We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful nite in Prague”
Review of Hotel Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Red Lion
Ranked #134 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our recent visit to Prague. We had a large, clean room overlooking the city street. If you are planning to go to bed early then request a courtyard room away for the street side (front of hotel). The bathroom was large and the shower was great water pressure and fluffy towels. The breakfast was good, basic European meats, cheese, rolls, coffee was execellent. Free internet that actually worked in the room, lobby and outside.

Price was reasonable for this time of year. Would stay again. Also exchange you money at the desk they gave the best rate in town with no fee's.

Room Tip: if you plan for an early night - ask for the courtyard rooms, back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sojette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a short break. On arrival the staff were friendly and checking in was relatively straightforward. Our room on the top floor was enormous, clean and had a good view of the castle. It also had a TV with lots of channels (which was useful as it rained almost continuously whilst we were there!), mini bar and free wi fi. For a hotel in this price range you cannot ask for much more in my opinion.

Breakfast was the usual European affair - a selection of fruit, cereals, meats, cheese and yoghurts. Standard fare for a hotel, nothing special but certainly good enough to set you up for the morning.

One of the hotel's best attributes is its location. It's just minutes from the castle and there are plenty of reasonable bars, cafes and restaurants within an easy 5 minute stroll. The centre is a very pleasant 20 minute walk away (up hill on the way back!) across the river which means most of the main attractions are within easy reach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kw2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We visited the red lion hotel for a family short break to prague - reception was excellent, a very friendly and warm welcome. We entered our room on the top floor and it was very clean, the wooden floors and furnishings were very clean and well polished throughout the room - as we went to look for the second bedroom we went along a narrow corridor (which was also the way to the bathrooms which were fully tiled and very clean) and found the second bedroom it was a very large room - both rooms had plenty storage and drawers for all your clothes etc. Included in the room was a well stocked mini bar - which is chargable if you use it. The breakfast did not have a very good selection and let the hotel down - however a cooked breakfast of bacon and eggs was available on request (on our next visit i would do room only and go out for breakfast as there is a better choice in cafes). The location of the hotel in Prague is at the top of the hill a few minutes walk from the castle, and approx a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. There are plenty of cafes and bars all around the hotel and all over the city catering for all nationalities. The area is very quite at night, bars open until the early hours for those who prefer an all night party! Free wi-fi included - kids enjoyed this as they could get on line on apps etc.

Room Tip: The family room we had was excellent - i would recomend room 31 for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfie_kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I've stayed in about 50 hotels in Prague in my short life... and this one was the best for atmosphere hands down. I booked via compare-hotels.co (.co not .com - which actually took me to Booking.com as it had the best rate that date) and was surprised at the room I was allocated, I arrived at midnight and got a suite with two bedrooms, a living room and a bath with a tub on the top floor. Pretty happy for €85 per night.

The breakfasts were fine, the cakes are nice too as is the goulash that they do there. The prices are very fair and for location, at the top of Nerudova with views of petrin hill and the hrad, was very impressed.

The bedrooms are decked out in this dark oak that, if arriving as a single young woman at midnight, going outside to the courtyard to get back in, was pretty scarey! But so cool, waking up on the morning and looking out over Petrin Hill was magical. I had the best trip to Prague of my life while staying here, the reception was great, organised everything I needed, spoke Perfect English and didn't bother me unless I wanted to be bothered.

great hotel, graet ambiance, super location, makes you feel like you stepped back into 18th century Bohemia, a great place for a romatic retreat or a getting to know yourself experience. 5/5

Room Tip: Use compare-hotels.co - all the suppliers all the rooms. And turn up late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PragueorBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Me and two friends visit Prague sat-tue, and stayed at Red Lion. The staff helped us order a taxi and our room was tidy and clean every day when we came back to the hotel. The breakfast was bad thou, so I recommend you to buy some food at a store or kafe. The location is very good and it's just a little walk to Charles bridge. Good value if you don't care about the breakfast and like to eat out. Order a table at the restaurant Cowboys, witch is just 50 meter away and very good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We wanted a traditional hotel, but we were deeply disappointed in our staying a week at the Red Lion. To begin with, the reception desk operates from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. only and although we phoned in advance warning that we will arrive from the airport at 9 p.m. ("OK, sure, we're waiting you" they said), we had to walk more than 50m to another hotel up the street to get the keys of the hotel and a plan to find our room!

And the room was absolutely appalling: a mean room reeking of stale tobacco smoke with a little window opening under a big plastic cover, so that no fresh air could come in; more then that it opens in a passage to another room, where guests were passing and smoking; and all these at 4 stars!

The next morning we were sick and strongly expressed our disagreement. They said they probably could put us in another room at noon; after only half an hour however there was another free room (it was not even 8 a.m.!). That one was surely better, but still we couldn't get enough sleep at nights, because there was no AC and we have to keep the windows open to a street full of revelers (please see the photos attached).

The breakfast was mean (some ham, cheese, eggs) and every day the same, served in a space beside the reception desk (the restaurant was in the cellar and closed in the morning). They simultaneously opened the windows and the door, so a strong draught blew at the tables; altough we asked them not to do this, they simply ignored us and my wife got a permanent headache...

In conclusion Prague is a beautiful city (The Golden City) but avoid the Red Lion Hotel!

Room Tip: No tips: avoid hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calator1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Having been sent away from the hotel we booked because of a reservation mix-up we were directed to the Red Lion.

We stayed in the “apartment”. It was a double room with bathroom, toilet, corridor and twin room. The décor was very nice – lots of antique furniture and painted medieval wooden roof beams. There were good views of the hills and the rooms were very well heated. As the room faced the back of the building it was very quiet at night.

The bathroom had a bath which was welcome and we didn’t experience any water-pressure problems.

The hotel has some fairly steep stairs and no lift. Although not a problem for us, some people might struggle with their cases.

The location was great with a tram stop a five-minute walk below the hotel and the castle a ten-minute walk uphill.

Breakfast was good. There was a modest buffet of bread, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, cereals and fruit juice. The coffee was excellent but the fruit was slightly elderly and the juice not fresh. overall we were very happy.

I’d recommend the Red Lion: good location with rustic charm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheezypuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#117 of 649 in Prague
779 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#46 of 649 in Prague
450 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#19 of 649 in Prague
317 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 649 in Prague
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Lion

Address: Nerudova 236/41 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#176 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic hotel Red Lion is located in an historic burgher house from the 15th century in the very centre of Prague. It lies directly on the Royal Route, only 400 metres from the Prague Castle and 500 metres from the Charles Bridge. All rooms have an enchanting view of Petrin, the Royal Route and the roofs of Mala Strana (Lesser Side) underneath the Prague Castle. They are equipped with historical furniture. In some rooms you will find the original painted wooden ceilings dating back to the 17th century. Hotel guests can enjoy lunches in the hotel restaurant with remarkable renaissance ceilings. The restaurant serves traditional Czech as well as international cuisine. Breakfast is served in the form of rich hot buffet. The pub U Cerveneho Lva invites you for a glass of wine or Pilsner beer. Its centuries old stone walls provide cool refuge from the heat in the summer, which makes the pub a perfect oasis to relax in. The bar, which dates back to 1350, is located in a lime stone cellar with Gothic vaulted ceilings. It serves a variety of hot and cold drinks. The pleasant atmosphere of the hotel patio invites our guests to relax. A limited number of parking places is available directly in front of the hotel. You can use free Internet spot in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Prague
Red Lion Prague
Prague Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing