We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid room 801”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid room 801”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

It is a nice Hotel and well located. Unfortunately room 801 is to close to the elevators engines and you will get lots of noise all the time. Pik room 704. Breakfast is above average. Could be better in terms of cleanliness.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nforneas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    522
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
288
1,178
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

This hotel was a great find, in a central location. We walked everwhere from the hotel.

The hotel is very minimalist which i liked it wasn't fussy. The staff checking in and out where very helpful. We also ordered the hotels car to pick us up and drop us back to the airport. This was slightly more expensive then a taxis but worth it.

The room was on the small size but had everything we needed.

The breakfast was excellent. Everything you could think of, this really set us up for the day.

Would defo recommend.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — The room could have done with a dust round.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

A fantastic hotel - wonderful, helpful friendly staff.
An amazing place to stay to see Prague.
Excellent breakfast.
The taxi/driver service is second to none

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Read about the postive comments about Josef in different sources. I experienced it last week of May.

Location: It's just within a10-min stroll to Old Town Square along Diouha. 8 mins down to Powder Tower. Don't be fooled by the map, this chic sleek designed hotel is nestled in a quiet safe area not too far from the main attractions. Afterall, Prague is a walking city, you get to walk more. We are so glad to choose Josef to be away from the hustle and bustle of the tourisy area near Old Town Square.
It's a pleasant walk from the hotel to Parizska, the street full of nice restaurants and high-end boutiques then onward to the riverside. (there are other bridges to explore, not just the Charles bridge)

Concierge: Before we arrived the Concierge provided very helpful info on train from & to Berlin. The staff Lucia should be commended for her dedicated service. There is another lady at concierge desk wasn't as helpful. She doesn't seem to know anything, kept saying you will find it, it's ok to look around. We used the hote car for transfer to and from the train station, it's a bit more expensive than ordering a AAA taxi, but the car is nice, one of the drivers (I remised to find out his name) a very courteous gentleman speaks good English.

Room: The room is simplistic. We stayed at 806 Pink House. The room is spacious. Two twin beds, a good size glass desk with a light filmsy plastic chair which is not very comfortable while surfing on the net.
Bathroom is spacious, just a tub w/o a shower cubicle. The glass panel petition the tub is not fixed, hotel management should stick a sticker to warn house guests to avoid liability. Generous supplies of Aveda toiletries. (even better than what we get in a Grand room in GrandHyatt Berlin that also offers Aveda supplies)

But the stain (incurable) on the bathroom floor really put me off. I complained about it, but they can't do much about it. May be the hotel is too popular, some maintenance work in the room should be taken care of, e.g. the blinds.

An Nepresso machine made the days for my husband. There is a sofa bed that he can lounge to watch the flatscreen TV, though not big, but of excellent quality. Even Adlon Kempinski in Berlin can't match this TV. =)

The room is surrounded by floor to ceiling glass window, you get the warm sunshine during the day, the inside and outside blinds block out the light allow you to sleep in late. There is a narrow balcony surrounding the room, we enjoy the sunset of a partial castle view with a nice cup of coffee on the tiny table on the balcony.

The breakfast offers a very good selection of fruits, pastries and coldcut. You can also order from the menu for pancakes, and different style of eggs, try the Egg Florentine. PROVIDED you don't go for early breakfast, on the day we left, we went down 645am, there s hardly any hot food ready. That's a disappointment.

A breakfast staff Jiri K. offered top-notched service, attention to details, on our second day, after we sat down, he brought over a pot of strong brew English breakfast without my ordering.
He even brought over my husband the pancakes and fried eggwhite after he finished his plate of fruits. Impressive.

My husband noted some posters here shown photos with fruits and wine complimentary, but we got no freebies.
A superior room allows free rental of DVD, but we were charged for them, I had to talk to the front desk, but the staff said ours is not a superior room, I had to show him the reservation email from the reservation manager. Then he took it off from the bill.

We WILL RETURN TO JOSEF. Hope the management will fix the niddy griddy problems in the room.

  • Liked — Location, the chic design
  • Disliked — The stain on the bathroom floor, and no tea bags in the room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yrtx4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, July 8, 2008
We thank you kindly for your helpful comments and we will see to it that the drawbacks you mentioned will be removed. We are particularly pleased that you have found our breakfast selection of foods and service enjoyable and that you were satisfied with your room view. In relation to the less satisfactory aspects of your stay we will make sure that you do not meet them next time you come to stay in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Josef and loved every minute of it. The whole space is very modern and clean, our room was immaculate and had everything you need, including free wireless. The flat screen tv includes a DVD player, and you can rent movies from the front desk. All staff members spoke English very well and were very friendly, helpful and responsive. We ordered room service one night, and the food was great and brought very quickly. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was fantastic. The breakfast room is very nice, with indoor and outdoor seating, and the food is great, with everything you would expect at breakfast -- eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, fruit, and a menu if you want to order something not on the buffet. Although the location is convenient to everything, the hotel is very quiet. From Hotel Josef, you can easily walk to all the sites in Old Town and Jewish Quarter. A little further walk to all the sites in New Town, and the Nameste Republiky metro and tram stop is within a couple of blocks if you want to venture further to places like Prague Castle and the Vyserad. If we ever go back to Prague, it would be a pleasure to stay here again. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pkstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

Modern-very clean-spacious room-helpful staff-good location!!
Would stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlekaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

I booked the Josef for 3 nights and stayed in 704. The room was a good size with air conditioning which actually worked! The bathroom was great with a massive free standing bath, although i only showered, but that was also very spacious.
The breakfast is fast becoming legendary and i have to say i have never seen such a selection of (fresh) fruit along with juices, cold meats, cheese, yoghurts and of course good old english breakfast and eggs cooked to your request.
Overall it is a very modern well appointed hotel which makes you feel very comfortable. Location wise it is about 5 mins on foot from the main square. Just for balance i would say that the Gymn could be bigger and would benefit from more facilities and as the bar is in the same area as the reception this is a little offputting and stopped me drinking there. For those that are interested there is also a small business room which offers totally free access to pc's, printers and web browsing which i think is a great idea. Overall i really enjoyed my stay and would return.

  • Liked — Cool Factor
  • Disliked — No Rowing Machine!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank galson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#38 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing