We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed Hotel with a wonderful breakfast”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We arrived very late at 2.40 a.m. due to a flight delay and were welcomed and shown our room very quickly. the room was large, well set out and had an adequate bathroom with plenty of shampoo etc. Breakfast was taken in a bright airy room and the buffet choice was extensive with an additional menu for special orders including eggs Benedict. The location is an easy walk to the main tourist area of the old town and the Charles Bridge, it would be very difficult to get lost in the area.
The staff provided strawberries and sparking wine in our room on arrival and a Birthday cake and more wine for my sisters Birthday, a very pleasant surprise, they were all friendly, helpful and pleasant with a good knowledge of English making our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msr099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear msr099,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor as well as for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague for such a special occasion as celebrating your sister's birthday. We were really happy to read she liked the surprise we prepared for her upon arrival and we truly hope that you had an amazing time here.
Thank you also for mentioning how much you enjoyed our facilities and appreciated so many aspects of your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed a weekend with my wife whilst visiting friends in Prague. The hotel is in a superb location 500 meters away from the Old Town Square. The service is great and it offers some nice extras such as Nespresso in the morning as well as one coffee maker in the room. The staff is very friendly and does do everything to serve. It almost feels like the US in terms of pampering.

Now some critique. The room on the front side of the hotel and also located on the first floor was pretty noisy with people coming home from bars 3-4 AM and shouting. I would recommend you staying in the other house (Red house) of the hotel which does not face the street. The rooms are ok. They are clean but I still expect more for the price you pay since its a high class hotel. The same goes for breakfast. It is good but not excellent, juices are canned, quite little selection of breads etc. Overall, a great weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Joachim73,

Many thanks for your nice comments and recommendation on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read your kind review about the Maximilian Hotel, we are really glad that you liked the location and the service our staff provided you with.
Your feedback is really important to us, so we would like to thank you for sharing it with us here. We have taken your comments on board for further discussion and in order to improve our services.
We sincerely hope that you had a nice time in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The room was pleasant with a huge mirror and nicely designed bathroom. Terrific buffet breakfast that was so substantial we often skipped lunch later on, with specials each day (they didn't really work but they get marks for even trying). The hotel had welcome extras like 24 hour expresso and tea in the downstairs lounge with 60s 'egg chairs and dotted patterns also very sixties in a cool modern setting. It is situated in a quiet but upscale area in the Jewish Quarter (nowhere is that far away in Prague--if you are a walker you only really need transport for the Castle) with a very good couple of restaurants and cafes (Nostress and the one opposite) are excellent in a city that is not really gourmet (avoid the Imperial we had an awful meal there). Staff were helpful and available. My wife had a massage in the downstairs spa that was vigorous and professional by the Thai staff who are probably making better money there (I hope) than the more cramped Thai massages you see scattered around the city (they are legit I think though they looked suspicious at first).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markacohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear markacohen,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post the above review on our TripAdvisor page.
It was our great pleasure to read your wonderful words about your stay and positive experience at the Maximilian Hotel. Thank you also for mentioning that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast, location and the massage center. It was also nice to hear that you liked the restaurants nearby.
We were sorry to read your feedback about the breakfast specials; your comments have been taken on board and will be discussed with the concerning department.
We are glad you had a pleasant time here and we truly look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the last part of our European honeymoon and loved it! The hotel staff was amazing. So helpful and courteous during our entire stay. The breakfast buffet was definitely the most plentiful and delicious we had on our trip, very tasty. I loved the fish we had in our room as well. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy and good portion of the time while we were there, so we were in the hotel and bit more than we had planned, but it really did feel like home. We were able to rent a couple of DVDs from the front desk and room service was pretty good. I would highly recommend Maximilian!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdavis5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear jdavis5314,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It is truly a pleasure to hear your kind comments regarding our team and the service that we provided you with during your stay. We are also especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the goldfish that accompanied you. We hope you enjoyed your time in Prague and we hope that we see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel: Very nice staff a really good buffet breakfast plus additional menu which included cooked options. But the best part of the hotel has to be the 'Spa' massage facilities. This is something I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Prague who needs a treat after a lot of walking :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Tina B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your above review on our TripAdvisor page. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your massage and we really appreciate your kind comments regarding the team and breakfast facilities. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay here in Prague and we hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spend 4 nights at the of May 2014 at the Maxmilian Hotel in Prague.
In general our stay was really good and we enjoyed staying there and of course enjoyed the beautiful city og Prague.
Pro - the hotel is VERY good situated at the heart of Prague (in the old city) with in a walking distance from all the main attractions (the astronomical clock, old jewish quarter, Charles bridge ...).
The breakfast was very rich and very good, they even offer you (with no extra charge) eggs benedict or warm waffle with maple syrup.
Con - take care on which floor u r staying, we stayed on the 6th (and last) floor but the elevatoer goes only to the 5th .... so you need to climb (with your luggage upon arriving or departing). in addition there's only on elevator (there are 2 wings - 1 elevator for each). and we found ourselves several times going down by the staircase .....
for summary - the hotel is very good with a very good, kind and helpful stuff, it's very good located and the breakfast is very rich. I highly recommand this hotel for your next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear idok125,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice and detailed review on our TripAdvisor page about the Maximilian Hotel.
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us; we really appreciate your kind comments.
We would also like to thank you for mentioning the features you were not truly satisfied with, it is important to know your feedback because it gives us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities.
It would be our pleasure to see you again in Prague!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Maximilian for 5 nights this May. It is a small boutique hotel with very lovely rooms. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. They provided us with advice, directions, and a feeling of being welcome. The hotel had breakfast included and in addition to the buffet, which was quite extensive, you could order specialty items from the menu (like omelets or smoothies). The bed was comfortable. The location was good, just outside the old city and only a few blocks from the major squares. We could walk wherever we needed to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegasbaby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear vegasbaby58,

It was lovely to read about your experience at the Maximilian Hotel - thank you for posting your positive feedback about your stay with us.
We are really happy that you enjoyed our facilities and liked our service, your room, our location and breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again here!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,697 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 646 in Prague
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,542 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 646 in Prague
1,728 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $115 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing