We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #90 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great stay in Prague in this hotel, excellent staff, very polite and helpful. The hotel is located in a great position between the castle and the main square! The room was clean and quite big, with great furniture. The breakfast is provided with everything you could expect.
We had an excellent three night stay at the Hotel Hoffmeister

Abbiamo avuto uno splendido soggiorno in questo hotel in cui abbiamo passato 3 notti in una stanza ampia e dotata di ogni confort. La colazione è veramente completa, frutta e verdura freche, marmellate, dolci, vari tipi di carne e uova, cereali, formaggi, yogurt, salmone. Lo staff è genitlissimo, cordiale, di grande aiuto.

Room Tip: Include breakfast in your reservation, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Govo_A_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    207
    50
    23
    18
See reviews for
81
504
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Where do you start well
Staff - everyone you encounter is only to happy to help or just acknowledge you and say hello, nothing is too much trouble, from asking chef to open some tins to reception printing boarding passes.
Food - breakfast has everything you could possibly want from fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, cheese, ham to sausages bacon eggs beans and even mushrooms oh and not forgetting the pastries. Again quality and standard exceptional.
Room - (1 bed apartment) again standard of decoration and cleanliness easily 5* and more. We looked at Hilton and others and are so pleased we opted for the Hoffmeister.
Wellness Centre & Spa - this is the jewel in their crown. The "Cave" is the best steam room that I have been in and the steam mechanism makes you jump at first but is very unique! Some of the walls are formed of the actual rock the hotel is built against for added character.Then you have the Roman bath, the biggest jacuzzi I have seen in beautiful serene surroundings. These were available at certain times for free with our reservation but we also had a private session where we had these facilities to ourselves in private and was not very expensive. There are also several massage rooms and a wide variety of treatments.
Hotel in general - the styling of the hotel gives off a feeling of high quality and the polished brass handrails and general decoration put me in mind of the titanic's era - in 1 word - classy.
Transport - trams and metro a 2 min walk from hotel and 2 stops on either puts you in the heart of the city.
If and when we are back in Prague it's a no brainier will be back here like a shot.
Thank you to all the staff for an exceptional stay, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: For the little extra they charge go for room 702 it's a 1 bed apt but has 2 full bathrooms loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel. Well what can I say we have had just the most fabulous time here. The staff are exceptional in very way. The breakfast was wonderful great choice very well cooked and nicely presented. This hotel is immaculate. The hotel dinner was a fabulous experience and one I would recommend. We enjoyed the spa especially the whirlpool so peaceful and tranquil perfect for relaxing and taking the stress away.
The hotel is also in a fabulous location 5 min walk to Prague Castle and 10-15min walk to Charles bridge and the centre. I can't thank the hotel enough for the fabulous stay and would very much recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkat2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've just had an excellent three night stay at the Hotel Hoffmeister. It was a very enjoyable stay, the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good too.

We also enjoyed making use of the spa's whirlpoool which was relaxing after a busy day sightseeing.

We'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague as it's in a perfect location near to Prague castle.

A beautiful hotel in a fantastic and very beautiful city.

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

Chris & Naomi Bentley

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Myself and my partner have just come back from a two night stay at the Hoffmeister Spa Hotel, apart from a terrible experience with some spa treatments we booked, we would happily recommend the hotel and especially if you manage to book at the price we paid.

The hotel's location is perfect, just below the castle and about a 10 minute walk from the centre. I must say the pictures on the website of the hotel’s exterior are misleading as it's not quite as serine as they depict; it's actually on an incredibly busy road under a graffiti covered railway bridge - noise certainly wasn't an issue for us though and once you enter the hotel you breath a sigh of relief as the interior has a really charming feel to it.
We booked a couple of month's in advance through a comparison sight and ended up paying £65 per night which I think is pretty good value.

The trip was part of our Honeymoon travels. I emailed the Hoffmeister before arrival requesting for a nice quiet room and we were delighted with what we were given. The room was very spacious, immaculately clean and the best feature… double Jacuzzi bath!

The reason I can't award this hotel 5 stars was due to a really terrible experience we had with their spa and also in the way they followed up (or didn't) on our situation. We booked a side by side one hour ''relaxing'' massage on the evening we arrived. Unfortunately when we arrived at the time we booked we were informed that they weren't able to see us as one of the masseuses had apparently heat their wrist. As we had changed our evening plans to have the massage this was rather frustrating but these things happen.
We re-booked for the following morning. We came down just before the time we booked and were asked to change into robes; we then followed our masseuses through and were shown through to the treatment room. Immediately outside the treatment room was an enormous communal hotub which was available to all of the hotel guests and as soon as the massage begun all we could hear was shouting, laughing and splashing of other guests about 12 feet from where we were laying. We complained twice and asked if they could be asked to keep it down but all we got was an apology before being told that they were guests as well. On top of this the hour long massage, we had paid over £60 each for, was one of the worst either of us had ever had. We were unable to relax mostly because of the noise from outside and also the very strange choice of music they were playing, Luther Vandross seemed to be on repeat, the room was far too brightly lit; the masseuses didn't seem particularly experienced (repetitive strokes, which became boring and constantly breaking contact). They also missed some of the fundamental rituals of a good massage, we weren't given a consultation, we weren't offered to shower fist, we weren't offered water before or after... all in all a terrible experience!
We passed on our feedback when we checked out and coincidently the Spa Manager was behind Reception at the time. What was really frustrating was that he knew all about our experience and knew that it wasn’t one which we enjoyed – so why were we not approached? Not a five star experience and certainly not a five star service. They did offer a little 20% discount which was too small a gesture offered too late.

So my advice; stay at the hotel, stay out of their spa!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room as the road is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoffmeisterPrague, Manager at Hoffmeister & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Sam R,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy with your positive comment about our hotel. It is important for us to make our guests happy with services we provide. On the other hand I am bit concerned about your spa comments.

I sincerely apologize for your massage experience. The usual experience of our guests with the treatments we offer is always excellent and we are very glad for any insights to improve the services.

I will certainly reconsider the choice of music.

Water and fruits are offered before entering to the "spa area" - in the hallway where on the left there are showers and on the right you go to treatment rooms or to Jacuzzi. For the future I will make sure that guests are verbally warned to use it. It is not a decoration after all.

As regards taking a shower before massage that is more complex thing. Someone says it is good to take warm shower to "heat" the muscles and skin up to open up to he massage. Someone says it is not advisable. Then it might be considered from hygienically point of view but we presume that all hotel guests might use bathroom in the room and come to the massage directly in bathrobes and hence this step might be omitted.

For the masseurs I can only say that we cooperate with all of them for years and with some for decade already. They present a "diplomas" on their education and they also work in other hotels in Prague. If they were not good I believe other hotels were not using them too and same comments would be seen on other 5 star properties offering massage services. May I kindly ask you for sending us some insights about what you found not so fit to your taste of their massage technique? It would be great to get notions from someone attentive like you.

And about the noise of other guests. I am sorry for that. This is a sensitive situation and I believe that masseurs took the step to remedy it. We certainly will consider arranging sound proof doors to the massage room (during a hotel reconstruction we plan for January 2014) if this is an issue.

If you have more insights feel free to share them with me on my email petr.novotny@hoffmeister.cz

Best regards and thank you,

Petr Novotny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.durham, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

it was our 25th wedding anniversary and we decided Prague would be a beautiful place to spend it and was lucky enough to book into the Hoffmeister Hotel , we were greeted by very friendly but proffessional staff , the hotel is stunning ,thank you all for a great experience

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facebook251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is one of the Best hotels i've stayed on. From our arrivel the service was vers High eventhough we came too early to check in. The hotel rooms are nicely decorated and the spa area is very Nice too. Can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#155 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#43 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing