We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New name, still good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Ranked #180 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sharing a room with two family members while visiting the Christmas markets, had a large triple share room which was perfect. Second stay at his hotel, is in a great location, service good and although nothing outstanding is a good lower priced option and a close walk to the town square. Perfect for the occasion!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

this was our first visit to prague staying november 10 for 3 nights. the hotel has a lobby that is small and and little dark but the rooms have high ceilings with plenty of chairs to sit in. the beds were firm, which we like and the bathrooms have been updated, very modern compared to the rooms themselves. plenty of bathroom counter space. the hotel location is excellent, just a few hundred meters to the walking street and to the palladium shopping mall. just a few minutes walking to old town square. prague is such a wonderful walking city! the breakfast at the hotel was much more than i expected. plenty of selections to fill you up. front desk staff very helpful with any questions we had. wireless internet worked fine once we figured out which one to access. be prepared to handle stairs as the hallways from the lift to the rooms are not always on the same level. we took the train after checking out and it is about one-half mile away and easy enough to roll baggage. all in all a great location, value and stay.

Room Tip: for quietness ask for a room facing the courtyard (most of the rooms do). for those visiting from u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flashncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed four nights in the Meteor Plaza in October 2012. The hotel is close to the main train station, the Old Town and the Powder Tower. This is an excellent landmark for those of us who are geographically challenged in the Northern hemisphere! Prague is a fantastic city to walk around and the staff at the Meteor were very helpful in advising on all the good things to see. Our room was ready, clean comfortable and reasonably priced. It had an old world feel but that added to atmosphere. Breakfast was very interesting as many central european items were available. This extended the range form the usual eggs etc. Quality and quantity were excellent. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but we were starting to think this is the european norm. We would recommend this hotel, especially for its excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Located within the shadows of the darkened sandstone Baroque Powder Tower, this hotel, housed in a restored building said to date back to 1307, is part of the World Heritage site.This unique feature, which is its biggest attraction, comes with some built in limitations.
The reception and the lobby bar are small and tend to be crowded even when a few guests are arriving or checking out. There are a very few chairs in the waiting area, understandably, because the waiting area is very small. The lift (elevator) is tiny- barely fitting 4 big or 6 small sized persons. Thankfully, the bell-staff carried up our bags - probably through a service elevator tucked away, out of public sight. the stairs are narrow, and since the hotel is rooms are spread over an adjacent building (or two),we had to negotiate our way along narrow corridors that twist and turn along two levels. None of this is a problem, but I was troubled by the faint but persistent smell of cigarette smoke that lingers in the corridors.
The rooms are naturally small, as one would expect in such an old building, barely accommodating a comfortable double bed.The two large windows in my room opened into an uninteresting inner courtyard. The TV occupied the wall at one end, along with an armchair and a small table, leaving no real place for any movement. There was an adequate wooden wardrobe by the entrance door which contained a small antique safe, which opened with key that needed to be collected from the Reception. The room did have a coffee / tea service with a plug in kettle, but the used tea and coffee bags weren't replaced during our stay.The small bathroom had a shower stall so small that it could be called miniature, but the the water was nice and hot.
Breakfast was served in a set of pleasant rooms on the first floor.There is an excellent spread including different hot and cold cereals, eggs, sausages and bacon, two or three vegetarian dishes,several breads and pastries including their famous apple strudel, and fresh fruit.The fruit juice was a tad dilute.
I recommend the hotel for its distinctive turn of the century genteel atmosphere. Though small, the rooms are comfortable. The staff smiles a lot and is helpful for booking local tours and events. at short notice, they got us tickets for an evening concert performed in a nearby church.Most attractions are in walking distance. The hotel is a unique European experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking area room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for a couple nights. I can't think of anything to complain about. The rooms were nice and clean. The bathrooms were modern. No weird smells. The breakfast buffet was great with some non-traditional hot breakfast items which was nice besides just your bacon and scrambled eggs. Nice options of coffee and tea, etc.

As far as location you can't go wrong. Walking only 5 minutes you enter Old Town Square. From the hotel you can walk to all the sites.

I arrived from Vienna to Prague at the Florenc Bus Station. It was a very easy walk from this station to the hotel. It also is within walking distance to the Praha Hlavni Main Train Station which has the Airport Express buses going to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringoEnMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a short break with my daughter and we chose this hotel due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel was great. The staff were very welcoming, swiftly booking us in and taking our bags to our room. Not a huge room but with everything we needed and very comfortable. Twin beds were very comfortable. Good desk, table, three chairs, mini bar, tv and most importantly tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom very nice, good shower. Very clean and well presented. Breakfast was a revelation - so much choice (my daughter shook her head at me when I chose to eat pasta for breakfast but hey, I loved it). Choices of hot dishes, cereals, yummy pastries, cakes, beautiful rolls, cheeses, meats, salads etc. etc. I could wax lyrical for hours, even the coffee and tea were terrific.
The location has to be the be all and end all though, it is so central that in just over five minutes (less if you are fit - I am not!) finds you in the old town square, another five takes you to Charles Bridge. My daughter and I did not need to take public transport anywhere except to use the Petrin Hill funicular railway - a first for us I can assure you!

A very good hotel and price to match. Thank you Meteor Plaza.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetHappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location. Just a stone's throw away from the Powder Tower and a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square.

The reception staff were friendly, helpful and more than happy to point you in the direction of where you want to go.

My only slight niggle about the hotel is the fact that my husband and I are big tea and coffee drinkers and with only 2 milk cartons per day and despite having to go down to reception every day to ask for more was a bit annoying and even after leaving a note for the maid to leave extra.

The cave restaurant was also a disappointment with tiny portion sizes fit for a child! We booked the restaurant in advance before we arrived and on the website it looks really romantic and intimate but it wasn't up to much and the food was abysmal.

Breakfast however was excellent! Always plenty there and the staff really on the ball to replenish when food needed topping up.

I would also recommend the river cruise organised by the reception. A coach picks you up and brings you back to the hotel.

All, in all a wonderful stay and we will definately be going back again!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the main road - you don't even notice the traffic. Excellent sound proofing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happysnapper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#86 of 649 in Prague
2,882 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#207 of 649 in Prague
1,421 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 649 in Prague
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#143 of 649 in Prague
1,186 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 649 in Prague
733 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza

Address: Hybernska 999/6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Prague
#115 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#152 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#167 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $71 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First references to this hotel come from the year 1307. The BW Meteor Plaza is situated directly in the center of Prague next to The Palace Hibernia, Powder Gate and The Municipal House. You can reach Wenceslas Square, The Old Town Square or other places of interest on foot within minutes. All 73 air-conditioned spacious standard rooms are very well furnished with all amenities including shower and/or bath, WC, hair dryer, satellite, wireless high-speed internet access free of charge, IDD telephone, personal safe, coffee/tea maker and mini-bar. There are 5 suites and 10 triple rooms in BW Hotel Meteor Plaza, which express an ambience of largesse, comfort and functionality. Except standard room equipment you will find cosy sitting area with reading lamp, trouser press. Some of the rooms have a hydro maser bath or combination of the bath and a shower bath. Some of our apartments have a special wide screen television. The triple rooms have three separate beds or double bed with sofa bed.Room service is available during limited hours. Are you a keen musician? Especially for you we have the room with a piano.The BEST WESTERN Meteor Plaza is truly in the heart of Prague - everything you'll want to do - business, leisure, vacation activities - it's all at our door step. Because of our central location you can be almost anywhere in the city in just a few moments. Prague's famous attractions such as The Palace Hybernia, the famous Powder Gate and fabulous art nouveau pearl: Municipal House are just 2minutes walk away. You can reach Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, the legendary Royal Road and other places of interest on foot within a few minutes. You can get easily to the hotel by your own car. Of course you have the possibility of parking in the hotel garage.Our shiny restaurant with terrace is situated on the first floor of the hotel and is open every day for breakfast. Rich buffet breakfast is served from 7AM till 10AM.The ground floor of the hotel has a trendy bar, cosy restaurant and terrace where guests may enjoy a drink in the summer months.Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.For those who seek the more solitary rewards of an invigorating workout, the Hotel offers a whirpool and Sauna. Per person per hour, private use, is charged fee 10 EUR.We are focused to provide the independent traveler with maximum comfort by providing the following services:■We can arrange a wide range of events, such as parties, banquets, conferences and more. Our Gothic Wine Restaurant is ideal for encounters of up to 40 persons. Equipment of new communication and interpretation systems is possible on request.■Garage parking directly in the house is available for hotel guest on premises.■Telefax service at the reception desk.■Wireless high-speed internet access in public area free of charge.■Meeting room for 10 people with PC and internet connection.■E-mail delivery for hotel guests.■Excursions.■Tickets to opera, theatre and shows.■Flight confirmations.■Photocopy.■Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.■Pets allowed. ■Baby cot on request free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meteor Plaza
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western
Best Western Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing