We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a reasonable price”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale AZ
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a reasonable price”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel as it all. It is fairly small but the room was a good size and well designed. The hotel is well located on a quiet street near a police station so it is quite safe. It is not far from the river and the Old town square and there are restaurants nearby. The staff at the hotel is friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,479
    198
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
206
1,094
84
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel is in a great location. The staff went above and beyond to help us. Lovely rooms. We had an "apartment " that was able to accommodate 4. Tea and coffee areas on floors. Light refreshments in evening upon your return from sightseeing. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdavila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A magnificent hotel in a magnificent place. Quiet location was walking distance to major attractions. Staff was very helpful, especially Tereza and Daniel. Recent renovations have made the hotel very modern while preserving its history. Phenomenal breakfasts offered variety and exceptional quality. Desserts and mulled wine were also available in the lobby in evening. Fruits, books and DVDs were also available in the lobby at all times. My only qualm was that if you book a double bed, expect it to be 2 twin beds pushed together, which is not very comfortable for couples.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beeeeggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

"Wow" is what I can say in summary!

I expected this to be the typical European 3* "heritage"-type hotel (ie. efficient service and small functional rooms while going through the motions of providing a free breakfast). Boy, was I wrong!

Quite honestly, this hotel out-did the three other 5* hotels I stayed at in Prague, Krakow and Budapest. While it did not have some of the 5* amenities (eg. a swimming pool) that I would never use while on a European city vacation anyway, it out-did itself on the basics - service and rooms.

The whole hotel was beautifully decorated (the pictures don't do it justice) and architecturally interesting, as it is a recently-converted abbey. The decor is definitely not "heritage hotel" but actually a nice blend of traditional with sleek and modern. Not only is it spotless, but it looks so new that I asked if the hotel had been renovated recently - not since it opened (in 2008?) I was informed!

The room was enormous and had very high ceilings, and the bed was super comfortable. There was a surprising amount of closet space and electrical outlets (often a problem I find in hotels)! Definitely not your cookie-cutter room, as a lot of the 5* ones, though luxurious, become. Even the toiletries in the bathroom were luxurious and boutique-ish.

Unlike a 5* hotel, there were not service staff all over the place, but the service we got (at the front desk and at breakfast) was very warm, efficient and helpful.

The location is very good too - it's very quiet and would seem to be on the outskirts of town, but if you knew your way, it was less than 10 mins to the main market square.

Breakfast matched or beat any 5* hotel I've stayed at in Europe. While there wasn't heaps and heaps of each kind of food given the moderate size of the hotel, I was stunned at both the variety and quality of the food. It didn't taste like a pre-prepared buffet, and there must have been some 30-40 items at the table. I never saw something like that at a hotel of this size.

Finally, what a great value in what seems to be becoming an expensive city to visit. I got a 5* experience for around US$125 at one of the busiest times of the year. Can't beat that!

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Prague.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyBusy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed there a two years ago and still have not forgotten about it. I will stay at this hotel when I return. It was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Honeyroom suite was very clean, spacious, and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina11526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Grleat location in the heart of Prague yet very quiet street. Within walking distance of all major attractions, and close to many bars and restaurants. The staff were very efficient and helpful, always pleasant. The rooms were big and bright and sparkling clean. Bathroom equiped with all key amenities (electirical plugs, hair dryer, shampoo & conditioner, shower cap, magnified mirror etc). Breakfast was delicious and served in an elegant room by a very attentive and friendly staff.
No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from the Unitas where we stayed for five nights to celebrate new year in Prague. I have tried very hard to find any negatives about the hotel but can't. The only negatives I can think of is that because we booked our trip so late we were unable to book directly with the Unitas and so booked via bookings.com and paid an average of £200 per night :0( but that was our choice.. and besides, all kinds of accommodation can be ridiculously expensive at this time of year in Prague ....one other negative was that the wifi connection kept cancelling but then again I'm not sure if it was my iPad being the problem or the hotels server ...but on saying this we had a fabulous stay at this hotel. Or room was large with a lovely bathroom, breakfast was excellent , plenty of choice and the food was fresh. All the staff we encountered were so very helpful and polite at all times and as for cleanliness? Well this hotel gleams!!! I would highly recommend this hotel and if we return to Prague, this is where we shall stay ! A very big Thank you and well done to the Unitas ! A classy , unpretentious, peaceful haven set in a good location ... Loved it!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldChezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,631 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,092 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 649 in Prague
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,463 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing