We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #43 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Cosy and clean.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is perfect for anybody looking for a comfy room in central Prague. Excellent staff and a lovely breakfast make for a welcoming experience. A tad businessy so not ideal for couples or families but ,for the single traveller or friends, its great.
They have a sister hotel around the corner that we would perhaps try if we're ever in Prague again.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear CynthiaH56,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comments about your stay at Hotel Josef.
It was great to read that you had a pleasant time here, and we are really happy that you liked our service and breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    523
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
289
1,187
119
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

There are a lot of reviews out there, so I'm going to say a few short things about the hotel in general and then I will address the one thing that continues to get neglected - the bathrooms. The hotel is clean, the staff is very nice, and the valet service is excellent. Free wi-fi is nice, but we don't really use it when we travel. There are bathrobes in the room, there's a sauna on the top floor of the "Orange" building and you can sit outside for some sunbathing, but the rooftop view isn't all that great - just a bunch of other buildings. However, the gym looked immaculate! The equipment was pristine and there's a huge flat screen t.v. you can watch while working out. There are also free bottle of different flavored vitamin water, which I absolutely loved! We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, although I have heard it's excellent - we just preferred to be "out in the action" at an outdoor cafe vs. inside. However, when the weather gets colder or if it was raining, my husband and I would be hard-pressed to find an excuse NOT to try out the breakfast at least once. Now, on to the bathrooms...so the bathrooms in this place are "glass-themed", meaning that the bathroom door and the shower door - while glass - are opaque. You can't necessarily see through them, but you can see a silhouette of everything going on behind them and you can hear everything. If you aren't comfortable with your spouse and his/her "movements", don't stay here or finally face the reality that you are both human. The rooms have black-out drapes, but you still won't really get a "view" from this hotel. However, the location is excellent (within a 5-10 minute walk to Old Town) and the killer deal we got for three nights (less than 12,000CZK or about 431EUR) was worth it! Yes, I will stay here again...

Room Tip: All rooms have a/c, book early and get a room in the "800" block - they are suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w8ing4flite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear w8ing4flite,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your detailed review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
Your feedback captured so much about our property - we were especially pleased to read your kind words about our staff.
Regarding your comments about our bathrooms, we are aware that our glass superior room category does not suit everyone's taste when it comes to privacy, and we definitely have the option of other superior categories for our guests, such as balcony or sofa rooms, which come with limestone bathrooms.
We are happy to know that you had a great time here, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights recently and really had a great time. The hotel is close to the Old Town Square yet on a quiet street away from the tourist throngs. Hotel Josef is modern with a fresh, bright and airy feel. The rooms were quite a good size with an interesting, glass enclosed bathroom that made the room feel larger. The front of house staff and the restaurant staff were great and it was good to see a few different nationalities working in the hotel. The breakfast is very good and we also had a number of other meals, which interestingly can be served in the lobby, in the courtyard or in the restaurant.... wherever you like. Just one comment, the housekeeping staff could be improved. They do not understand English very well and as they don't seem to work of a checklist, they tended to 'forget' all the little details that have to be attended to. Cleaning the cups, making sure all the glasses were left, cleaning the cafe bar etc. Overall a great little hotel in a central location but with quiet, peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the courtyard at the back of the hotel as these are quieter with a nicer o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Moonwalker123,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other readers about our hotel. It was great to read that you found so many aspects of your stay here to your liking.
We also appreciate your comment regarding the cups and the coffee station in the room, we passed on the information to the concerned department.
We hope we will see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
201 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had the hotel prebooked pick-up at the main train station for 360CZK (to avoid the risk of having to hassle with local taxis and having to worry about whether the taxis have meters or not), and in 10 minutes I was at the hotel. Initially I thought I could have walked to the hotel from the station by looking at a local map, but it turns out it would have been rather difficult, particularly with suitcase in-hand.

Check in is a breeze, I got a room on a top floor with a wrap around terrace with the view of the castle. The room is spacious, clean, and modern. The distance to town square is about a 5-10 minute walk (bring walking shoes!), and another 10 minutes or so you will be in the Charles Bridge area. For those who are adventurous enough to walk up hill towards the castle, the hotel is about a 45 minute or so hike; the pebble stone pavements are challenging at times. The hotel is in a safe area, and I didn't run into any issues in the Charles Bridge area. There were many cruise passengers touring Prague during my visit, and weekends can get rather congested in the town square and castle area.

There is a great restaurant close to the hotel called Kalina. Definitely give it a try. Great wine, good food, but not the stereotypical meat/potato Czech dishes.

The fancy shopping Parizska Street is also about a 10 minute walk from the hotel; and the Palladium shopping center is about a 5 minute walk.

For those who want to stay close to the castle, this might not be the most convenient location; but for anything else, give this hotel a try. I quite enjoyed my stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Enjoys_Relaxing,

We were pleased to read your throughout positive review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef, - thank you for your kind feedback.
We are really glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I have been in Prague multiple times and have experienced many different hotels and rental apartments. Then we tried Hotel Josef, and our search was hereby over! Although this is a more pricey hotel for Prague, it is absolutely worth it. They have very nice rooms and the staff is welcoming and very service minded.
The first time we stayed here, 2 years ago, they had some problems with our room (which I see others have experienced as well). But they had arranged a nice room at the Hilton close by, a car to pick us up and then some upgrading when our room was ready (do not remember though what kind of upgrade). It was not a big problem for us at all.
But this time all was ready when we arrived. We were here for our 5 years wedding anniversary and the staff congratulated us and they had also arranged a very nice cake for us in our room.

We stayed in 701, with balcony overlooking Old Town. It was extremely hot in Prague during our stay so the air-condition in the room was just heavenly.
We also had lunch one of the days which was very good. Lot of food, I couldn´t even finish it.
Their breakfast is superb and you can even blend your own smoothie.

I have only one negative comment, and that is for their gym. It is too warm up there in summertime and I couldn´t figure out how to adjust the air con. And it would have been nice if they could put some refrigerators there to keep the water cold. But the rooms are well equipped, and they offer free water and sport drinks there.

We are alreayd looking forward to our next trip to this beautiful city, and next stay at Hotel Josef.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisebjoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Lisebjoern,

Please, allow us to thank you for taking the time to write your nice review and for posting it on our TripAdvisor page.
We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay for the second time as well, and that you appreciated the service minded attitude of our staff.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding the gym, however, we believe it is important to mention that we do have refrigerators in our gym and we were sorry to find out here that you did not have the chance to try a nice, cool bottle of vitamin water after your work-out.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back, should you return to the Golden City again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

4 of us (2 couples ) just spent 4 nights at the Josef. The best staff I have ever encountered. Perfect. Great location. Clean and modern hotel. The rooms are a little snug (go for a balcony room) Love it, and will never stay anywhere but the Josef when in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear jay b,

We would like to thank you for your kind review that you posted on our TripAdvisor page.
It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay here, and we look forward to welcoming you back, should you visit Prague again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I travel a lot , especially in Europe as I had just completed a 31-day Europe vacation which was my 3rd European trip .
I stayed at many terrific hotels but this one really stands out despite its being a boutique hotel.
The room are spacious and modern , the bedding and linen are great and the breakfast is very good to boot. Staff are attentive and polite with prompt service .
The breakfast is something special with high quality food such as fresh smoked salmon, yummy bacon and fresh fruits. I especially like the blueberry and cherry .
The coffee is pretty good as well , making the breakfast meal one of the best in Prague.
Overall , one of the best hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quangfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear quangfremont,

Thank you for sharing your rave review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your detailed feedback; it was great to read that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking. It makes us glad to know that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#39 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing