We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Ranked #114 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
West coast, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'd read some real horror stories about hotels in Prague, particularly two or three star hotels masquerading as four stars, and many tales of overbooking. I went with Mamaison because of the reviews, and I'm so glad I did.

I loved my stay at the Mamaison. It was a 15 minute walk from the main train station for me and as I'd arrived quite early I checked my bags and went to wander the beautiful city. When I returned later I'd found they had already moved my bags to the room for me. The room was spacious, well appointed, extremely clean, quiet and had a full size tub that was just the ticket after eleven hours of walking the streets.

The complimentary breakfast was, without a doubt, the best breakfast I've had on this side of the planet in quite a while and the quality and variety more than made up for the dining location in the basement (which incidentally sported a wall-sized live video feed of the riverfront). The location is a tad far for walking to the best tourist spots, but it is indeed walkable. On my departure the staff made sure I had a reliable taxi driver ready to take me to the airport, who was early. All in all I had a great stay that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The inside courtyard I stayed in may not have had a view, but it was inexpensive and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40pluscountries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvison.com regarding your stay at Mamaison Riverside Hotel.

We are glad to see that you found our location ideal - it is really in close proximity to all major sights and shopping areas in Prague. We also very much appreciate your nice comments on breakfast.

We hope we can welcome you back in case you will be in Prague again.

Kind regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    453
    111
    31
    9
See reviews for
134
838
53
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

BOOK THIS HOTEL. I cannot sum up our experience at the Hotel Mamaison Riverside any more succinctly than by encouraging you to stay here. Our first visit to Prague began when we were picked up at the airport by their hotel driver and taken directly to the hotel (approximately a 20 minute ride). The check-in process was swift and easy; we booked through a discount website and pre-paid our stay. We were given a room on the third floor, which overlooked the River Vltava, and it was perfect. The room was clean and inviting; the bed was very comfortable; the mini-fridge was fully stocked (it is not complimentary), and the view from the window was breath-taking. It is approximately a five minute walk to the Dancing House, a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Old Town (Astronomical Clock, Our Lady of Tyn Church, etc) and ten minutes beyond that to the Jewish Quarter, or a 30-40 minute walk to the Castle Quarter, depending on your physical condition as it is all uphill.

Although there are many hotels much closer to any of those attractions, we were very pleased with choosing Mamaison as it seems to be on the outskirts of the tourist areas and therefore much quieter. We did not feel unsafe at any point as most of the streets are very well-lit and that part of Prague is generally safe anyway. The hotel staff was very accomodating to all our questions, and we were very pleased with the room service cleaning. Whether you're considering a trip for business or pleasure, single, couples, or with family, I think you'll be very satisfied with what Mamaison Riverside can offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvenskaSvea1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your experience on Traipadvisor.com regarding your stay at Mamaison Riverside Hotel in Prague.

We are happy to read your comment and definitely will share it with my team. It is always nice to read that you were satisfied with your suite that boasts increadible views. We are glad that you found your room comfortable and spacious because providing maximum comfort for our guests is one of our main aims.

We are also delighted to see that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided and their reservation of our limousine driver.

Thank you once more for taking the time to write us such an excellent feedback and thank you for choosing Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Prague again.

Best regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

When booking on hotels.com and getting this hotel for the cracking price compared to similar star hotels - you feel is it too good to be true? Don't worry excellent hotel. All recently refurbished. Beautiful riverside view. Amazing value . Everything you would expect of a premium hotel. Book and enjoy this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdyMoores999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your brief comment regarding your stay in Mamaison Riverside Hotel in Prague.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service was at your satisfaction.
Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Elegant hotel. Was very well maintained. Reception was superior. Got a full briefing on the hotel, and our bags were carried from our car to our room. The room was clean, airy and well appointed. I would guess it had 12 or 14 foot ceilings with large windows. We left the room for a while, and when we returned the drape tiebacks had been removed and the bed was turned down. The bathroom was as good or better that the average US hotel. Large tub/shower and double vanity. The concierge was extremely helpful and attentive. He arranged a tour for us and a taxi to a restaurant. The only low point was the restaurant. The food was expensive, sparse and not very well prepared. Would stay here again, but not eat except for breakfast. Bar was small, but cozy.

Room Tip: Try for a room that overlooks the Danube River and one of the bridges. We had room 505, and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigvic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment regarding your stay in Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague.

We are more than happy to read that your short stay was such a pleasant experience. Our staff is delighted that you enjoyed their service. It is our pleasure to do our best for your comfort. On top of that we are always very happy to provide most of our guests possibility to enjoy breathtaking views on Vltava river.

We do hope that we can welcome you again for a longer period in the near future!

Kind regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for five days in July, on the suggestion of my travel agent. The staff a reception were very helpful and gave us a map with attractions and walking times. Our room was large and airy with views over the park next door and the river. There was very little noise from the roads outside. We ordered room service the first night (after 40 hours flying) and it arrived quickly and the food was great. No soggy chips here! Where this hotel really shines is at breakfast. There was a huge range of choice from bacon, eggs, tomatoes to pastries, cold cuts and salads. We always felt well set up for the day. The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk to the old town, about 15-20 minutes. However, even walking back late at night, we never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justcallmecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for placing your kind review regarding your stay at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague.

It is always a pleasure to read that the service we provide meets the expectations of our guests, especcialy when it concerns our staff.

We would laso comliment the food and beverage department on your comments towards breakfast.

Please feel free to contact us should your plans bring you back to Prague.

Warm regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, I'd like to say that this is a lovely hotel in a nice quiet area of Prague. It's in great condition and the staff are very helpful & professional. The bar is small and very expensive compared to other places in Prague, nice wine though.

Now, our experience with the hotel wasn't terrible but all the small things were annoying and made our trip not as good as we would have liked.

Annoying things- we were put in a room on the 7th floor (basically the loft) and only had 2 tiny sky light windows, I hated this as it made the room feel dark and I felt claustrophobic. Never stayed in a hotel room like that before and will make sure I never do again. I asked if we could move rooms as I felt uncomfortable in that one and was told they were fully booked. Wonder if they still have been fully booked if I offered more money? Anyway, decided to try & not let it bother us. The shower leaked all over the bathroom when I used it (for a quick 5 min shower). The cubicle filled with water so high that I had to stand there naked waiting for the water to go down for five mins before I could open the door, when I did open the door the water was everywhere so had to mop it up with towels. Husband had a bath instead and the water was only warm. Told reception and they got cleaner to clean shower drain, it was fine after that. There's a nice selection of tea bags however we only liked English tea, used that one on the first morn and left the empty packet on the side hoping that the maid would see that that was the one we used & replace it, they replaced it with a fruit one. I asked for some English ones and got them a bit later, was looking forward to having one that evening but noticed that they hadn't given us any milk or sugar and the mugs hadn't been cleaned. Didn't want to have to go to reception for a 4th issue so left it. As I write this I feel as though I am being picky & maybe I am but I just read so many brilliant reviews on this place that I feel let down by it a bit.

I wouldn't say 'don't go there' to you, just think we were unfortunate to have these issues over our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElphabaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we readily welcome both positive and constructive comments.

Whilst I am pleased to read your compliments regarding our hotel and the hotel staff, I felt sorry to learn about your in-room problems, especcialy with shower and that you found our food and beverage outlets unsatisfactory and overpriced.

However, we truly hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, thank you for your remarks and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Mamaison Riverside Hotel on a future occasion.

With my Best regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were so very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We thought it would be a long way from the centre , but in fact it was only a 15 minute very slow walk to Charles Bridge and the Old Town. The check in is very smooth and easy. The concierge offered lots of information and was extremely helpful. The room itself was just stunning. We had a river view which was a real wow factor. The bed was extremely comfortable - the bathroom just perfect. We were in a room immediately next to the lift, which gave us a little concern, but we heard absolutely no noise from the lift or anything else for that matter. We ordered breakfast in the room for our first morning which was EXCELLENT value and HUGE! The tray charge was negligible compared to other hotels and definitely worth it. Breakfast itself was perfect. It is all there. Fresh fruit, cereals, rolls, bread, croissants , smoked salmon, meats, cheese, eggs, bacon sausages - the works. All beautifully presented and good quality. The good thing about being slightly away from the centre is that a) you don't have the crowds and b) the restaurants around the area of the hotel are a LOT cheaper than being in the thick of things. You can walk everywhere - no need for taxis etc. I can highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river view. It will take your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tibor B, General Manager at Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment regarding your stay in Mamaison Riverside Hotel in Prague.

We are more than happy to read that your stay was such a pleasant experience worth to remember.

Our staff is delighted that you enjoyed their service. It is our pleasure to do our best for guest´s comfort.

We do hope that we can welcome you again in near future!

With kindest regards,

Tibor BIELIK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#10 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#31 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#25 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Property: Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Address: Janachkovo nabrezhi 1115/15, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Prague
#95 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#100 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#146 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located and boasting award-winning Art Nouveau-style design, the upscale Mamaison Boutique Hotel Riverside Prague provides ideal accommodation for both leisure and business travellers in the trendy Smichov district of Prague. Charming and sophisticated, Mamaison Hotel Riverside Prague enjoys close connections to the city’s business districts, the airport and its main cultural attractions. With elegant accommodation, views and top facilities, the hotel offers fantastic rates for city stays in stylish and historic surroundings, making it one of the most charming boutique hotels in Prague and number one for your Prague hotel reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Riverside Prague
Prague Mamaison Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing