We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hoffmeister hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #87 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hoffmeister hotel”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

greeted with complimentary beer or wine , that's a good start , the staff were very helpful and pleasant .The room was beautifully furnished , the only thing it lacked was tea & coffee facility's .
We used the spa one morning very relaxing after previous day.s walking .The setting for the steam room is most surprising being underground , there were also plenty of relaxing areas with loungers in the spa area. A great buffet breakfast in the morning which gave plenty of choice & variety .
The hotel sit,s only a stones throw from the steps of Prague castle , and 10 min,s walk from old town sqaure perfect location

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    207
    50
    23
    17
See reviews for
81
503
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed in one of there apartments and one of the best places i have stayed in. Welcome glass of bubbly on arrival, not just one bathroom but one each, both having walk in shower and jacuzzi bath. well equipped kitchen and 2 tv's. The hotel staff were very friendly and looked after our bags after check out as we had an evening flight, cannot fault this place very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel Hoffmiester was an interesting choice.
Let's start with the excellent location. It is 50m away from the point where you would be brought if you are going to visit the castle. Within 5 minutes you are at the other side of the water; within 10 minutes you are at the main square or the Jakob's bridge.
The hotel itself is a bit old fashioned. They do try to keep it modern, but it could use an update. If you like the slightly old fashioned style, it would be still perfect for you though. The staff is highly kind and very open. Not all of them are equally skilled, but they try hard. You can just see it in the small details: the very kind concierge/on-site manager guy wore the same tie for 3 days and it did have some stains on it. All the personal is nicely in suit, but they wear old shoes. At the breakfast, 1 of the staff came with juice in a pack to fill up the orange juice dispenser. And, at breakfast they keep on running behind the fact: no plates, out of bread, no more milk. Funny thing is the coffee: it looked like tea, and to be honest, it taste more like a strong tea as well. But then they do offer the option to get a coffee from their Nespresso machine; but you do have to pay 35 Kr for that; a bit weird: just serve good coffee to begin with.
Our room was nice a spacious. Great bed and in good condition.
The hotel also has a cool spa. In some of their packages they offer a spa treatment: a massage (excellent), an hour in a bubble bath and an hour in their Sauna/steam bath (which looks excellent!). So, if that is what you like, certainly go for it!
If you want to park in their garage (about 15 Eur a night; there is no other option in the neighborhood) make sure you book it: there is not a lot of space. This is even more important if you have a SUV or any other big car: as you wont be able to fit in the car-elevator (I had great fun with my station-wagon, which fitted by 1 cm).
But ok; if you are reading this review, you are probably looking for a well priced 5 star hotel in Prague. If you can deal with the slightly outdated furniture; you will have a great stay! The excellent location (just outside of all the big tourist things) is also a great plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoffmeisterPrague, Manager at Hoffmeister & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your review. Your insights are very valuable to us. We have drawn immediate consequence from all the points that you mention.

Furthermore we would like to thank you for sharing a positive experience with our rooms, hotel and spa. We indeed try to keep them nice and we refurnish them step by step. It only takes a lot of time as we are buying historical furniture that we have renovated which takes time. Also you might have noticed the upgrades that were done, probably during your stay, in our reception which supports what I say.

I hope, and am sure, that if you ever return to us in the future we shall qualify for full points review.

Best regards,

Petr Novotny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Dont understand why this hotel earned 5 stars, of course its cousy and beds are comfortable, but bathrooms are extremely small, and shower didn't work wery well, also really cheap and small towels. Also had problems with the phone, even though it were a note to explain how to call foreign counties, the staff explained it wasnt possible to do, so therefor i had to call reception every time i had to make a call, and explain ffor them how to do it. Staff does NOT speak good english, even though they try to be helpful.
I also tried to order some coffe to my room, and everytime they asked me to go to the restaurant, even though i explained that i were ill, and after arguing a little bit they came with coffe. Room service is not 24hrs as expected.
Also have a big mainroad just 10 meters away, police-sirens and traffic all night.
I choosed this hotell for my convalecens after surgery, after being in contact with them just to make sure that this were a nice and quiet place with best of service, well its absolutely not. More like a nice 3star, or a pretty lousy 4-star.
Best about the hotell is the cleaning, wich is really good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room NOT facing mainroad, traffic is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 451traveller451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoffmeisterPrague, General Manager at Hoffmeister & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for sending your review to the Tripadvisor.

Unfortunately, you write that you were looking for a quiet hotel and that we were not worth of 4****rating.
Please, have a look at your request as below (in red). You did mention only a request about smoking room and easy access to outside, which you have been given by our hotel.
You did not specify anything about noise and quiet place, even during your whole stay.

In case you sent us better specification of your expectaiton, we would definitely offer you a special luxury room even a luxury suite, which is very quiet and comfortable with large and excellent bathrooms and private jacuzzi in it.
Nothing was specified in the first mail you sent us, have a look in red as below again.

As well we did offer you 77,5EUR/ night, which is the lowest price corresponding to the standard room type, the lowest and basic category of the accommodation we do offer on our webpage. The other rooms are double price, but you did not asked anything special or luxury.

Room service in our hotel we do provide 24 hrs per day. From 7 am till 11 pm – our a ĺa carte and from 11pm till 7 am only special offer, such as cold dishes, drinks ect… As per discussions with my staff I know that you were trying to order a delivery with our housekeeping. You must understand that our housekeeping ladies can not be paid for English cIasses considered the room price. I can not find out, why you haven't called our restaurant or reception, or management where everyone speaks at leaast english or english plus German or Russian.
I am not sure where was the problem, but in case you were not satisfied you could inform the hotel management immediately, this is my opinion.

Probably there is nothing to explain anymore. I am only a hotel manager and I am at the disadvantage, because you as a guest can put down anything about us, about our service, our hotel.
I wish you to chose a better hotel in the future, one that will satisffy all your expectations and all your needs.

Thank you for your attention.


Ivana Michalova


…… your first request……..
Hello.
I´m about to book my staying in your hotel during my visit in prague between 24/3-28/3. Just have some questions, because i´m going for a medical treatment on the 26th, and after that I will probably be staying in the room most of the time unthil leaving. Is it possible for me to have meals served by roomservice, in case I won´t be able to go to the restaurant?
I´m also smoking, wich type of room is the best if you want easy access to outside?

Best regards

Ivana Michalová
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A group of 35 spent 3 days at Hofmeister's. We felt very much at home and were taken exceptionally well care of. The service level was very high. The staff really got out of their way to make us comfortable. Hoffmeister is a perfect place for small to medium size group events.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 243A_B_C2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights during our spring break trip. It is a very nice hotel and we would definitely stay here again. Great location, romantic atmosphere, helpful staff, big and cosy room and cannot forget the spa which was very pleasant after all the sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Majal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Picked the hoffmiester after reading the reviews, i would highly recommend a stay here.
All the staff were very helpful, the stay overall all was perfect. We finished off with a meal at the hotel, which was a great way to finish our pleasent stay. The food was perfection on my palate. Would pick the hoffmeister again and use the spa a little more.

Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 670 in Prague
1,387 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#155 of 670 in Prague
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#41 of 670 in Prague
649 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing