We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Ranked #46 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in the Grand Hotel Bohemia for 4 nights in May-June 2014. We booked an Executive Double directly through the hotel website.

Our check-in was quick and efficient. We were happy that the front desk staff speak very good English, as did the fellow who carried our bags to the room, since our Czech is limited to some basic words that are similar to Polish.

We stayed in room 711. Our view of the city was superlative. There is a Juliette balcony facing north with a magnificent view of the Old Town and the castle on the other side of the river. We also had a private terrace (a private terrace!) with an equally sublime north and west facing view.

I should add that when we arrived, we found fresh flowers, a very large pile of fresh, delicious fruit, and even bottled water in the room waiting for our arrival. We even received free drink tickets for the bar!

The room is large, bright, clean, and well appointed with some nice art. The air conditioning is good. The bed was comfortable, and the sheets were clean and crisp. The bathroom was large and there were plenty of towels and toiletries.

The water pressure is a little weak, and the pillows seemed 'under-stuffed,' but we managed.

The breakfasts were very nice. There is a wide selection at the buffet, and you can also order special items from the breakfast menu (this was included in our room cost). The servers were friendly and efficient. The breakfast room was lovely, neither too warm nor too cold, well-lit, and a very nice way to start the day.

The hotel is just a very short walk away from the main square, but far enough that we didn't hear the hullabaloo from the crowds. And this is Prague, so it's crowded!

We were very pleased with the hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us find interesting things to do. After we checked out, we had an entire day to kill before taking the train to Poland, and it was not a problem leaving our bags there until 9:30 at night!

If we return to Prague, we will book this hotel again without hesitation.

For gay travellers, note that this is a good place to stay. I wasn't sure what kind of reception we'd receive in Prague, because attitudes can be a little prehistoric here and there in Eastern Europe. Not here. The staff were professional and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room with a view of the Old Town. If you ask for room 711, you will have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowboyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Chris,

on behalf of Grand Hotel Bohemia team, let me thank you for your superb comment about our hotel and services. There is nothing better than to see that we made a guest happy.
Room you booked is really spectacular and all guests fell in love with their private terrace with magnificient view over the Prague.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we are looking for your next visit.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    446
    71
    17
    6
See reviews for
239
910
72
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived to the hotel to find out that they were overbooked due to some sort of illness that someone had, requiring them to stay longer or have an extra cleaning of the room or something like that (weren't quite sure, it was explained to us in broken english). HOWEVER, we were put up in a GREAT hotel across the street for the first night, then for our second night we were moved back to the Grand Bohemia. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was amazing, welcomed with a complimentary bottle of champagne & strawberries, and given a free 3-course dinner with bottle of wine at the hotel restaurant. The staff was extremely apologetic. The hotel lobby and dining area were a little outdated & i wouldn't recommend the restaurant. I would recommend the hotel as a whole since the room was outstanding, the service was great, and the location was perfect for sight-seeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alig834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Alig,

we are really sorry with the situation of our overbooking as one of our guest asked us to stay longer due to illness and we didn't want to ask him to leave in his health condition.
We would like to thank you for your understanding and I can see from your words, that you enjoyed your second night in our Junior Suite with all the services.
We are happy that you enjoyed Prague sightseeings, Prague has a lot to offer to see and we hope, this wasn't your last visit here.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The staff was most helpful and friendly. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. Our room was on the top floor with great views of Old Town, lovely terrace seating and the most comfortable bed. Very clean and updated. Don't forget to check out the ballroom downstairs it's amazing! I would stay here again in a heart beat.

by,
Linda Wiles, California

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Linda,

on behalf of Grand Hotel Bohemia team, let me thank you for such a positive words which I will be happy to share with them. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be pleases to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

....albeit too short. Loved the Grand. Wonderful location, within walking distance to all of the major attractions. Certainly a touristy place, but then again, all of the Prague is :).....don't leave without having a dinner at the Le Degustation and enjoy this stunning city!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenialexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Alexis,

we would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel. It's very touching to see, that you fell in love with Prague :)

We are very glad you were so happy here and we would be happy to see you again soon.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Perfect location in a quiet road. We had a twin room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street, which was very quiet. Although we had a standard room, the quality of the furnishings and bathroom was very high and the beds very comfortable. The hotel breakfast buffet excellent with plenty of choice and we ended up having 3/4 courses (cereal, hot breakfast, fruit and sometimes a waffle!)! We also found the hotel staff to be very helpful. We pre-booked a taxi from the airport to the hotel, but booked the hotel limousine for our return journey which was the same price and much more comfortable (about £28). We walked everywhere, even up to Prague Castle (which I think is more a Palace rather than a Castle) but the trams go everywhere. All the streets are cobbled so suggest no high heels for walking about! We had trouble finding our way back to the hotel on our first day, so recommend you take a map and make a note of the location of the hotel and any points of reference before you get caught up in the excitement! We would certainly return to this hotel and to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Jackie,

if I wasn't in Prague already, just reading your review will make me pack my luggage and call to Grand Hotel Bohemia for a reservation. We are really very proud and happy that you enjoyed your vacation so much. And the breakfast offer is really huge, I have to 100% agree with your words. Prague is full of beautiful places just waiting for discovery and I hope this is a good reason for you to come back and stay with us again.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had an "inside room" so no view, but well designed and many amenities. Breakfast was awesome and multi-cultural. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Could walk to most of Prague
's sights. The history of the hotel in the room is worth reading as well as a visit to the restored ballroom downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room (odd numbered).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAD28036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Jad,

thank you very much for your words, I am really sorry we didn't have enough available rooms with view over the city.

I would like to thank also regarding your comment about our staff, they are really doing their best to fulfill expectations of our guests. And as you like our neo-baroque Boccaccio ballroom, let me recommend you our Mozart dinners we are organizing in this magnificent place.

Looking forward to your next visit and with best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I think, had they had any availability in superior or delux doubles; my stay would have been different. Unfortunately, I was put in a very small single room facing a small lightshaft. Also, because of the location of the room, the sound from the service area echoed into my room at around 6:30 both mornings. The housekeeper was not concerned with noise; it sounded like she was playing the symbols with the tops of the room service plate covers.

Certainly not a 5 star hotel under any circumstance. However, the staff was friendly and the location fantastic. Elevators were quick, breakfast efficient. I would go back if the price were right. Depends on the ability to confirm a good room.

Room Tip: Don't face the courtyard on a low floor. 408 was dark and tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, Manager at Grand Hotel Bohemia, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Amtann,

I am really sorry that we didn't have enough free superior or deluxe rooms with view over the city for you. I would also assure you that I will inform our housekeeping to pay more attention early at the morning not to disturb our guests.

I do hope that our staff behaviour and other services were able to improve your judgment about our hotel and you will give us another chance to see you.

With best regards

Michal Medved
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#50 of 649 in Prague
1,981 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 649 in Prague
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
Buddha-Bar Hotel Prague
#51 of 649 in Prague
1,226 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bohemia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bohemia

Property: Grand Hotel Bohemia
Address: Kralodvorska 4 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Prague
#32 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#41 Business Hotel in Prague
#42 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Bohemia 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Bohemia is a 5-star luxurious hotel in the heart of Prague's Old Town. Only a few minutes walk divide this noble hotel with 78 elegantly furnished rooms from the main sights, architectonic landmarks and luxury shopping streets of the Old and the New Town of Prague.The Grand Hotel Bohemia has it all - located in town centre and yet very quiet street, hotel has a captivating essence of old times blended with highest comfort and services provided by top team of dedicated professinals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Bohemia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing