We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with Prague, but also with Josef!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Prague has always been at the top of my list in European destinations to visit, and though it took me a while to do so, I am glad that I finally did so. Prague is simply a breathtaking city! I simply cannot wait to go back, and when I do, The Josef Hotel will be the place to stay at.

Though when in Europe I like to stay in hotels with an old world charm, we chose to stay here for the convinient location, as well as the great rates. Josef did not disappoint! Though the rooms fell a little cold, and the bed a bit hard (nothing different from all other hotels in Europe), the place is simply a modern-beauty. The glass details, the technology, the small gym with floor to roof windows with view of the beautiful roofs of prague, all add a charm to this place! The service is outstanding, from the front desk, to the front bar staff. They were also kind enough to let us book in 6hrs early, and book out a little later. All, painless experiences. The porter was also a great man! Honestly, I am simply in love with this place, and I am a person very hard to please in hotels. The hotel is steps from great shopping malls and area, and though at first sight the area might seem unsafe, it is actually not. Walking through Prague at 3am, with the streets empty for you, is simply a dream!

I loved the bathroom and the strong shower, and the simple, modern decoration of the hotel, and rooms. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from the city center (for fast-paced New Yorkers like us), but, do take your time to find multiple ways to get there as every corner in Prague hides a little beauty!

See you this summer 2013, Josef!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerRN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Josef and have good memories of Prague.
It's true, Prague is one of the safest cities in Europe and for those who don't mind staying up late it's a great advise to have the city for yourself in the late or early hours - thank you for pointing this out.

All the best from the team at Josef,

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I spent six nights in a Superior Deluxe room for about €600 (not including breakfast). Chic, comfortable room with some nice extras like an always-stocked Nespresso machine.

Great location. Just a few minutes' stroll to Old Town Square and Wenceslas Square. Not too far to Charles Bridge or the National Theatre. Great places to eat and drink nearby (better than the tourists traps immediately surrounding the landmarks). We walked almost everywhere.

The buffet breakfast was amazing. Great bircher muesli. All kinds of fresh fruit. A juicer and a blender so guests can make their own drinks. Eggs, sausages, bacon, salmon. Pastries and cakes. Huge selection of cheeses. Fresh coffee. It also included any of the meals from the a la carte menu, which changed daily (if it didn't, I'd probably have ordered the pancake rolls with cream cheese and mango every day).

The reception manager, Florentine, and her staff were really welcoming and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. After we checked in, a very friendly porter showed us to our room, gave us a bit of a tour and made us coffee. Florentine's restaurant recommendations are worth heeding.

The computer room (free internet and printing) came in very handy.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have glass walls around the bathroom - fine if you're sharing with a partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear samdukes,

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback about your stay at Josef and the Front Office Team. A great motivation for all of us!
Also thank you for your feedback about the restaurants we recommended - in Prague there is a huge choice and sometimes it is difficult to choose so we are always happy to explain where to find our favourites.

All the best from Prague to Cairns

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January 2013. We booked two rooms for our family. Our stay here was wonderful. The staff was accomodating. Initially, we were given a room on a smoking floor, which exiting the elevator was immediately apparent. We immediately went back down to reception and were given a room on a non-smoking floor. Oddly, even though there are clearly smoking floors, there was not one bit of smoke smell on our floor at all. The beds were a little firm for my taste, but I slept well nonetheless (probably from exhaustion of spending all day out exploring the city!). The teenagers in our group really enjoyed the video library as they could relax to a movie once we all retired to our rooms for the night. Almost all sights are within walking distance. We didn't feel the need to take a bus or taxi anywhere and spent our days walking and exploring. Thank you Hotel Josef. If we ever find ourselves in Prague again, we will definitely stay there again, and also recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear J T,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. We are very happy you and your family had a good time at Josef and good memories of your trip to Prague!
Please accept our apology that you were assigned a room on the smoking floor when you first arrived. We are currently reviewing the smoking policy, until this has been finalized we are always happy to offer alternative accomodation in the hotel when possible.

All the best from the team at Hotel Josef,

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay in one of the premium, top floor rooms at Hotel Josef. This was my 3rd trip to Europe in 2012 and by far the best one yet (I was in Paris as well). Hotel Josef is a very well run hotel - everything from the room preparations, the customer service at the front desk to their amazing breakfast were all thoughtfully planned out and never an excuse for something that could not be done. Certainly compared with some of the other hotels that I stayed at in Europe, I think this hotel is value priced relative to the experience, quality of accommodations and location within the city center.

Some highlights include - 1) As other people have mentioned, the breakfast is amazing. Starting at 6:30am every morning, they put out an impressive array of fresh fruit, fine block cheeses and meats as well as traditional eggs, bacon, cereals in addition to an extensive juice bar that includes fresh made smoothies and made to order coffee station. This doesn't even touch on all of the made to order omlettes that they're more than happy to make for you. This is all served in a bright, modern room facing their courtyard with plenty of available seating and an array of newspapers from around the world. Expertly done each morning of my stay and same for the one night I ordered room service - a really hearty warm soup made from scratch & sandwich which was delivered within 1/2 hour.

My room was amazing - one of their premium rooms on the top floor with stunning views of the castle. I had a large wrap terrace that was a great way to start & end each day. The bathroom had a separate soaking tub and while I'm not a bath person, it was a great way to recharge after a long day of seeing the sights. I would fill it to the brim and soak out for about 30 mins...... I'm considering adding one now to my apartment I liked it so much.

The staff was very impressive as well - everyone that I had contact with - the front desk, kitchen workers and their IT guy were all very bright & capable and eager to help. They just had a nice way about them that come from working at a quality place that seeks to have a consistent level of service & experience for their guests. It goes without saying that all the common area elements such as business center, WiFi and the like were all in perfect working order.

The location was also very prime here - so many great places within a 5 minute walk. If you look on a map, especially in relation to the waterfront where some very posh hotels are set, Hotel Josef was just a better fit that plugged into more of what's happening in Prague and did not have the isolated feel that some of the other hotels have.

I'm sure that my experience is pretty common & possible even in one of their standard rooms, so do not hesitate to book here as it will make your stay in Prague memorable & trouble free.

Peace~2013

Room Tip: Any of the rooms that book by their exact # - 700's & 800's are premium and worth the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WINSTON_LEGTHIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 13, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

It is such a pleasure to read this kind of comment. We try our best and it is nothing better than to see a happy customer with a good experience from our hotel. Thank you as well for your time writing such a long comment full of information. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to see you again sometime in future.

Jana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is very sleek and modern, and offfers many nice amentities (free espresso until about 2:00 PM every day in the lobby, a nice lobby bar, i-pod docks they will bring to your room, and 3 26 in. Mac computers in a very nice computer room just off the lobby. The staff was helpful, and tthe rooms were nice. The sshowers are awesome with great water pressure: something that is sometimes lacking in Europe. It is a convenient location, easy to get to lots of atttractions: but no more so than most hotels in the old town or new town sections fo the city.

Room Tip: rooms facng the street are more charming, but louder if you like to sleep with your window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crescendo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Reception Team at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Crescendo1,

Thank you very much for your review of Josef. We appreciate you taking the time out to do so. The complimentary nespresso, business center and use of the i-pod docking stations are all ways in which we hope to make your stay in Prague more enjoyable.

Josef is in the center of most of the attractions in the city and we are glad that you chose to stay with us on your holiday.

Best wishes from Prague,

Tolu Oke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is a chic and modern hotel in a wonderful location - around a ten minute walk through interesting streets to Prague's Old Town Square.

We arrived by plane in Prague and had prearranged through the hotel for transportation from the airport. When the driver picked us up, he told us we would be spending the first night at a different hotel because of a problem with the air conditioning at the Hotel Josef. The other hotel was fine, but it was not as beautiful or as well situated as the Hotel Josef. During our stay at the Hotel Josef, we were given a bottle of wine and some sweets along with a nice letter apologizing for the inconvenience.

Our room was very pretty and comfortable. We looked out at the courtyard, so it was quiet.

The breakfast was amazing. There was a buffet with many delicious items and you could also order items like eggs and coffee drinks.

The customer service was also terrific. The front desk was helpful with directions and sightseeing suggestions and the house staff were accommodating and friendly.

The Hotel Josef is located in a great location. We spent the first couple of days walking everywhere because the hotel is so centrally located. Our last two days in the city we learned about the public transportation system. The hotel is not too close to a subway stop, but there are tram stops a couple of blocks away.

I hope one day we will return to Prague, and if we do, I'd like to stay at the Hotel Josef again. Staying at this hotel enhanced our visit to this fascinating city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikesToTravel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel Josef. Also thank you for being understanding about us not being able to accomodate you on your first night. We appreciate very much your positive feedback about your time in Prague and at Hotel Josef.

It's true, most of Prague's sights are well withing walking distance of Hotel Josef, but for anyone wanting to go a bit further by using public transport we are always happy to help to find the right connection. To make things easier, guests can also purchase metro and tram tickets at reception.

Kind regards from Prague,

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed are this beautiful, ideally located modern boutique style hotel for a week over the New Year. The location at the intersection of the old Jewish Quarter, the Staré Mésto (Old Town) and Nové Mésto (New Town) made all the sights, excellent restaurants, bars and other attractions within walking distance. The hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable and provides excellent value for money. Service could improve - waited at the bar for 10 minutes before giving up and going next door while two clerks at the adjacent front desk ignored my assistance. When we left we had a wake up call at 3. 00 am and had requested a car for the airport at 3.30 am. No car - it had be arranged for 3.30 pm. Luckily the wake up call was at the right time ! However, in spite of these very minor details, I would not hesitate in recommending this very comfortable hotel to anyone who wants to explore beautiful and historic Prague from an ideal location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skibumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Reception Team at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in Prague and were able to explore this Magical City. There is always so much to discover here and walking is one of the best ways to do so.
We appreciate your comments in regards to our service and will take them into account as a means of our continued effort to improve service for all our guests.

All the best in the New Year from the Hotel Josef team,

Tolu Oke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,479 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 646 in Prague
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#41 of 646 in Prague
1,369 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,542 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 646 in Prague
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $100 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing