We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please be awaree”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #25 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I booked a 4 night trip to this hotel as I had stayed there previously this year and the location and hotel is great. However, please be aware that the Maximilian has a bad habit of relocating you to other hotels once you arrive. I had purposely booked this hotel because of its location to the Old Town Square and also because I had been there before I knew the area and felt safe. On arrival I was told that due to problems with smoke detectors in some of the rooms I would have to stay at another hotel for the first 2 days and then I could come back for the last 2. I was assured that this other hotel, The Icon, was in the Old Town district and was dispatch by taxi immediately. It was in the New Town and was in a busy main road which was very noisy. I did not know my way around and had to constantly walk backwards and forwards to the Old Town, where I wanted to be, both in the day and then again in the evening. After 2 nights a taxi took me back to the Maximilian. They were not concerned at all about my unhappiness with what had happened and they did nothing to compensate me for my troubles. The trip was very disjointed because of 2 separate stays and unpacking and packing twice. Please be aware that they have a habit of doing this quite often.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank sanibelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,381)
There are newer reviews for Maximilian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2007

The Maximilian is of the kind of hotel that maintained its classic facade, but has this smooth, minimalist and very stylish, modern interior - starting from the lobby all the way to the looks of the rooms. I cannot think of any complaint - everything was superb: location (nice 5 minutes walks to the Old Town square), spacious stylish rooms, fantastic breakfast, welcoming service.

A wholehearted recommendation for anyone considering the Maximilian.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anDarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

I booked this hotel as the end of a long holiday that included Estrasburgo,Nancy,Reims,Budapest and Paris.Arrived in the hotel from the airport at 19hs00 by taxi.No porter was waiting,had to ask someone to help with our lugage.Asked for a room in the highest floor,far from the elevator and in the backside.The only thing they offered was the room in the back.Room 449,only 24 sq.meters.Only 1 umbrella,no adaptor for my cell phone charger,no enough hangers for the clothes.Asked for the hangers and the adaptors.Reception said:No adaptors available,but they could indicate where I could buy one!!!!!!!!!!!
Next morning we were awakened by the maid and the noise of a vacuum cleaner?) in the corridor.I got up and asked her to stop,she showed me her watch and said something in czeck language...
As some reviewers said the breakfast was "spetacular"we were expecting...but,again,nothing special.No fresh orange juice,no bottled water,no pancakes,no waffles,no enough croissants...Had to ask for expresso coffee,because the coffee that was on the table was very "weak".
The next 3 nights I was wakened 1am,2am with the noise of upstair's guests.Called the reception,but nothing happened.

Asked for late check out,untill 4 pm and the manager agreeded.
When I was closing the bill,BEFORE 4 PM,they charged me 50 euros for late check out.I complained and the woman said that late check out was untill 2pm...
Be careful because they try to put you on the "hotel taxi" that charges much more than normal taxis...

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We recently stayed at the Hotel Maxilian in Prague for a long weekend to celebrate our godsons 21st birthday.
The hotel is wonderful. The rooms are all non smoking.Some have good views, though most don't. Even the extensive restoration of the front of the hotel didn't mar our visit.
The standard of cleaning was excellent, the reception staff were great and arranged two trips for us. One to a local brewery and one on river boat trip. Both really enjoyable.
Breakfast was excellent with every thing you could wish for.
The only fault (if you can call it that) was that there is not a bar but a Honesty Bar, which most used properly but some took advantage of. Human nature I suppose.

As for Prague you really need to stay for a week or longer, or return for another long weekend to even scratch the surface of this great city.

However if you looking for good food don't eat Czech food as it is really poor, usually over cooked and served warm at best. I was looking forward to dumplings but found them inedible. Still the only one grumble for a great weekend. We will return to both the hotel and Prague in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimlynnShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

If there is one thing going in favour of the Maximilian hotel, we would point to the location. It is at the same time in the heart of Prague but away from the tourist infested streets. An oasis of calm. There are plenty of fancy restaurants in the neighbourhood so no lack of dining-options. Rooms are OK and correspond to what you would expect in a 4* hotel. Breakfast is plentiful and service good.
We made reservations through the hotel website (they have special rates which include beakfast). We found these prices to be lower than booking.com website.
One word of caution with regards to the bill. The website advertises prices in EUR. The check-out manager however tried to make us pay the CZK price subsequently converted in EUR at the hotel exchange rate, which increased the bill by 50 EUR. We politely declined.
We would go back and would recommend the Maximilian to other travellers.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This hotel was by far one of the best hotels I have experianced in all of europe, the staff was very accomadating,the breakfast was well done the rooms were very confortable,it is located within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. I would highly reccomend this property for your stay in beautiful Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sharron0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Hip, fun hotel. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful space. Great location.Very qiuet, but right near the center of town Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Accessibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 648 in Prague
2,486 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 648 in Prague
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $121 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing