We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #135 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Definitely a case of 'you get what you pay'. I am guessing that there are a lot better deals to be found out there. The rooms are pretty tacky (not necessarily in a good way) and the breakfast is pretty awful. Service was nothing special (and it's best not to have them arrange for a taxi because the charge an excessive set fee). The hotel is in a sort of hip neighborhood but not exactly in the center of it all - about a 10 minute walk to the St. Charles Bridge. On the plus side, it is in a nice and quiet area. The bed was comfortable but the shower was tiny and awful. I would check the bathroom before unpacking your suitcase.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review and recommendation.
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk
We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    346
    123
    37
    22
See reviews for
87
428
56
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful hotel and in a lovely location, quiet area and a few steps from all the sights and sounds of Prague. Charles Bridge is a 10 min walk away through Kampa Park. Ignore all the negative comments and give it a try, you will not be disappointed, enjoy Kampa Island and the Hotal Kampa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Set away from all the hustle & bustle the Kampa is good if you want to peace & quiet. It is near to tram routes that take you into the city centre & the castle. The twin room was big enough but not massive & very clean but could have done with a second chair & another bedside light. The beds were very firm, verging on hard & though the pillows were lovely & soft they didn't have enough filling in them so, as they were very big, we folded them in half & then they were comfy. The bathroom (shower not bath) was also very clean & in good condition - no cracked tiles or leaking taps!!! The large dining room came as a bit of a surprise with all it's suits of armour & heraldic paintings over the walls & vaulted ceiling & it was unusual, but pleasant, to have a pianist playing nice old fashioned music at breakfast but it would have been nice to have him play in the evening also! There was a good selection of food for breakfast, including sprouts, carrots & cauliflower!!! The evening meals were reasonably priced & tasty & the waiters very pleasant & helpful. The bar was very small & I saw only two people use it! The reception area was really too small & pokey for the size of the hotel. Watch out for the price of the water in the bedrooms - a litre bottle cost us nearly £5. All in all we were very happy with the Kampa & are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver-Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear clients, thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Breakfast staff not polite or friendly .. Quality of breakfast very poor .. Everything tasted cheap .. Orange juice not fresh .. On second day choose to go out for breakfast rather than eat in hotel ..
Poor lighting in bedroom . No light beside second bed .. We had a twin room ..
Pillows needed replaced .. Reception polite & helpful enough ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
Rooms are equipped with standard lifting for hotels.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Interesting place in many ways - breakfast a surreal experience in a highly decorated room complete with suits of armour, and accompanied by a frantic pianist. As already mentioned beds are on the stone side of hard but the Kampa is in a good location and all areas of the city easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay if you are here for a few days, easy to walk to the main attractions and close to the main tram lines. They obviously major on short break visitors so its the basic bed and breakfast thats provided. Rooms are roomy but beds are hard so be prepared! Also pillows could do with replacing and as someone else mentioned there is no bath (at least in our room) which would have been very welcome after 8 hours walking around the city. We ate out on the three evenings we were there but a slightly more welcoming bar area would have been good. Could try harder but its a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAilliwN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk.
Our hotel staff are regularly trained
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, Uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very gentle staff, very nice room, beautiful breakfest with musician , worm and cosy. The only downside: no bath, which we required ., and oher guests in the room next to ours talking late in the night so we could hear each word ( no insulation between the rooms).
Thanks for everything.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#82 of 649 in Prague
732 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#152 of 649 in Prague
1,823 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#120 of 649 in Prague
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#71 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#233 of 649 in Prague
290 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Property: Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#151 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing