We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice supprise”
Review of Hotel Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Red Lion
Ranked #121 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice supprise”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

On arriving at this hotel there was some confusion with the reception area and where to check in, it wasn't very clear but we soon sorted it out. the check-in was quick and the receptionist was friendly. we stayed in room 22 on the second floor (there are only 8 rooms). The room we had was enormous and well equipped, tea and coffee, mini bar etc. The décor was very bohemian and the whole room was very clean, the ceilings were all painted with various designs which was a nice surprise. The bathroom was clean and modern with a separate wc. our room was at the back of the hotel so there was not much of a view, but it was lovely and quite so we had a very peaceful sleep on the large comfy bed. Breakfast was good, with enough for all tastes. We was a bit peeved that there was only one small milk and one tea bag each for our tea in our room but hey ho! just a small thing. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful with our touristy questions and had a good understanding of English. Overall a nice hotel and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: room 22 is huge and very quite, but its on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    91
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
55
115
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Located halfway up the hill from Mala Strana to the Palace, not Sv Nicholas square as I had thought. Steep narrow stairs to our third floor room, even more to a 4th floor. Nicely furnished room but cramped bathroom with a shower that needed contortions to use. We were unable to arrange a wake-up call. Breakfast (included) is served in a rather dismal room. We added one night, before arrival, and were charged over $200. There are much better choices in Prague.

Room Tip: Maybe on the first floor??
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I got a suit of rooms, a living room with TV, a separate bathroom ( with Jacuzzi bath ) and toilet and a nice bedroom with a double bed at the back of the hotel which had nice views over the roof tops towards a wooded hill. To be sure, the place is a bit run down but this all adds to the charm IMO. However, do not book this expecting a 4 star hotel, it isn't that at all. It is a good budget friendly 2 star place and there is nothing wrong with that. Also the location is a little out of the way and up a steep hill, the nearest metro is a good 15 minute walk away and the nearest trams are in the square at the bottom of the hill about 10 minute walk. It may not seem much but you soon get tired of walking up and down that hill! The hotel is also not at all accessible to wheel chair users and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with mobility problems either. Another thing to note is that non of the staff speak English but they do at the Golden Star 50m up the road which is where the reception is.

Room Tip: I had room 31 which is a suit and is at the back so is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacemonkey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We popped in here on the way down from the castle. We had stood around for what seemed like ages waiting for crepes at a stall in front of the Red Lion. We were frozen and wanted to warm up. We decided to go into the Red Lion and we were met by a very friendly waiter who didn't turn up his nose when we said we didn't want to eat. We only had teas and coffees. I convinced my 13 year old daughter to try hot water with lemon to warm up. When we saw they had free internet, we happily made use of it while we drank.

This hotel is located in a very busy area with lots of tourists passing by on their way up and down to the castle but we didn't feel staff were weary of or irritated by tourists - on the contrary, the waiter who served us was attentive and didn't hassle us to leave after we finished our drinks and used the bathrooms. On the bill, we saw we hadn't been charged for the hot lemon drink- many places would have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a 4 day visit in praha, and stayed at the red lion hotel. The room is perfect for a family, clean, large and with wifi, so this part is very perfect. The breakfast is very cheap and plain, and don't every use the street restaurant, it is one of the worste experiences in my life - the deep fried my steak. So the hotel is perfect and the restaurant is bad. But there is so manny restaurants in Praha, so it's not an issue. By the way the reception is in a other hotel some 100 m further up the road.

Room Tip: Nice large family room with seperate adult area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels Fjord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped to eat at the Red Lion (so called not because it wants to mimic an English pub but because it is in the historical district where the house names were the painted symbols on the front of the house - hence red lion). The service was very friendly and prompt even though the bar staff did not speak much English and our Czech was limited. We sat outside in the evening and watched people go by. Beer was good, food was good, and given there are so many places to choose in Prague this was a good place to sit, have something to eat and watch the world go by on a summer evening before getting the energy together to walk back down the hill to the tram stop. They have a small terrace a the back but we wanted to people watch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACSO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the 4 star rating at hotwire.com but this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. In my honest opinion, it is not a 4 Star. They don't even have a reception desk.

Before my arrival, I tried calling several times but no one answered the phone.

Anyhow, we thought we will take a chance and on the day of arrival, we followed the hotel direction from their website and climbed up a 'hill' for 30 minutes with heavy luggages

There was no one at site. There was a restaurant there, and a girl tried calling the manage but no-one picked up the phone. She mentioned that we've to go to another hotel to check in. Last time, the guest waited for over an hour and still no one showed up.

We then climbed 100m across the hotel under the rain to check in, they run another hotel under the same management. After another 30 mins, she provided us keys to an apartment like place which is very spooky. The place seemed like scary, there were many doors and some were locked.

The phone was not working and the internet was not working. We run around again to find the manager across the road and demanded my money back as I wanted to shift hotel. But he shouted, telling me to just leave. I just wasted 2 nights money.

We couldn't stay there since it looked like a haunted house. And checked into another hotel.

Terrible experience - don't book this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#113 of 649 in Prague
747 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
256 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#73 of 649 in Prague
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Lion

Property: Hotel Red Lion
Address: Nerudova 236/41 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#176 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic hotel Red Lion is located in an historic burgher house from the 15th century in the very centre of Prague. It lies directly on the Royal Route, only 400 metres from the Prague Castle and 500 metres from the Charles Bridge. All rooms have an enchanting view of Petrin, the Royal Route and the roofs of Mala Strana (Lesser Side) underneath the Prague Castle. They are equipped with historical furniture. In some rooms you will find the original painted wooden ceilings dating back to the 17th century. Hotel guests can enjoy lunches in the hotel restaurant with remarkable renaissance ceilings. The restaurant serves traditional Czech as well as international cuisine. Breakfast is served in the form of rich hot buffet. The pub U Cerveneho Lva invites you for a glass of wine or Pilsner beer. Its centuries old stone walls provide cool refuge from the heat in the summer, which makes the pub a perfect oasis to relax in. The bar, which dates back to 1350, is located in a lime stone cellar with Gothic vaulted ceilings. It serves a variety of hot and cold drinks. The pleasant atmosphere of the hotel patio invites our guests to relax. A limited number of parking places is available directly in front of the hotel. You can use free Internet spot in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Prague
Red Lion Prague
Prague Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing