were recently updated to look that way.
The room we stayed in was very shabby and the furnishings (draperies, sofa, headboards, etc.) were all from the 1980s. Again it was clean, just SEVERELY outdated and quite disappointing when you think you are going to a 5 star hotel. By U.S. standards this is a 3 star hotel with the potential to be a 4 star hotel.

Having said that, the hotel shows pictures are rooms that look more updated than the one we stayed in, but I did not experience that room so I cant write about it.

TIP: If you book this hotel online and you see something that says, "Only 2 more rooms available at this rate" you are going to get one of the shabby rooms!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidspacedesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    218
    50
    25
    18
See reviews for
82
523
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Very good location but not not, I insist, not at all a hotel of 5* . For sure it didn't worth the money we paid.The room was disapointing, the breakfast cost extra if you wanted something like cheese and for someone who thinks that after a long day diserves a good night sleep forget it, the matress was the worse. I do not believe I am exaggerating, I was n;t the only one to believe so. And something else, we wanted to sent some postcards, they told us they would sent them for us, they sent them ten days after we left the hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marggeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

The hotel is a walking distance (about 10') from all the major site of the city.
We suggest this hotel also for the small SPA.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabianoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed three days at this hotel then moved to the Hilton Prague for another three nights (planned in advance, this had NOTHING to do with the Hoffmeister). We enjoyed the Hoffmeister, but after moving to the Prague Hilton we realized that the hotel did not meet "five star" standards. I'll explain:

The rooms were very nice but seemed a bit tired, and the A/C didn't work in our room the first night. I think it was because one of the hotel circuit breakers for our wing was off as the hallway lights were also out. The next night the hall lights were back on and miraculously so was the A/C...

The hotel staff was very nice and tried to accommodate our needs as best they could. Because it is a small boutique hotel it does not have the space for large pubic facilities but what space they had was efficienltly used. There is a nice restaurant on the premises, with a decent breakfast in the morning.

Hotel location was actually quite neat, at the base of the historic Prague Castle. Being directly across the river from Old Town meant it was convenient yet a bit detached from the crowds. An excellent base from which to explore the many charms of Prague on foot.

The business center consisted of a single computer in the main lobby, internet access was not free.

The biggest irritation was the fact that the (beautiful) spa in the hotel was not free for guests. Further, if you did wish to use the spa you had to make a reservation, and apparently this also serves as a fitness club for non-guests, so availability could be limited. Also on-site parking is VERY limited, but we did not have any problems,

Because of the price we paid for this hotel I cannot recommend it as good value for money, perhaps a a lower room rate I could be enticed to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingCanucks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Although we have been coming to Prague very often, this was my first Hoffmeister stay.

I loved the hotel and fantastic accommodation. Our room was in annex wing with a separate entrance, contemporary / retro bathroom situated in a stone carved portion of the suite.

There was a very sensitive balance between contemporary design and traditional elements.

Although Czech food is very wholesome comfort type, we enjoyed every bit of it.

The spa and stone bath were the best recovery cure for my hectic end of a business day.

On my next trip I will bring my family too. As it has a great historical city location, one does not need a car to get around.

  • Liked — comfort, style and cleanliness
  • Disliked — mattres
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HDLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2008

We stayed in Hoffmeister early December and we couldn´t make better choice, when someone is looking for real five-star this is the place to visit in Prague. Everything worth to see or visit in this beautiful city just few minutes to walk from the hotel. We booked executive double room & not a suite, and found in the bathroom bathtub with a Jacuzzi, separate shower and even two basins. Smiling and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel, dinner was delicious and after recommendation by lovely girl at the reception we spent one morning in the spa which was relaxing experience far beyond our expectations. Our congratulations to all people working for this beautiful hotel, they can be sure to see me again. Thank you. Lena Monn, Stuttgart

  • Liked — bathtub with a Jacuzzi, smiling and helpful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank monnle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Just arrived from a weekend spent in absolutely amazing hotel Hoffmeister Prague recommended by friend of mine. That was a great time, great location just at the castle, beautiful room, art work everywhere, breathtaking spa, especially the Stonebath is a must to try and the dinner was far beyond delicious. Attentive staff everywhere. Will always stay here in Prague and recommend to everyone.
Jery J.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, great location and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryJ-Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
622 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#122 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#75 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing