We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be rated top 5!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Should be rated top 5!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location is very central but several blocks away from the mayhem. We chose based on Tripadvisor reviews - so thank you fellow travelers for this one! We are prominent members ata large international hotel chain so frequently travel on points but this time we went "local" and so glad we did. The lobby decor is quite hip and bright, and the rooms are modern and roomy. We stayed in the first building )I think pink) and had 2 connecting rooms. Thank you travelers, we did request bathrooms with walls and doors. We also investigated the website and asked re specials - definitely explore if they have a pay 2nights/get 3rd free!! The gym was tiny but this is Europe so lucky to have a gym (2 treadmills, one bkie some weight machines but you will be doing enough walking so don't complain). The breakfast spread is just absolutley unbelievalbe )delicious, fresh, tons of fruit breads, cheese,eggs, etc etc) and inlcuded in our incredibly reasonable rates (in addition to a la carte daily options) and without extra charge for espresso, etc. Last of all, cannot praise the hotel staff enough - friendly and outgoing does not say enough. The bartender was adorable and waited until the drinks were sipped several times and they were to our utmost satisfaction before he nearly clicked his heels and thanked us! Highly, highly recommend. And definitely take advantage of their arranging for car service from airport - not worth the hassle on your own.

Room Tip: check out the website to make sure you know what you are getting and communicate directly via email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2007NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am truly pleased to read such a full and inspiring review following your stay in Hotel Josef. Thank you for 'going local' and being our guest during your trip to Prague!

All our team is happy you and your family enjoyed all the aspects of your stay, from a location and an overall decor, to breakfast and the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,809
    522
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
288
1,174
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wonderful modern rooms and the BEST breakfast buffet and menu we have ever had! Right next to the old square and everything is within walking distance. 4 of us stayed there ( 2 couples) and we were all delighted with our choice. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your great review. We are very happy to know you rated our breakfast as the best you have ever had.

All our team is looking forward to seeing you again in the nearest future,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Josef! I live in ireland and was traveling with my daughter and son in law who had come from Sydney. I booked it solely by going with Tripadvisor reviews which nearly always works for me. The Josef is only a short walk to Old Town Square and many other attractions and restaurants are nearby. The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and attentive and we agreed that it could compare favourably with five star hotels we have stayed in in the past.
On our first day, we went on a free walking tour led by Amy from Austin, Texas. It was a good and enjoyable way to get our bearings. We found Prague to be a lovely city and lots cheaper than where we normally live (not hard considering where we are coming from!). I would thoroughly recommend Prague as a tourist destination and loved the Josef!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

it is feedback like this that inspires us to do our job. I am truly happy to know you have chosen us based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay in Hotel Josef.

It is also a pleasure to know you loved the city, and would recommend our hotel to your fellow travelers.

We will be happy to host you during your next visit to Prague!

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Josef in May for our 1 year anniversary. It was absolutely fanastic. From a customer service standpoint, I have never stayed at a hotel which provided a higher level of service, PERIOD! One night we decided to go back to the room early and watch movie. When the front desk found out, they brought us a bowl of popcorn. Additionally, when I asked them where we could buy the chocolate in the mini bar (because my wife loved it), they gave extra bars at no cost.

As for the location and room, again great. Within walking distance of everything and the rooms were very clean and good size. The breakfeast included was also great.

Bottom line is that the next time we visit Prague (which we will because it is a great city), we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2KLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am happy to know you and your wife spend wonderful time in Prague, and fully enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Hotel Josef for such a special celebration! All our team is wishing you lots of love and happiness.

Let me also thank you for commenting on your room, breakfast and location of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here for a week and really only have good things to say about Hotel Josef. Big (especially for Europe), clean, modern rooms. Great location that is walking distance to all of the main attractions, while being just enough away from Old Town Square madness. Close to metro, and there are almost always cars available outside the front door, which is very convenient (though a little pricey). I appreciate having a good hotel bar, and while theirs is nice and comfortable, it's also wedged into the reception area and nothing special. The only other very minor drawback is that the hotel staff is definitely young -- so it's a bit hit-or-miss depending on whom you speak with -- but even still, they were all friendly and helpful. I might stay in a different part of town on my next visit to Prague, but that would be only thing keeping me from staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

we are pleased to receive feedback from a Senior Reviewer on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you liked your room, our bar, location of Hotel Josef, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed in many city centre hotels, but this is the best. It is very well situated near the major sites and very near the old town Square. It is a wonderful boutique hotel very well designed and staff couldn't be friendlier.
The breakfast is to die for. Apart from a very good buffet, there are a number of hot dishes which are made to order at no extra cost. This includes scrambled eggs, which they believe in making fresh and wonderful pancakes. There are always a number of daily specials on the menu.
I am disabled and because I had broken toes I had to use a wheelchair in Prague, with the cobbles it isn't easy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The one problem with Prague is a taxi scam -- even the more reputable firms such as AAA, get upset when you quote a discount rate. If you have to take a taxi the best thing to do is get one from the hotel as the hotel Joseph has their own taxis. I especially recommend Libor, who is so helpful and if you are an English speaker he can tell you all about the history of Prague and the Czech Republic.
My very strong suggestion is -- go to Prague it is a wonderful city. Definitely stay at the Hotel Joseph, You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for taking time to write such a full review following your stay with us. We are really pleased to read all your kind comments about our staff, breakfast and taxi service.

It was our pleasure to host you, and we truly look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Also known as the "white hotel". You simply can't miss it! Starting off from the chauffeur service, welcoming staff, helpful reception, awesome rooms, beautiful modern designs, welcoming gifts (cd, map, log book...), in-room nespresso machine (loved that!) comfortable beds, aveda products, and the list goes on and on!
Location is just perfect!

I would definitely come back again and I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am truly happy to know you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our taxi service, welcoming gifts and all the small details and amenities which contributed to making your time with us special.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 670 in Prague
2,171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,617 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing