We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience in Prague!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #31 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience in Prague!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the last part of our European honeymoon and loved it! The hotel staff was amazing. So helpful and courteous during our entire stay. The breakfast buffet was definitely the most plentiful and delicious we had on our trip, very tasty. I loved the fish we had in our room as well. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy and good portion of the time while we were there, so we were in the hotel and bit more than we had planned, but it really did feel like home. We were able to rent a couple of DVDs from the front desk and room service was pretty good. I would highly recommend Maximilian!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdavis5314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear jdavis5314,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful review of your recent stay at Maximilian Hotel. It is truly a pleasure to hear your kind comments regarding our team and the service that we provided you with during your stay. We are also especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the goldfish that accompanied you. We hope you enjoyed your time in Prague and we hope that we see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    467
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
330
1,108
132
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel: Very nice staff a really good buffet breakfast plus additional menu which included cooked options. But the best part of the hotel has to be the 'Spa' massage facilities. This is something I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Prague who needs a treat after a lot of walking :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Tina B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your above review on our TripAdvisor page. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your massage and we really appreciate your kind comments regarding the team and breakfast facilities. We truly hope that you enjoyed your stay here in Prague and we hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spend 4 nights at the of May 2014 at the Maxmilian Hotel in Prague.
In general our stay was really good and we enjoyed staying there and of course enjoyed the beautiful city og Prague.
Pro - the hotel is VERY good situated at the heart of Prague (in the old city) with in a walking distance from all the main attractions (the astronomical clock, old jewish quarter, Charles bridge ...).
The breakfast was very rich and very good, they even offer you (with no extra charge) eggs benedict or warm waffle with maple syrup.
Con - take care on which floor u r staying, we stayed on the 6th (and last) floor but the elevatoer goes only to the 5th .... so you need to climb (with your luggage upon arriving or departing). in addition there's only on elevator (there are 2 wings - 1 elevator for each). and we found ourselves several times going down by the staircase .....
for summary - the hotel is very good with a very good, kind and helpful stuff, it's very good located and the breakfast is very rich. I highly recommand this hotel for your next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear idok125,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice and detailed review on our TripAdvisor page about the Maximilian Hotel.
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us; we really appreciate your kind comments.
We would also like to thank you for mentioning the features you were not truly satisfied with, it is important to know your feedback because it gives us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities.
It would be our pleasure to see you again in Prague!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Maximilian for 5 nights this May. It is a small boutique hotel with very lovely rooms. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. They provided us with advice, directions, and a feeling of being welcome. The hotel had breakfast included and in addition to the buffet, which was quite extensive, you could order specialty items from the menu (like omelets or smoothies). The bed was comfortable. The location was good, just outside the old city and only a few blocks from the major squares. We could walk wherever we needed to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasbaby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear vegasbaby58,

It was lovely to read about your experience at the Maximilian Hotel - thank you for posting your positive feedback about your stay with us.
We are really happy that you enjoyed our facilities and liked our service, your room, our location and breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again here!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived to the Maximilian exhausted and thirsty. Our man Tom immediately escorted us to the self-serve "honor bar" where we relaxed with a tall vodka tonic and engaged in lively conversation with some of the other guests. (we would return there every day!)
Our room was spotlessly clean with with windows that opened to let in the fresh Prague air. The bed..ahhhhhh! So comfortable; we slept like babies. (we even got to babysit a gold fish!)
And the breakfast room: bright and sunny with a large buffet of fresh fruit and pastries and even omelets made to order. Open until 12:30...crazy, right?! :-)
Tom and the pleasant young lady with long dark hair provided outstanding recommendations for restaurants, transportation, and attractions; thank you! I highly recommend this hotel for location, value, and service. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have only small windows that open up top. Other floors have full size window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear PJCline,

It was delightful to read your wonderful feedback on our TripAdvisor page. We were so happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we are grateful for your kind comments regarding all the aspects you enjoyed here, such as the Honesty Bar, our breakfast and your room.
We are especially glad to hear about your experience with the service our staff provided you with. It is a great motivation for the entire team to get such positive feedback and we would like to thank you for your kind recognition of Tom and Sonia for their efforts in making your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at Maximilian for three nights and it had a great experience. The hotel rooms are spacious and quiet, we had peaceful nights sleep and were happy with the facilities provided. Breakfast was included in our package and the hotel's breakfast hours were an ample 6:30 till 11:30 each morning allow us the flexibility of sleeping in after a big night out but still being able to take advantage of the buffet (which also included a choice of hot dishes which you could order).

Most memorable though were few very unique features the hotel offered. They provided us with a goldfish pet for the stay who even sent us a postcard post our trip (thanks Max). Each afternoon, there was free tea, coffee and cake served in the library with wine and cheese on Wednesdays. There was a thai relaxation centre which where we had a 90min massage for an awesome 40 euros for two! And finally, the service and staff were all friendly, sweet and welcoming, we truly thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!!!

Pros:
Great service, very friendly and welcoming
Really nice value adds like afternoon tea and coffee free of charge
Good sized, quiet rooms with modern facilities (Nespresso, flat screen TV etc)
Very affordable, value for money

Cons:
Struggling to find any to be honest..........

Room Tip: Superior room includes Nespresso machine. Also ask for a goldfish, they're great company!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Front Office Team at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Nicholas S,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page. We are grateful for your kind comments regarding the breakfast, quality of service and standard of facilities. We are especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the company of a goldfish in your room and the coffee and tea & wine and cheese served each afternoon. We hope that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind Regards,

Harriet George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hello,

My wife and I stayed here for four nights last week. It was our second time staying here and we would have no hesitation on a return stay.
The location of the hotel is excellent. All places of interest are within easy walking distance yet noise free at night. The hotel is spotless throughout. On this occasion we availed of the spa, breakfast and evening food - all excellent.

What makes a hotel special is the staff that work there and the owners should be very proud of the staff they employ in the Maximilian. Anyone of them we encountered were friendly and professional.

Book this hotel - you will have no regrets.

Eddie

Room Tip: Fifth floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdScul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear EdScul,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post the above review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your second stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is my great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities and I am proud that you appreciated the professional and friendly service our staff provided you with.
I will be looking forward to welcoming you back again for another stay with us!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing