We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Higher than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Higher than expected”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel rated high and recommended in my country's travel book. Initially I did not want to book it as too many travllers mean the facilities would get worn out. And nearby hotels are more convenient and cheaper. However, as the others were booked, finally choose Josef and I am glad i make the right choice.

The hotel is a more boutique hotel which can be a 3 star. However their staff are nice and friendly. When l ask the reception Jana about the location, she provided detail information and search on the website and showed me what it look like now in the computer, very considerate and human. The service and facilities include electric multi plug, nepresso coffee machine, foot blanket near bed, pocket map, umbrella which are all provided inside the rooms already and I encountered this the same in 5 star hotel. And they even did better and consider much than those 5 stars. Location is convenient. And the environment is not noisy. Bed is comfortable. And even with many visitors it is clean. Hope they can continue to keep up. As i will consider to book them when return to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Dayday2013,

Many thanks for your kind feedback that you posted on our TripAdvisor page.
We truly value your positive comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,811
    522
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
288
1,176
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise when we arrived! You really don't expect to see such a contemporary hotel in the middle of old town! Rooms are big and spacious, clean and modern. The staff is friendly and helpful and all of them are very fluent in english. The daily rate is a little bit expensive for Prague but worth it. They claim to be famous for their breakfast but we just didn't think it was worth to try a 25 dll s breakfast. Other than that we will definetly come back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vdelaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Vdelaro,

It was delightful to read your kind feedback, thank you for sharing it with us!
We were so happy to hear how much you liked our hotel and that we managed to make your stay a pleasant one.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
528 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

As a family, we have travelled throughout Europe once or twice a year. Josef is amongst the top, the best. Cheerful staff, excellent room, great location, attentive to details, nice breakfast. Value for money. Responsive. We chose Josef because we researched TripAdvisor. We had also previously stayed at other Design Hotels. Czech hospitality is wonderful. Josef is a hotel that has character. Highly recommended to travellers from Asia and all over.

Room Tip: Take 803 as this room faces the Prague skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Edmund K,

I would like to thank you for your review and having chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague.
Your feedback is a great motivation for us. We always strive for excellence in our service, therefore I am pleased to know that you and your family had a great time here and were satisfied with many aspects of your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel. The design is striking and functional. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location is also great - about five minutes to the Old Town. Very good restaurants within close vicinity. The staff was very helpful and spoke great English. You feel pampered in the hotel. Would definitely come back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bettercallpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Bettercallpaul,

Thank you so much for your positive review that you wrote about your stay at Hotel Josef.
We are really happy that you liked our hotel and found our staff helpful. We are also pleased to know that you were satisfied with our recommendations for restaurants.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - modern, well located, good food, excellent service. They upgraded us to a larger room and it was fabulous. It's a very well designed hotel with many thoughtful features in the room. The old town square, the Charles Bridge and the Wenceslas square are all walkable from here. The concierge did a great job of booking us on the walking tours. Overall a very satisfying experience and we shall definitely come back here should we visit Prague again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freelander270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Freelander270,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for having chosen Hotel Josef in Prague and also for sharing your great review with us on TripAdvisor.
I was pleased to hear that you were satisfied with features of our property such as the breakfast, design and location.
It is at the core of our service to contribute to a great experience here; therefore I am especially grateful to know that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and the complimentary room upgrade.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Josef, after researching TripAdvisor. It is very well located, with beautiful amenities, service and food (get breakfast included). It provides a great overall experience, as you get great value for your money. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. The service from the time of reservation and during our stay was very good. As many people have said before, the location is close to all attractions without the noise and the traffic.

We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony and Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Tony_Francesco,

We were pleased to read your kind review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for sharing it with us!
It was great hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and we look forward to seeing you whenever you visit Prague again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A thoroughly "designed" space with a nice room and a great bathroom. Lobby is very modern and overall the property is very clean. Location was perfect for a quick walk to Old town square with lots of good restaurants nearby. Parking was available and, while not cheap, felt reasonable considering the location.

Another plus was the WiFi. Some hotels require you to enter an access code, and on an iPhone you may end up having to enter this code over and over again. No codes at Hotel Josef.

If I were to return to Prague I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kpedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear kpedad,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page.
We were happy to read that you had a great experience here and liked so many aspects of your stay.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 670 in Prague
2,171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,620 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing