We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Nearby Hotels
$414
$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Liberty(Prague)
$203
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$388
$321
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$337
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$485
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$310
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mosaic House(Prague)(Great Value!)
$192
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Golden Well Hotel(Prague)
$730
$684
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$203
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elysee(Prague)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,612)
Filter reviews
2,612 results
Traveler rating
1,944
561
76
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,944
561
76
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass bathroomold town squareorange housenespresso machinejewish quartersuperior roomsister hotelrooms are modernloved this hotelexcellent hotelfresh fruitperfect locationbreakfast buffetbreakfast was amazingcar servicethe main squarequiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,163 - 1,168 of 2,612 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I were there for 10 days after Christmas. We had a nice room facing the old town. The location of Josef is perfect, within walking distance of the main attractions in magnificent Prague.
The only thing I didn´t like about the Josef was the name of a drink they offer in the bar: The name of the drink is INCA, and the base of the drink is TEQUILA. I´m a proud Mexican, and I spend alot of time teaching people that México is more or less 8,000 kms away of Perú. The Aztecs were the last pre-hispanic civilization in México, and the Incas their equivalents in Perú. Also, México is in North America and Perú is in South America, the same continent yes, but with the equator in between, and of course the one and only real TEQUILA is 101% MEXICAN!

Room Tip: If you can choose a room with view of the old town, will be nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZopiloteMojado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear ZopiloteMojado,

thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Josef on Tripadvisor. We really enjoyed having you and your wife staying with us and hope you have many good memories of your time at Josef and in Prague.
After you pointed out the incorrect cocktail name during check out, we changed it and it is now renamed Aztec, as you suggested!

Kind regards

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nice and modern hotel with hospitable staff. Breakfast buffet is outstanding and well above average. Have experienced very small rooms so if you like your room to be big, ask!.
Rooms are well utilized and clean and have seperate bathrooms/showers. Easy accessable thruogh multiple elevators. Light and sizable lobby, not very private though as it is facing the street through open windows.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oclaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear oclaassen,

thank you for recommending Hotel Josef on Tripadvisor! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast
We have different room categories and big rooms are available. It's best to speak to our reservations team to make sure you get the room that you are looking for.

Kind regards

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. Very impressed. Very modern and contemporary. Room was excellent. Very spacious and modern design was really refreshing. Certainly not your run of the mill hotel room. The large glass walled bathroom was amazing. Room service was excellent. Breakfast and lunch were also very good indeed but beware huge portions of food!!
Internet was by wifi - fast, easy to connect and free.
All staff were polite and very efficient indeed. All spoke superb English.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nscc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Nscc2,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are very happy to hear that we were able to impress you and that you will recommend us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards from Prague

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Design Hotel Josef in October 2012 during a 4 night trip to Prague. I chose the hotel based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor, the location, and the price. I'm happy to say that the hotel met all of my expectations and more. The location was ideal for exploring the Jewish quarter and the central square of Prague, both of which were in walking distance. It is also quite close to the Municipal Building which I have to say is a must-see in Prague if you enjoy Art Nouveau architecture. I was also pleasantly surprised by the breakfast that was included in the rate of our stay. We were able to order eggs, cappuccino, and other breakfast items in addition to the buffet. The rooms were modern and quite large and our bathroom had a rain shower which was a nice touch. All in all, a great hotel.
One note - I would agree with some of the other reviewers about using the taxis at the airport instead of using the hotel car. As long as you make sure to take a AAA taxi you should not have any problems with being overcharged and it is definitely less than what the hotel car costs. However, it is convenient to use the hotel car when you might need to travel to another part of Prague when it's cold and dark outside!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessieclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear jessieclaire,

thank you very much for your nice feedback about your stay at Josef. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your visit to Prague and Hotel Josef! Thank you also for pointing out our breakfast - it's always included if you book with us and will last you for a long time while you visit Prague's many sightseeing spots!

Best regards from Prague

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first trip to Prague, and this hotel made it a great experience. It is well located within walking distance of two major squares in downtown Prague. When we first saw the location we were not so sure, but don't be fooled. The room was very nice, but don't expect a view here. The service was exceptional. We decided to watch a DVD in our room one night. They sent popcorn up so we could enjoy the experience. The next day was my wife's birthday (I guess they got the info from our passports). They send a small cake with a candle to our room that evening. Very impressive. They also gave us complimentary breakfasts the next morning. The breakfast was superb, although we typically don't purchase breakfast when in Europe because there usually relatively expensive for what you get. We're more the roll and cup-of-coffee type. But I digress. We totally enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear William S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Josef. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us during your wifes birthdays and we are really happy that you enjoyed our little surprise!

All the best from Prague

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews