We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #11 of 671 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
windermere
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thank you for a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I cant thank the staff at this hotel enough.They were all so helpful and always had a smile on there face.
We were welcomed with a lovely glass of bubbly and were given information which was a great help.
The rooms are clean comfortable and have everything you could wish for. Breakfast again was all you could hope for and more.
It is such an interesting building with great history and couldnt be a better location.
The hotel kindly organised a taxi to anf from airport which made life a lot easier and was no expensive.
The city is fantastic and we had snow which made it even more special.
I will be back but will make sure I take the best gloves I can find as it got pretty cold.
Thank you again Unitas for a great stay ad I would never book anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marzy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    168
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
164
911
64
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel in a fantastic location with helpful staff, great breakfast and comfortable, big rooms. I stayed here in 1994 when it was very different, a hostel converted from the prison that the former Czech president Vaclav Havel stayed in and can't believe the transformation. I recommend it highly as a welcoming, central base for exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very spacious room,maintained to exemplary standard. Staff very courteous and helpful. Breakfast selection and lay out is very good. Coffee stations on every floor - what a splendid idea for guest care.Situated opposite the district 1 Police HQ. Would be first choice of hotel when we return to Prague. Very centrally located.The beds are so comfortable ! Xx
Also - please consider NOT having coffee at the Cafe Boulevard in Wenceslas Square as you risk being ripped off to the sum of 320 crowns for 2 cups of regular coffee. Not priced on menu.
The Restaurant Minutas , however, next to the Carillion Clock in Old Town is excellent for pizza and pasta dishes and house wine is also of good quality. Very good value.

Room Tip: Just choose anywhere in this hotel, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HumphreysConsett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back from two nights at this really great hotel - wouldn't want to complain about anything at all really! Highlights:-
Really nice, friendly welcome at Reception when checking in, and a complimentary glass of Czech champagne.
Beautiful old building, previously a convent and secret police interrogation centre (talk about contrasting fortunes!) - it is possible to see the cell where Vaclav Havel was held and interrogated, although strangely they don't advertise this.
My room was huge, warm and very comfortable, as was the bed, and the bathroom, which was supplied with plentiful quality toiletries.
A modern electronic safe, free to use (not always the case!)
Good breakfast by Prague standards (never really felt that the Czechs get breakfast right) but probably not quite up to northern European and Scandinavian standards.
Tea and coffee 'corners' on each floor, rather than in the room facilities - this isn't a criticism, I think a nice cup of tea in the bedroom is probably mainly a British thing!
A nice touch is the complimentary hot wine, hot maple, and little open sandwiches and cakes available to guests in Reception at 4pm every day - just a little thing, but typical of the thoughtful approach which characterises this hotel - oh, and while you're sipping your hot wine read the sheet which tells the history of the building - incredible!
Fantastic location in the centre of Prague - 5 minutes from the Metro which brings you from the airport, 5 minutes from Wenceslas Square, 10 minutes from Old Town Square, and maybe the same from Charles Bridge. Located in a back street opposite the police station (safe! these days!) with several atmospheric locals' pubs (not tourist traps) in the same street - try Konvikt!

Look, next time i go back to Prague I won't have to choose a hotel, it'll be this one without question!

Room Tip: Didn't look like there are any better or worse rooms to me, but I only saw two, which were adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mopezone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The staff at the hotel are generally very friendly and helpful. The room is very spacious, clean and quiet. The breakfast has a decent buffet spread, and the location is good. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge. There are 2 TripAdvisor reviewed restaurants in the vincinity as well. We had dinner at the Rainer Maria Rilke, and the service and food was great. We will certainly consider staying at Unitas again if we visit Prague in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent staff, location, rooms, breakfast... I stayed in the honeymoon suite and it truly was a bargain for the quality of service we received. Champagne glass while checking in, bottle in the room, rooms 3 times the size of Paris, huge bathtub... The staff pays a lot of attention to detail... This place is truly a gem, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank negroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 2,485 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#4 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#9 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#15 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#8 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#14 of 671 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska 9 | Old Town of Prague, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing