We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Loved our stay at The Maximilian Hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly( except spa staff). Location is perfect within strolling distance of restaurants, bars and The beautiful Old Town Square. Breakfast is excellent, love that it is served until 12.30 at the weekends- it really fills you up for the day!! My only negative comment is about our experience in the spa. Be warned that the massages given are very deep and are very painful,and ours actually gave us bruises, definitely not a relaxing experience.Shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macidublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear macidublin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post the above review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and our breakfast. We were also really happy to read that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.
We are truly sorry to know that you did not have a relaxing experience at the spa, however the massage center located in our hotel does have some really nice soothing therapies. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the concerning department.
We hope that you still had a great time in Prague and we hope to see you again at the Maximilian Hotel.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,746
    488
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
358
1,181
137
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our first plans were to stay at the four seasons. We had reservations there. Then a friend said stay closer to the old town. I listened and did my research..... Found the Maximillan, took the suite and we were so happy. Please I am not comparing this to the 4 seasons as we did not stay there, however we loved this hotel. Extremely comfortable bed. Large bedroom, large sitting room. Very modern bath with huge tub and separate shower. Okay towels need upgrading, but our robes changed 2x during the trip. Of course daily housekeeping and everything is pristine . The breakfasts are beyond terrific. I usually have coffee and bread. The selection from fruits, eggs pastries yogurts special order fruit smoothies...eggs Benedict .i could go on! Loved loved the location. Delightful helpful staff. Simply a winner.

Room Tip: Loved the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear trigger1070,

We loved to read your wonderulf review on our TripAdvisor page, thank you so much for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel. It was delightful to read that you were satisfied with your decision to stay with us.
We are are so happy to hear that you found so many features of our hotel to your liking, and we are proud to know that we managed to contribute to a pleasant and enjoyable stay in Prague.
Thank you also for your honest feedback regarding our towels - we have taken your comments on board.
We would be pleased to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Maximilian. The rooms were large and well appointed and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were substantial and very high quality. The location was perfect for sightseeing and there are many nice restaurants nearby. I would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: My room was 543 - away from elevator and a lovely view of nearby church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Chicago913,

We would like to thank you for your kind review as well as for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your stay; we are so happy you liked your spacious and quiet room, our breakfast, convenient location and that you also appreciated our staff's assistance during your stay with us.
It would be delightful to welcome you back for another stay in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

With their excellent client service, room cleanliness, perfect location and elaborate meals/generous snacks, Maximilian hotel makes you feel like at home.
For tourists it is great because you find yourself having friends in an unknown country. The receptionists give you the best advises on how to visit the city and enjoy it to the max.
They even have this "happy hour" between 4 and 5 where you get to meet lively staff over local cake and tea/coffee/whatever you can think of.
You are 4 minutes by foot away from the center of Prague and have many great restaurants nearby.
In short excellent return on value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaraseif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Yaraseif,

I was really happy to see your amazing feedback on our TripAdvisor page, thank you so much for posting it!
I am pleased to know that you liked so many aspects of your stay here, such as our location, our delicious Czech cake served at the afternoon coffee and tea hour. I would especially like to thank you for mentioning how much you appreciated the recommendations of our staff and also their friendliness.
By the way, I had a lovely time talking to you in the Honesty bar. I wish you all the best in your studies at home and abroad, and I also truly hope that I will have the chance to see you again whenever you visit Prague in the future!
You made the entire Maximilian team really glad and motivated with such nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a marvelous stay in Maximilian Hotel in december, everyone was helpfull, smiling, trying to speak french with us. The service of transfert from the airport or the Main Station is well organized and the driver was very pleasant. A really good adress in Prague

Room Tip: superior rooms are large and well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Agnes G,

We would like to thank you for providing us with the above review regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It was great to read that you liked our hotel car service and we are especially glad that you appreciated how attentive our reception team was.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I wanted to write a comment about the hotel after our stay... but never really took the time to do it. But today, we received a postcard from the goldfish we got in our room ;-), and that makes me decide to write something about this really nice hotel.
We went there mid-feb 2014, and got a first price room (around 70€ per night) for 3 nights. The bed room is really comfortable, enough space for two, bathroom very convenient, and a nice view on the church.
The hotel is located in a very quite district, but very very closed to the historical center... basically we visited a lot of Praha by walk from the hotel, and you can find a lot of nice restaurant or pub near there (and I'm not talking about tourist stuff).
The crew was very pro and nice, and the breakfast... ouch! First time I ate a so amazing scrambled eggs in a hotel! And you can also ordered special dishes of the month!
Next time we come back to visit this really nice city, I will definitely not hesitate to pick this hotel again.
A really big thanks to Maximilian Hotel's!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddy_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Freddy_Me,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice review with us and other readers regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It was so nice read how much you liked our property and many thanks also for mentioning that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with. We were especially delighted to hear that our Goldfish's postcard arrived to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Serene modern design. Superb breakfasts - lots for vegetarians. We stayed in Room 347 which is at the back and very quiet. Nice spacious room - with a bath, TV, DVD, nespresso machine and a goldfish called Max.

At first I found the bed a bit soft but then managed to have the best quality sleep have had for ages.

Location is great. Within easy walking distance of everything in central Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear helensmi,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It makes us proud to know that we managed to contribute to an excellent experience in Prague. It was great to hear that you liked our location, design, breakfast, your room and that you enjoyed our facilities. We are especially glad about your feedback regarding our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,696 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 649 in Prague
2,462 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing