We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel in great location”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is very nice, including a station for making your own fresh juices and smoothies. Easy walk to the old town square and Charles bridge.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angelique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Angelique B,

What a lovely review, thank you for sharing it with us! We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,809
    522
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
288
1,174
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Due to a heating problem my room wasn't available on check in so I was sent to the sister Hotel Maximillian, a few minutes away and offered a complimentary breakfast which was pretty good.

As for the Josef it has a great location about 5 minutes walk form the Old Town and its sites. Service was very good, polite and attentive. The room was a good size with a large and very comfy double bed. It has an (obscured) glass rain shower & loo which I know some people aren't keen on but I rather like as it makes the room seem bigger and lighter. Stylishly fitted out (chrome & glass desk, Ghost chair) with free wifi throughout.

I'd happily stay here again if coming to Prague and would recommend to others who want a good value, stylish and comfy hotel within walking distance of the main sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Stuey73,

Many thanks for your kind review regarding Hotel Josef.
We were glad to read that you liked so many aspects of your stay here and we especially appreciate your nice comments about the service our staff provided you with.
We hope to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Overall, I'd give the hotel 3.5 stars... I think the hotel is a well kept, modern and clean with staff that are pleasant and helpful. We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of Nov/early Dec. To me, this is not a luxury hotel.

Pros
- Great old town location convenient to everything. You can walk most everywhere; we also used the metro (subway) a few times which is less than 5 minutes walk away.
- Great modern design and very clean.
- *Most* all the staff we came in contact with were very caring and helpful! especially the gentleman that often worked the night shift at the desk.
- Our room had a nice glass bathroom with a cool design.
- Bar service in the lobby was attentive.

Cons
- Housekeeping was a bit stingy when we sought to request more than 3 pillows and 2 bath towels... The pillows were flat (hence we needed more) and the bath towels are quite small, coarse and uncomfortable (hence we needed more than just one). Getting additional towels took repeated requests over 2 days.
- The room decor is modern but a bit too minimalist... There is no dresser or cabinet drawers to unpack... So you must "live out of a suitcase" for 6 days.
- The carpet in our room was worn and stained in a few places... It looked like the cheapest "builders grade" carpet they could find.
- Housekeeping kept the place very clean but seem to do the bare minimum to get their job done.
- The concierge desk in the lobby is in an odd location right next to some of the sofas and chairs in the lounge area. The evenings we sought advice from the concierge I felt like I was "disturbing" the gal... She was mostly helpful but again I got the sense she was not engaged and truly interested in helping us... But instead was just trying to get her job done.

Would I stay here again? Probably so long as the price was right.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alston1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear alston1421,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your feedback on our TripAdvisor page.
We truly value your honest comments; your review is important to us, because it gives us the opportunity to improve.
We hope that you still had a nice and enjoyable time in Prague.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I travelled to Prague for work and stayed in the Hotel Josef. I was impressed as soon as I walked in, friendly staff, clean and modern. I stayed the orange tower and was really impressed with the room. The bathroom was spacious and had a lovely rain shower. The bed was really comfy and there was also a Nespresso coffee machine in the room! Breakfast was included and was lovely - however I still do not understand why bread is fried! A really good selection which suits everyone. I would recommend this hotel as it's really central, I'm sure I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodiehagan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear jodiehagan101,

Many thanks for your lovely review and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.
We were really glad to hear that you liked so many aspects of your stay at Hotel Josef; it is nice to know that you liked our location, breakfast and your room.
We would be happy to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here for the first time on a recent business trip to Prague and was very impressed. At first glance of the room it seemed basic and small but actually it had everything I could possibly need, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great with lots of choice and staff were helpful and polite.Well located and much nicer than some of the bigger 'chain' hotels which lack character and are overpriced. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear BizTravAnd,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us on our TripAdvisor page.
I am pleased to know that your recent stay at Hotel Josef was pleasant, and I am delighted that you liked our breakfast and appreciated the helpful attitude of our staff.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay in Prague!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

When we arrived, our rooms were unfortunately not ready. We got transferred to the sister hotel, Hotel Maximilian. To make up for the inconvenience, the hotel provided a free transfer and breakfast. The rooms were clean, hotel staff were very friendly, and the buffet breakfast was delicious. Distance to old town by foot is approximately 5 minutes. I would definitely recommend Hotel Josef to anyone who visits Prague.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilianchau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear lilianchau,

Thank you for providing us with your kind review on our TripAdvisor page. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay here despite the small inconvenience, and we are truly happy to know that you liked our property.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel really is in ine of the best locations in Prague, only a five minute walk from the Old a Town Square, but that isn't just what makes it a perfect place to stay - it's modern, clean, stylish and so comfortable. Plus, the staff are truly lovely and very helpful!

Our only reservation is the breakfast was about £15 extra per day, so we didn't bother as this is extortionate, especially in Prague where you can get a great, large breakfast for about £3 in many places.

This doesn't mean we wouldn't stay again though!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Rachel E,

Please allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
It was delightful to read how much you liked our hotel and we would especially like to thank you for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 670 in Prague
2,171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,617 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing