We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Ranked #183 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This was a great find. The service was excellent, the breakfast was great and the location was perfect. When you had a request it was responded ASAP. We were with 3 other couples and all our rooms were different and great. Couldn't ask for better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    124
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
223
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was clean and simple, but there are two things American visitors, in particular, need to know. There is no elevator, so be prepared to schlep up three flights of stairs. That would have been OK with us, except we hit a heat wave and without any air conditioning in the hotel, it was a long trip up and down. That is the second point, no A/C. The hotel has an excellent location and there are loads of good restaurants on this side of the bridge. Overall, a positive experience, though. I would definitely stay here at least three seasons of the year, although I don't know about their central heat in the winter. . .

Room Tip: Avoid having windows over through streets as they are made of cobblestone and echo even the softest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ednra2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utripstrosu, General Manager at Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches), responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your rating. As already mentioned several times, our hotel has no elevator and AC, because is not possible due to historical reasons install. All of these our "flaws" are listed on the website of our hotel and the sites of our partners. I hope you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we look forward to your next visit. David Starý, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Prague. My room was spacious and beautiful. It overlooked very busy Charles Bridge, but the double-pane windows ensured complete quiet. The staff are extraordinarily helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. A nice touch is the little lounge on the second floor with a computer and an espresso machine for the guest's use.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice friendly hotel perfectly placed at the end of Charles bridge. Room was clean and tidy, albeit a little dated, breakfast was good, with a self service type menu. There is no lift but the staff offered to carry cases, also no kettle in room although there are free tea/coffee facilities on floor 1. (we took a travel kettle, small supermarket 50 yards away for milk). There is free wi-fi and also free internet available on computers on floor 1 & 4. There is also a lounge area on floor 1. Large flat screen TV in room, (although only English program was BBC world news & Sky news). The biggest plus though is the location, which really is in the heart of things, there is some noise at night, (no traffic just voices), but the rooms have two sets of windows so it can be easily reduced. Would recomend.

Room Tip: If you want a twin room - you will end up on floor 4, (as it's the only one and there are 70 odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captainzott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with a friend and found it comfy and charming. The location is perfect for exploring--just around the block from the King Charles Bridge. The staff was friendly and helpful--offered to carry our bags up to the 3rd floor for us, which we truly appreciated. Yes--the furnishings and interior are somewhat worn, but very clean and everything was in working order. The only real downside was that the proximity to the bridge and "touristy" atmosphere meant that one has to choose between quiet (windows closed) and a welcome breeze (windows opened.) Not a huge problem but would recommend earplugs to light sleepers during the summer months. The cost of the breakfast option was worth it though I would have appreciated more vegetarian-friendly options. (Note: that kind of applies to the country in general ;-)
Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is no elevator/lift so if you have lots of luggage or are mobility impaired, book on a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a tiny little place conveniently located by Charles Bridge. although the rooms and bathrooms were very small, it was all very clean and service was very good. the breakfast spread was decent but the location was excellent and we got a room with the view of the bridge. thankfully we didnt miss the ac because it was very cold and rainy while we were there. we will def re-visit this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gsajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This nicely located hotel, is just next to karlos bridge in prague, a highly populated area in the heart of the historic part of the city. There si no lift and the hotel decor si poor and old fashioned. The bathrooms are less than regular... The breakfast si good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fernando s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utripstrosu, Owner at Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches), responded to this review, August 26, 2013
First, I would like to thank you for your rating. Hotel building is 500-year old...maybe you usually live in a modern hotels, where spaces were prepared directly for accommodation.Therefore, our hotel has no elevator, which is not possible for historical reasons install, and some rooms are smaller then regular. But we also have large apartments and suites.This fact, however, is presented on all Web sites. Sincerely, David Starý, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#180 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#125 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#82 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#329 of 649 in Prague
89 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#76 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)

Property: Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Address: Drazhickeho namesti 76/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#125 Family Hotel in Prague
#154 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches) 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Tri Pstrosu **** is located directly in the heart of the historical centre at the famous Charles Bridge and in the immediate vicinity of the other distinguished Prague sights. A beautiful renaissance house from 1597 is situated in place of original middle-age pub, which was frequently visited by Charles IV, the Czech king and Holy Roman Emperor, when he watched the construction works on the gothic stone bridge in the 14 century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Tri Pstrosu (At The 3 Ostriches)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing