We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem!”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little gem!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very nice & helpful. The hotel is located in a great spot. It's about a 7 min walk to the main square. It is a bit far from the castle though (30 min walk)so be prepared to walk a good bit. There is a train that goes there but that's about a 15 min walk to the station, so no point. The city is gorgeous though so we didn't mind it at all. The room was spacious and clean & we loved our little goldfish. The honestly bar was nice since it does offer free tea & coffee. The breakfast in the morning is stocked well and plenty to choose from between the buffet & small menu offered to order off of if you want something extra. They had champagne waiting in the room since it was our honeymoon, which was a very nice touch. I def recommend this hotel. Parking is extrememly expensive there if you have a car though. That is the only major downfall of the hotel, but they do wash your windshield!
Side note: Prague is our favorite city of all after visiting 5 countries. Vienna second, Copenhagen 3, Sweden 4th & Munich last(don't care if I ever go back there).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear TMT79,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your honest and detailed feedback with us.
It was great to read that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your stay, including our location, honesty bar, breakfast buffet and your room. We were especially pleased to read that you enjoyed the company of your goldfish and that you appreciated the surprise in the room. On behalf of the whole team, once again - congratulations!
Furthermore, we truly appreciate your feedback regarding the parking and we would like to kindly note that it guarantees the safety of the vehicle and is relative to our city center location where parking options are limited.
Finally, we were pleased to read that you appreciated our windshield washing service!
We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay in Prague and we will be glad to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    495
    48
    17
    4
See reviews for
377
1,198
139
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel far exceeded my expectations, was well valued experience. The hotel is ideally located, quiet, and a short walk from all the major sites and 20 minutes from the train station. The hotel must've been recently renovated with a spacious room and bathroom. I did not realize breakfast buffet was included until the third day. I found it to be excellent, along with the all day free coffee. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and I enjoyed being there. As a solo traveler I felt safe. They will actually put an aquarium in your room if you miss your pet ask for it! The hotel has everything you could want or need and feels new. I walked from the train to the hotel (had to ask for help, the streets are confusing) and took the hotel shuttle to the airport for my early morning flight. Otherwise, I would've taken public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrstne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Chrstne,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. It was a pleasure to read your kind comments regarding our team and we were especially pleased that during your stay we were able to exceed your expectations! It is also great to read that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel, including our central location, breakfast, room facilities and the concept of our goldfish! We hope that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in Prague and we hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel staff here is so helpful and friendly and the location is great - on the edge of Old Town so close to many sights but quiet neighborhood. The amenities were fairly straightforward, but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Jenny W,

We would like to thank you for posting your above review regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our central location and that it was both quiet and convenient for accessing the Old Town Square. Furthermore, we would also like to thank you for your pleasant feedback regarding the team. We sincerely hope that you had a great stay and we hope that we will welcome you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon Ranges, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

There are lots 5 ratings thrown around for Prague hotels. You think that is surely too good to be true ... and it was.
Nothing really wrong with it … just found the hotel very forgettable/uninspiring.

Stayed in a Superior room.

Negatives:
- hotel just a bit too run of the mill
- have a lounge that doesnt really offer much above the room. Cant get a latte in the lounge; its merely a coffee maker just like you have in the room

Pros:
- breakfast quality is very good but selection limited
- good location (quiet, a little away from tourist areas)
- good restaurants nearby
- friendly staff

It probably rates 3.5

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneRangerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear LoneRanger3440,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your honest feedback with us and other readers on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We were pleased to read that you liked our central location with good restaurants nearby and that you appreciated the assistance of our friendly staff.
We would also like to thank you for your comments regarding other aspects of your stay that you were not truly satisfied with. It is our aim to exceed our guests' expectations and we are sorry to know that you did not find our lounge areas to your liking; we would like to mention that we offer books and newspapers to read in our Library and we also serve coffee and tea with cake daily and offer wine and cheese on Wednesdays in our Honesty Bar between 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. Moreover, our staff are always pleased to accommodate your requests should you have different preferences for coffee, etc. We are delighted to know that you mentioned our breakfast among features you liked, however we were sorry to read that you found the selection limited despite our generous buffet and the included à la carte menu.
We truly hope that you had a pleasant and enjoyable time in Prague!¨

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were very impressed by the level of customer care we received at the Maximilian. The room was very comfortable and breakfast choice and quality was excellent.

The location is great - easy walking distance to the old square - and yet the rooms were quiet with no traffic or crowd noise.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumandteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear mumandteen,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page. It is an absolute delight to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay in Maximilian, including our central location, breakfast and room facilities. Furthermore, it was fantastic to read your kind comments regarding our team and wonderful to read that we were most accommodating during your stay. We hope that you had a fantastic stay in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back to Maximilian!

Warm Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in Prague at the Maximilian hotel in the middle of July 2014 and stayed for for 3 nights. We booked Superior room thru their web site, and got one on the second floor (actually on the first floor, because the reception is at -1). There was a complementary bottle of Champagne waiting in our room from the staff, with a congratulations note- very nice gesture! The room was great size, clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception staff gladly helped us with restaurant bookings and other things. Location of the hotel is just perfect, if You are interested in exploring Old Town. Walking distance to everything. Breakfast was included in the rate, and was good. Only slight drawback was the air condition that did not cool the room properly. But i guess that +33c outside temperature had something to do with it (we did actually not mention this to the hotel, since it's no biggie, so maybe it was only our room 212) On our departure we discovered that our car windshield was washed, another nice gesture! If we return to Prag, we will definitely stay at Maximilian again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PekStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Pekka S,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you appreciated the small surprise that was prepared for your wedding anniversary celebration and we would like to congratulate you once more! Furthermore, it was fantastic to read that you also enjoyed the central location of the hotel, breakfast facilities and assistance provided by the reception. It was also especially pleasing to read that you appreciated the fact that your windshield was cleaned. We would also like to take the opportunity to address and apologise for the issue that you had with the air conditioning during your stay. We wish that you had informed our reception as we would have done our best to ensure that the temperature was cooler to make it more comfortable in the room. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing Maximilian for your visit to Prague and we hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We just came back from our first visit to Prague. Our hotel was wonderfully located (center of town), with walking distance to sights and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and efficient (front staff and breakfast staff).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivetfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Olivetfr,

Thank you very much for posting the above review on our TripAdvisor page and also for choosing Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague! It was an absolute pleasure to read your kind feedback regarding our central location and the team. We hope that you enjoyed your first visit to Prague and we hope we will see you again!

Best Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
738 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing