We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful Hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wondeful Hotel!!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Ultra modern and a chic hotel. Visually appealing and very very comfortable rooms. The hotel staff makes you feel special.

Located at namasti republic, (where the mini bus from the airport drop is located) walking distance to the old town square and all other major attractions

Would definately recomend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank united357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I've stayed in the Hotel Josef on around 4 or 5 occasions up to now, and it's definitely my hotel of choice in Prague. I'd recommend the hotel for either business or leisure stays, although I've only stayed there on business myself.

The hotel is very stylish, and the rooms and public areas have all been finished to a very high standard, and with a real touch of class.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and can provide you with advice on Prague attractions and help you to find your way around. The hotel is centrally located - about 5 minutes' walk from Náměstí Republiky metro station, and around 10-15 minutes from the main tourist attractions. It should cost around CZK 550-600 by taxi from the airport, although it's a bit more expensive on the return trip if you use the hotel limousine service.

The breakfast buffet is fantastic, and certainly not to be missed. The hotel also has a gym and sauna, and most other facilities which you would expect from a hotel of this standing.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay in the Orange building, which is towards the rear of the hotel. The pink building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angoose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel Josef is a modern hotel with nice decor. The location was just minutes from all the tourist attraction. The bed was a firm but just right. My daughter stays with us and she got a big comfy sofa bed. The room was a good size even for 3 of us. The staff are helpful. The buffet breakfast is amazing, lots of selection and is constantly replenish. You also have th choice to order their daily special from the menu. Excellent egg benedict and we find their milk shake was very good too. We have a pleasant stay, definately recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is an ultra modern hotel 5 minutes walk from the centre. We had a superior 'glass' room. It was large and beautiful. The shower was wonderful and the bed had a superb, deep but firm matress. There was a modern espresso machine, safe, minibar and free wifi. The only criticism is that the toilet has a glass door so it's hard to use it during the night without disturbing your partner.

The breakfast in a lovely light room has a buffet with everything you could think of from bacon and eggs to soaked swiss muesli to strudel to smoked salmon and several good breads. Best of all, breakfast was served till 11.30 (12.30 on sundays).

The staff are young, enthusiastic and friendly. Luxury without pomp.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent. From the hotel, one can just walk down to the Old Town Square and the Wencaslas Square. The service was exceptionally great. The staff friendly and always willing to go that extra mile to help out. The rooms were modern and good. The cab service attached to the hotel is excellent. We will surely stay here the next time we are there. Thank you John, Jiri and Libor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khushboo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Design Hotel Josef has a beautiful modern lobby but we found our room to be small and narrow and a little cheap looking in decor. Maybe we got one of the lesser rooms - we had a view of the back of an apartment building - kind of like "Rear Window". That said, the location was excellent, close enough to
the Old Town Square but quiet and removed from the hustle and bustle. Desk staff was polite at the least and enthusiastic at the best, sent us a good restaurant that we liked a lot. The lobby was a nice place to sit and have a drink or read a book.. Espresso and pastries gratis in the morning in lobby. Instant coffee - yuck- in the rooms. We skipped the ridiculously expensive breakfast that got raves - what breakfast could be that good for $30? I haven't stayed anywhere else in Prague but have stayed in a lot of hotels around Europe and the US and am not sure what all the rave reviews are about. This IS is nice hotel, but frankly, not that extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBee386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteljosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Valued guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your review of Hotel Josef. First off i must stress that when booking through a travel agency and not directly through our website or our Reservation Department, you immediately become limited to any special requests such as choosing a perticular room and having the advantage of having our Breakfast included in your price for example. Saying that, we do follow all the offers travel agencies have to offer and we know how attractive they can be. On the plus side we are thrilled that our staff members showed all the politeness and enthusiasm that we are certainly renowned for and that our recommendations during your stay were satisfying.

Thank you again for your review,

Kind Regards

John Brennan

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is outstanding! The service, price, location was perfect. If you love a good breakfast, this is probably one of the best in Prague.

The front desk was very helpful in making all our tour reservations, once we figured out when and where we wanted to go.

For a fee, the hotel has private chauferred cars if you want to get to places outside the city or airport transfer.

Very big, modern bathrooms. The showers were better than home.

We will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,265 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,674 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing