We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel/location/nice staff”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel/location/nice staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We were twice in one week (we did berlin between two stays in prague). 2nd time we got a nice upgrade to junior suite (big room, more like a doubleroom - i missed some furniture for a nornal junior suite charakter). Nice deco, quite rooms, great bbfst buffet, fresh apples and welcome drink in the lobby. Safe private parking for 15eur. Very nice staff! I will come back. Just one little minus: the most horribile wifi connection in rooms i had- yu must connect your pc every!!! 3-5minutesm after i complained, the receptionist recommended to use the lobby wifi.was great but not so confortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    193
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
197
1,066
81
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Unitas hotel. As has already been said, the best bits were the location (quiet but close to everything), the breakfast (both quality and choice) and the staff (helpful and happy). Room (337) was nice if slightly clinical although it was so quiet and the bed so comfortable that the alarm clock each morning was a real shock.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We selected the Unitas Hotel for our first stay in Prague based on TripAdvisors' Reviews, and it turned out better than expected. The extrememly friendly, English-speaking staff made our stay very enjoyable. Each & every one of them ALWAYS greeted you with a smile and "Good Morning/Evening". The front desk personel helpfully stored our luggage and suggested a wonderful cafe around the corner when we arrived too early for check-in. After returning from an afternoon of castle-touring, we were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne and were told our bags had been placed in our room. The hotel is off the main road, so you do not have to deal with street-car or traffic noises at all. The comfortable, air-conditioed rooms have 12' high ceilings, and are quite spacious, and have a modern bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. The breakfast buffet is superb! The good-sized breakfast room held about a dozen tables which were set with linen tablecloths and napkins, flowers and a candle. Designed to please travellers from most corners of the globe, it included meats & cheese, bacon, sausage, eggs, & beans, pastries & breads, butter, jams, honey, cream chefs, a variety of juices and a bottle of Czech presecco. Also available were fresh fruit; (whole and sliced), and yogurts. Omelettes, pancakes and boiled eggs could be ordered from the kitchen as could a cappuccino or latte. Your coffee cup was always willingly refilled with strong coffee from friendly waitresses. The lobby has a small bar, and an adjacent loaner library from which you may choose paperbacks and guide books. The hotel wraps around a central courtyard in which you can park your car, or sit & enjoy a little fresh air under a canopy. Overall, a very relaxing and comfortable hotel. I would not hesitate to return to Unitas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAflyer_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you like a hotel which is both central, yet on a quiet street, then this would be a great choice. Unitas is a very good hotel which is a short walk to the Old Town Square and is conveniently placed for the tram network (line 22 takes you up to Prague Castle). The hotel has quite a history - Vaclav Havel himself was imprisoned here by the Secret Police before becoming the first president of the Czech Republic.

The staff are very pleasant and will pour you a glass of sparkling wine on check in. The room we stayed in was very large and clean, with little offerings left by the housekeeping staff when they serviced the room each day. The beds were a little soft for my liking, but I appreciate that's a matter of personal preference. Rooms are equipped with DVD players and DVDs can be borrowed from reception. There is also a system for loan of ipads upon payment of a deposit - a nice feature which I haven't seen on my travels before. Whilst there are no facilities for making hot drinks in your room, each floor has a coffee/tea corner with a table and chairs, plus plentiful coffee and tea which can be enjoyed back in your room if you prefer. The breakfast options are pretty good with the option of buffet style dining and an a la carte service for omlettes and pancakes. The waiting staff are lovely and will really look after you!

All in all a really good hotel at a very reasonable price.

TIP - If taking the tram from Narodni up to the castle, the bookstore near the tram stop (Knihkupectví Academia) sells tram tickets including the 24 hour pass valid on all public transport which works out at approx £4. Don't forget to validate your pass when you first use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing for any holiday to Prague. We arrived at the hotel after a short walk from the Mustek metro station and were greeted by the extremely friendly receptionist Jakub who greeted us with a welcome drink of champagne! He gave us information on restaurants and how to use the public transport system (trams, metros etc) which proved invaluable. The room was outstanding - very large room, lovely comfortable bed with carpeted floor, wide desk space and very clean bathroom with European shower. The room overlooked a former convent - noise levels at night were literally zero. The hotel is in a very safe area particularly as the city police headquarters is located right next door!
Breakfast is excellent - friendly people serving you cereals, cooked options, hot and cold meats etc, fruit, porridge and coffee, hot chocolate and juices. The whole place feels like a warm, friendly country B&B, except it's in the middle of Prague near all the sights! There is a "tea and coffee corner" on each floor which you can use and also a library on the ground floor.
I can honestly say that for a holiday in Prague, short or long, there is no need to look anywhere else than here. Be lifted out to a warm, friendly world by the cheerful and comfortable Unitas Hotel! Absolutely perfect on all fronts.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room facing the courtyard - to say it's quiet at night there is an understatem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As with many top hotels, there is little to add other than this would be among the top 3 hotels we have stayed at in this price range (and we have travelled to 19 countries around the world in the last five year). A modernized convent, it has both character and modern amenities and a staff that are constantly seeking ways to make your stay pleasant and worry free. The rooms are huge and spotlessly clean, although we had to unplug and bag the airfreshner and it's overpowering scent. The breakfast was huge I quantity, quality and variety and the welcome home snacks left in the lobby in late afternoon were fun and tasty. All in all, we cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wonderful classy hotel with generous sized rooms. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with hot, cold and a la carte choices. The staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending a local authentic restaurant for dinner and providing directions and tram tickets as required.

Location is a 15min walk from the old town in a quiet road and is close to the tram stop to the castle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing