We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a perfect stay in perfect Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a perfect stay in perfect Prague”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

WOW. Probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. We had arranged an airport transfer with the hotel which was a very good service. The hotel had all our paperwork ready for us on our arrival and we checked in immediately. Definitely recommend a superior suite with a balcony. The room was a very good size for a city hotel. Recommend you also book direct with the hotel as we got a much better deal.
The staff were amazing friendly and helpful, my partner forgot his i phone charger and the hotel were more than happy to charge this up for him over the 4 days we stayed. You can also borrow CDS for your room which we did on a couple of occasions when we got back in the evening. They even had umbrellas in your room which you can borrow.
The hotel is so close to everything. The Old Town is 5 mins walk and you can get the tram from up the road to see the castle.
The breakfast was out of this world, I have never seen such a selection of ham, cheeses, fruits, cereal, cooked breakfast, tuna salad, egg mayo, breads, pastries, juices, coffees, a selection of teas and even a juicer with lots of fresh veg and fruit to make some fantastic smoothies, not forgetting the menu where you can have cooked to order food, the eggs benedict were great.
The hotel had a friendly bar where we had our complimentary cocktail one night. There was even a very well equipped gym and sauna, unfortunately our days were so full up with sightseeing we didn't get a chance to use this.
Local bars and restaurants were great, and if you feel slightly peckish Fastys two doors down from the hotel did the best burger I have ever tasted, there was also some of the best cocktail bars within a short walking distance.
WE LOVED PRAGUE AND WE LOVED THIS HOTEL. Well done Hotel Josef, we hope to return to see you one day.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator may be slightly noisy. The local church bells also ring on the hour every h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ES70,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post the above review regarding your stay at Hotel Josef.
It was our great pleasure to read your wonderful comments about all the little extras we add to our guests' stay to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable time in Prague!
Our entire team loved to read your kind words and feedback regarding our service, breakfast, facilities and location - it is delightful to know that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay on so many levels.
We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you would return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,846
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,196
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked this cute little hotel based on tripadvisor ratings and wasn't disappointed at all. It's a modern hotel with all the basic amenities right in the middle of prague. About 5 minutes walk from the main town square. Couldn't ask for more. Rooms are very neat and clean and the glass bathroom was amazing. Would have preferred if the rooms were slightly bigger but then can't really expect that as the location is awesome. Staff is very helpful and courteous and always smiling. The breakfast in the morning is simply fantastic. Every dish is mouthwatering. Hotel also has a nice little gym and sauna. Great place to stay in prague.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalpatni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear kunalpatni,

Thank you so much for providing us with the above review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef. We are really happy that we managed to live up to your expectations based on other TripAdvisor reviews.
It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our facilities and that you liked so many features, such as our location, breakfast, rooms and the fitness center. We were also glad to hear your kind feedback about our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service from the moment we arrived was spot-on; friendly and sincere. The room was clean and comfortable and everything we needed was to hand, including a spare travel adaptor, umbrella, and a bottle of complimentary red wine (for booking direct through the hotel).

Breakfast is the most memorable aspect of our stay, firstly because at the weekend it is served until 12.30pm, and secondly because it was delicious. As well as the usual continental meat, cheese and bread and 'Full English', there was also a raw juice and smoothie bar where you could make unlimited amounts of fresh drinks. The first morning I had loads of cold meats, then eggs Benedict, then pastries, and all of washed down with good coffee and fresh juice.

It's not the cheapest hotel in town, for sure, but if you can stretch the budget it is well worth it. The location is also good, 10 minutes from the Old Town Square, and the number 5 tram round the corner will get you to the steps at the bottom of Prague Castle.

I would definitely stay here again, it may not be traditional but for a design hotel it's unusually warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear gee1973,

Many thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor!
We were so happy to read your throughout positive feedback. It makes us especially proud to know that you found our service friendly and sincere and the atmosphere in our hotel warm and welcoming. It was great to hear that you appreciated all the little details and touches we add to our guests' stay and we also loved to read your detailed feedback about our breakfast.
We hope to see you again whenever you return to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwich, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here while visiting our daughter,who is spending a semester in Prague. The hotel exceeded our expectations,the room( 704) overlooked the Tyne church and had amazing views across the Charles river. The location was perfect, close to all the sights of old town but tucked away on a quite street. The room was spacious with full length windows on 2 sides, comfortable double bed and design bathroom. Book a special package on the hotels website and breakfast and a discounted price may be available. The staff was multilingual and always helpfull. This is a must while staying in Prague

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Rachel P,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us in Prague as well as for your wonderful review about Hotel Josef.
It is at the core of our service to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and it makes me proud to know that we could contribute to such a memorable stay. I truly appreciate your nice comments - your feedback is a great motivation to my entire team.
Thank you once more for posting your review and I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Josef for a long weekend end of March and had a wonderful experience throughout. Everything from our arrival to our departure worked beautifully. We were upgraded to a very spacious and luminous junior suite where we could enjoy a lovely terrace with views over the city. Staff, service, amenities in this hotel are great and so is the breakfast. We would return any time to this hotel when we plan our next visit to Prague. Highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Kathrin G,

We would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
It makes us proud to know that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your stay here from the very beginning, and we would like to thank you especially for mentioning how much you appreciated the upgrade we provided you with. We are delighted to know that you had a great time here with good memories of Prague and it is a huge motivation for our team to know that we could be part of it.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from 21st to 23rd of march.
It's a beautiful hotel in the centre of praga, near the timesquare.
The breakfast is wonderful, the fruits especially.
The rooms are clean and the bathroom is large, the shower is fantastisc.
We booked also the transfer and the man who transfer us was very kindly.
The price is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Francesca589,

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef! Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on our TripAdvisor page.
It was nice to read that you liked our facilities and we would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We just recently stayed a long weekend in Prague at the Josef Hotel.
Let me cut right to the chase and say out front that the pleasure of being a guest at Josef Hotel, Prague was entirely ours.
If I could take Josef Hotel with me from now on to every destination I travel to - I WOULD.

In a little more length, Josef Hotel is a boutique hotel. Though rooms are on the smaller side of the scale (we've been in a superior room), they are very comfortable and modern at the same time. Our room was not only efficient but had flair. No old, heavy, brownish furniture, but hip desk and chair, orange living room seat, cool lamps, even cooler use of glass and mirrors and a walk-in rain shower (instead of an OLD bath/shower combination). We also had a nice balcony with Old Town view (same superior rooms with balcony that face the inner court are bigger, so one should make a suited choice).
As Prague is considered a city break destination, storage space is a little limited. Nothing challenging, just take it into consideration if you're on a European trip with 3 pieces of luggage to last 2 weeks.
Breakfast is fantastic and is served from 06:30 until considerably late (11:30 on weekdays and 12:30 on weekends).

Gym is MUCH better than most other EU hotel gyms (discount, maybe, the big chains that need to better cater American demand) but cannot be compared to hotel gyms of same level hotels in the US.

Location wise, Josef Hotel is right smack in the middle of things and is literally one (or two) corner away from all the best Prague has to offer.

And yet, if I had to point out the hotel's best feature and what really sets it apart and beyond than it's their staff.
You see, through how their staff work you can really understand the hotel's commitment to serve and please their guests. Ms. Jana, Mr. Hassan Ali at the reception will do everything in their power to help, serve and please. Ms. Tolu Oke that also works the front desk went over and above in pursuit of information we asked. Bartenders, concierge, and bell people are genuinely nice and very helpful as well. I would risk saying that by their superior standard of service it is evident that they like what they are doing and that they are excellent at it.

I did regret, however, that the hotel decides not to operate its in-room individual climate control until later on during the year. We had 2 days of surprisingly warm spring weather and if you take a nap after a day of wondering around your room is unpleasantly warm with nothing retreat to.
Nothing to cool the gym too but opening a door to . . . warm outside temp.
We felt that at their superior standard of service, this can be better handled.

All-in-all, I would come back to stay at Josef Hotel when in Prague next time in a heartbeat as the hard product is special and they simply set the standard in genuinely excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelguyNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear TravelguyNYC75,

What a wonderul review! Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review which has made us extremely happy and proud.

Your comments about our room were very pleasant to read, especially knowing that you had a room with an old town view which surely made it more satisfying. What also makes us happy is the fact that you enjoyed our gym facilities, we hope that you made use of all of our equipment.

We are really proud to know that our team has provided you with such satisfying service. Our main goal is to ensure that we can do as much as possible to make sure you enjoy your stay to the fullest, that being said, we cannot be happier that we have managed to accomplish it. I will make sure that our team members you have mentioned will get the praise they deserve as they truly enjoyed providing such a service as mentioned in your feedback.

We are sorry that the climate control was not up to standard during the time of your stay, however, as it was still the beggining of spring and sometimes the weather in Prague is still subject to change therefore forcing us to keep our winter heating active. Hopefully if you decide to visit us again we can have our climate control suited to make you more comfortable during your stay.

Once again we thank you for such a wonderful review and wish to have you stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 649 in Prague
2,271 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing