We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We liked everything about the Josef - location, appearance, comfort, breakfast, amazing sun-activated windown shades, and a staff that couldn't have been more cordial and helpful. It's more boutique-hip than luxe, but without the attitude of either. I bet we'll be back again, and before then we will certainly send many friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Solwnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Assistant Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Solwnuk,

"Couldnt be happier" - This could not be more clear on how we feel about your great review. Thank you for taking the time to post such a review.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to know that you will recommend Hotel Josef to your friends.

We wish you a wonderful summer and can only hope to see you back at Hotel Josef in the future.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,864
    534
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
298
1,206
122
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and walking distance to all sights. The staff is incredibly friendly, helpful and begins showing thier warmth and hospitality from the minute you check in.
The common areas were very open, sleek and inviting. There are couches, chairs and a bar that is open and serving items throughout the day. The breakfast room is light and cheery with a great variety of items to choose from.
The rooms are clean, and the decor is modern. Beds were comfortable and the rooms are nice and quiet as most of them face a courtyard. I needed two rooms as I was traveling with my family and they were sure to accommodate our needs and give us connecting rooms. Price point is comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacey1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Assistant Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear lacey1991,

We thank you for such a kind and positive review regarding your family trip to Prague and your stay at Hotel Josef.

We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our reception is proud that their warm and friendly hospitality was acknowledged and thank you for pointing out such great comments about the breakfast and the decor of the Hotel as it means a lot to us.

We really hope that you and your family enjoyed Prague to the most and that the Hotel was up to all your liking.

We hope to welcome you back to Prague and Hotel Josef again in the future.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment I booked the hotel online, the great service started by asking if I needed anything for my stay. As soon as we arrived, the doorman was super helpful with our bags as well as taking the time to explain how to work the TV, coffee maker, etc...

The location is perfect as it is a quick walk to Old Town square. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a buffet as well as items you can order off a menu for no additional cost.

Everyone from the front desk to the concierage was incredibly helpful.

The real highlight was the popcorn they brought to us when we ordered a DVD (all complimentary).To me, it is the small gestures that make a hotel stand out, and Hotel Josef definitely delivered to make our stay wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Assistant Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Lindsey S,

Thank you for the time taken to write this great review of our Hotel.

We are glad to know that your satisfaction already started even before arriving to the hotel and the fact that you enjoyed our services throughout your stay can not make us any happier.

Sometimes when visiting Prague, it means a lot of walking - there is nothing better than to relax and enjoy a nice DVD with some popcorn, and popcorn in this equation is a small gesture along with many others that mean a lot to us too, so we are glad you enjoyed it.

We wish to see you once again in Prague and at Hotel Josef.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Josef in March, 2013. From the welcome to departure, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, as everyone says. The fitness room was well-equipped and convenient. We like the location, an easy walk from the old town square, but still in a mostly quiet neighborhood. The cooling didn't seem to be on in March, but we could leave the windows open most of time except in the evenings when there was street noise. All in all, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Don't get on the street, it can be noisy. Any other choice would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Assistant Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear NMFrank,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at Hotel Josef.

We are happy that we matched your expectations and that you were pleased with our services. Our staff members are proud of their work and reviews like yours can only assure that we will continue to do our best.

In March, Prague can usually be a very pleasant city to visit, but unfortunately this year we were experiencing some slightly odd weather conditions therefore our heating in the hotel was still activated due to the unpredictable weather, hence the heat in the room, but we are glad to know it didnt affect you too much.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you at Hotel Josef in the near future.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Josef for 3 nights. I decided on this hotel as it is modern unlike other hotels. The location is almost right at the centre of Praha, just 5 minutes walk to old town square.

The rooms are of decent size, more than enough room for 2 big bags on the floor. Very clean and highlight was the bathroom glass doors although it may not be so private for non couples!

Breakfast was amazing, as they have a special daily menu. Excellent selection of cut fruits...in addition, breakfast ends at 1230 on weekends, especially for those who could not wake up!

The service was impeccable to say the least as the concierge, waiters, housekeeping staff always have a great smile and provides the extra service and assistance.

Only negative is that the rooms facing the road can be a bit noisy. In addition, the tv transmission is a bit disruptive.

Definitely will stay there again, certainly value for value!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tansam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Assistant Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear tansam22,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Hotel Josef - and what a wonderful review it is.

In addition, we would like to add that we are extremely happy about the points you have mentioned as our rooms with the glass bathrooms play a big role in our design and we are glad to see you have enjoyed it. Also, your comments about the breakfast could not make us more proud as it simply just helps the staff to be acknowledged of their work and motivates us to maintain and improve our services.

We would like to conclude by thanking you once again for your review and would like to add that on your next visit we will hope to welcome you again and are happy to offer you a room facing our courtyard where there is less noise.

Best regards,

Filipe Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel Josef is a contemporary hotel with design and fixtures- minimalist, yet plush- by Philipe Starck. The room was predominantly white, with bright pillows and throws, and overlooked a green courtyard with cafe tables. The whole place seemed filled with light. And the staff were smart, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Overlook the courtyard for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear TCarrigan,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef.
It is a honor to hear that our staff have made a great impression on your visit to Prague, and we hope that one day you will be back, as we are all looking forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Best Regards,
Ang Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 809 with my wife and daughter during a recent visit and thoroughly enjoyed the service, the hotel facilities, the location and "that breakfast". Will recommend this without a doubt. Only regret is I didn't manage to tip the head porter for his help during our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Reception Team at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Alan A,

Thank you for choosng to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here in Prague. Frantisek in particular will be happy to know that he helped to make it an even more pleasant one. We look forward to having you here again in the future.

Best regards,

Tolu Oke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,343 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing