We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maximilian was Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #30 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Maximilian was Amazing!”
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed at the Maximilian for our first wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Everything lived up to our expectations. We got a taxi from the airport which is a set fare of 650 crowns (approx £16). The hotel transport turned out to be 790 crowns (approx £19) so we booked that for the return journey. The taxi was absolutely fine as well though.

We also stayed in room 216 (see other reviewer's photos) and it was class. Although freezing it was so good to have a balcony. The service was great and the breakfast fantastic.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but recommends a variety of different ones nearby. We tried Lary Fary's which is about 5 mins walk and was absolutely amazing and very reasonable.

The best thing about the hotel is definitely the location - walking distance to all of the sights.
Prague is a great city and I can't wait for my return!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    465
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
327
1,106
132
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

We booked the Maximilian based on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. The hotel turned out to be even better than we had anticipated. Beautiful modern rooms, large bathrooms, chocolates on the pillow - the works! The staff were friendly and helpful too and helped with reccommendations for dinner. The breakfast buffet was enormous with plenty of selection for all tastes. (Part of the hot selection was carrots and broccoli though?!? Must be Czech breakfast specials!). We thought the honesty bar was a lovely touch, help yourself to free tea and coffee and write down any alcohol you have and they charge it to your room. I would whole heartedly reccommend this hotel to anyone. We got a terrific deal by going through Hotel Pronto - £90 per room per night including breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2006

This hotel is a beautiful find - but is definitely a boutique style hotel in a very traditional city. The decor was sleek and well appointed, both in the lobby area and the individual rooms. Staff was friendly and highly accommodating to all of our needs. An exception however was housekeeping, who left limited towels and supplies after the initial night (request an additional towel or two from the front desk). The room was clean and neat though, so no complaints there. There is also an "honor bar" in the lobby that is well stocked and a great meeting place for larger groups. Internet is complementary and the morning breakfast hours are long enough so that even the laziest sleeper can have a hot meal to start the day.

Transportation is also easily arranged through the hotel - a private car (not a taxi) arrived at the train station to pick us up, and also was prompt in taking us to the airport on our departure day. Rates are reasonable and can be charged to the room or paid in cash.

The location can't be beat - just a short walk to all major sites and restaurants. I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank filthybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Having read all the reviews we decided to book the Maximilian and were very happy indeed. Shopped around and got a 3 nights for price of 2 with Hotel Connect. The hotel has an excellent location, great staff and good rooms. We went with another couple and had a birthday over the weekend and a complimentary bottle of champagne arrived which was a lovely touch. If you are looking for an eclectic dining experience try Alchymist which was amazing for both the food and decoration!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Just returned from a superb long weekend based in the Maximilian. Selected the hotel based on a combination of good reviews on Tripadvisor; having an interest in the modernist style; and, crucially, finding a three-nights-for-two deal!

We were initially looking for a more traditional hotel in the usual beamed-ceiling Prague vernacular, but having tried and failed to find something just right in Mala Strana we decided to try something a little different. Just remember that once inside this hotel you could be anywhere, as a previous reviewer mentioned.

Booking through Expedia we requested a romantic superior room as shown on the Maximilian's website gallery and were fully expecting to be disappointed. Repeated the request when we emailed to re-confirm our reservation two days before arrival, and were delighted to receive a mail by return telling us we had the romantic room reserved for us. Yes *the* romantic room - there is only one! So if you want a balcony, it has to be room 206. Not sure if any other rooms (apart from the suite) have the glass-walled en suite bathroom either, but ours did and it was rather stylish too.

The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, and whilst the room itself is not notably spacious it is not cramped in any way and it was nicely lit and furnished. There were a couple of dings in the wall finish and a squint bedside lamp cover which I didn't expect, but nothing to really detract, and everything was very clean. Good view out of the window across the quiet little square towards the church opposite.

The public areas were all immaculate and the glass-walled library and lounge are pretty dramatic, although obviously rather cool in feel and only lit by skylights and spotlamps. The library is particularly inviting having colourful seating and an interesting selection of books on modern architecture. The honesty bar is a good idea and the complimentary tea, coffee, and cakes are a welcome touch.

Breakfast was superb with most things you could wish for being on offer, all fresh and constantly replenished. It is served until extremely civilised hours too - up to 11:30 weekdays and 12:30 at the weekend. Perfect after succumbing to the lure of Prague nightlife. In theory - and hangover permitting - you could get up and do a morning's local sightseeing and come back to take it as brunch instead.

The location is excellent, not quite drop-dead gorgeous but pleasant and very quiet, with a bit of a neighbourhood feel, and amongst older buildings very close to St Agnes convent. And yes Old Town Square is only 5 minutes walk away.

Hotel staff were very courteous and attentive - no complaints here.

There are a number of restaurants close by, of which we tried Chez Marcel and were impressed - pretty good value French bistro fare. Recommended.

Any complaints? Well, the honesty bar was closed when we returned towards 1am on our first night (yeah I know - lightweights!). This was disappointing, although perhaps not surprising... The night porter said it couldn't be opened. I'm kind of used to the British way of guests being allowed to get a nightcap from the hotel bar pretty much whatever time it is. Never mind - I'll remember to stock up from the mini-market at the end of the street next time, or spring for the mini-bar in the room. Not much else really, maybe the aforementioned need for a quick bit of decor maintenance (a very minor niggle). That's about it.

All in all then thoroughly recommended for mid-range accomodation with some style. You will be looked after and rested, and well placed to explore the city. It's a bit expensive at the full rate, but I would certainly stay again if I couldn't get what I wanted in Mala Strana and the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Juno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Using Trip Advisor reviews as a guiding reference we booked 2 nights in Hotel Maximillian. It easily lives up to all expectations - Overall Design, Bedroom comfort, Quietness, Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful staff. The Hotel is located in a wonderfully quiet location an easy 10 min walk from Old Town Square - although there is no shortage of good bars and restaurants within lesser walking distance. Try NOSTRESS French-Asian restaurant on corner of Dusni and V Kolkovne (5 mins from hotel) Highly recommended. Also more formal fish restaurant RYBI TRH in Tynsky dvur - just off Old Town Square. One small query - why are there no spirits in the mini-bar? Beer Yes, Wine Yes, Tonic Yes - but no Gin etc. Returning late one night when the Honesty Bar was closed, we were denied a G&T and thus had tonic on its own as a nightcap. A small but puzzling issue. We thoroughly enjoyed the city and this hotel in particular.

Helpful?
5 Thank RostrevorNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

we stayed at the Maximilian for four nights and had a really enjoyable stay. I pondered for ages whether to go for a typical Prague Hotel with decorative ceilings etc. but ended up going for the modern style of The Maximilian.Having read all the reviews, I'd say we got exactly what we expected - we booked a superior room and were a little disappointed as it seemed pretty 'standard' - only a few rooms come with the opaque bathroom and balcony and ours had neither. It was however, spotlessly clean and a good size (I think the size is the only difference between Standard and Superior rooms)and had everything we needed.
despite being more expensive, we opted for the hotel's airport transport and didn't regret it - we arrived at 20:40 and wanted to get to the hotel asap, and it was lovely to be greeted by a nice man in a shiny car holding our names up!
breakfast really was fantastic - anything you could wish for! It's worth staying there for the breakfast alone! And it's worth spending the £2 or so to have it brought to your room as a treat! They'll bring everything you ask for!
As for location, this is great too - I was worried it was too far away but it was so close to all the sights! Literally a 5 min stroll to Old Town Square. There are plenty of lovely places to eat nearby too - we had great food (and reasonable!) in Escape, Chez Marcel (next door) and Les Moules on Parizka.
Right, I'm going on now so I'll tie this up - if you want traditional Czech with a personal touch, this isn't the place for you -this hotel could be anywhere. But if you want a great hotel with a modern style I can highly recommend this hotel. If you want super sleek, maybe go for the sister hotel, The Josef, just down the road - The Maximilian has the feel of a hotel which has been 'done up' whereas the Josef seems purpose built.
there are some really nice touches here though - there's free coffee, lovely teas and pastries all day, the honesty bar is a nice idea and the Thai Massage downstairs is great. Would I stay there again? I think we'll probably go for something a bit different when we go to Prague again (we wanted to go back as soon as we got home!), just to try something new, but I'd definitely send a friend there.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gwybodaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,620 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing