We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with excellent location”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Maximilian Hotel. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at this lovely hotel. The breakfast was really something and gave much energy (even for the hungry teenagers) to start a new day. We have nothing negative to say.

In short, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Tanja V,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague and we truly appreciate this review on TripAdisor.
We were pleased to read your kind words about our property and it makes us really happy to know that we were able to provide a calm environment during your stay.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    488
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
359
1,181
137
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My sister and I spent 6 nights at the Maximilian. Our room (539) was stylish, clean, and comfortable with a beautiful view of the Prague sky and rooftops. It was sometimes hard to motivate ourselves to leave the hotel because it was so comfy and inviting. The stress-relieving goldfish (in a colorfully appointed tank) and the in room DVD player (the front desk has a great collection of movies) made staying in all the more fun and relaxing.

Prague is however a breathtakingly beautiful city and whenever we did manage to tear ourselves away from the Maximilian, we were able to quickly walk to the old town square, the Estates theater, and the Jewish quarter. There are some excellent restaurants around the hotel, including Moon (Chinese), Lokal (Czech) and a fish and chips place. The hotel's breakfast is excellent - with freshly baked bread and pastries, smoked salmon, and French cheeses in the buffet, as well as a menu with beautifully presented items such as eggs benedict. The reception, breakfast room, and housekeeping staff were very courteous and helpful. We also had a smooth experience with the hotel car for our transfers. We wish we had stayed longer at the Maximilian and continue to miss it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stshehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Stshehab,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor as well as for having chosen us for your recent stay in Prague.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and liked so many details, such as your room and the view, the pet goldfish, our DVD selection, breakfast and hotel car service. We are especially grateful for your kind recognition of our staff for the service they provided you with.
It was also great to read that you appreciated our convenient location and had the opportunity to try nice restaurants and visit many of the sights in the city within walking distance from here.
We would love to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent two nights in Maximilian Hotel. We arrived at Prague around 10am and got a room right away.

Spacious room and everything you need was available. Very well located as it just took us 3-4 minutes walk to the old town. Breakfast is included and choices are very nice. Hot plates and cold plates are available.

Moreover, staff are very nice. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinwky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear vinwky,

Thank you for posting your kind review on our TripAdvisor page about the Maximilian Hotel.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated the possibility of an early check-in, and that you liked your spacious room. We are also happy you enjoyed our breakfast and prime location and also found our staff nice.
We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with so many aspects of your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was on business and enjoyed the calm hotel, fabulous staff and excellent location in the old city, all in walking distance. I stayed in my room and worked - very relaxing. Breakfast is perfect and staff is really happy to serve - never had such a smile and easiness. It has a very private atmosphere. You will enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ClaudiaS3,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your nice feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is delightful to know that you liked our property - thank you especially for the great comments about our staff and breakfast, and we truly hope that in your busy schedule you also had the opportunity to make the best out of our convenient location.
We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for 3 nights, however it only turned into 2 nights thanks to the computer breakdown in Heathrow, the hotel is close to everything no more than a 10 minute walk to any attraction, the staff I found were extremely friendly and very helpful, they helps us out a great deal when our cases do not turn up thanks again to British Airways, we stayed in a Superior deluxe room which was very nice, bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, bathroom large and we had a lovely goldfish to look after while we were there and on arrival back at home, we received a postcard off the goldfish thanking us for looking after him. Breakfast, there was everything a human could want and again if you wanted anything out of the norm, they would make it for you, the area breakfast is served in is a lovely room which is full with nature light from the huge windows, it was a pleasure to sit in there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and stay there again should we ever be in Prague, which I am sure we will as it's a lovely City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nclemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear nclemad,

Thank you so much for your great review on our TripAdvisor page about the Maximilian Hotel. We loved to read your wonderful feedback regarding our staff and all the positive aspects that you mentioned. We are glad that our Goldfish's postcard arrived to you as well!
What a pity you had to shorten your stay here, but we will be always looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is very nice and comfortable for stay.
Location is good, Prague I and 10 minutes from any sights.
The room is good enough, clean, quite.You will have kettle, tea, instant coffee and water from a tap and very nice Korres bath bottles in your room.
Breakfast is perfect! you will enjoy it!
The hotel is modern and have library room and Nespresso coffee and tea available free of charge all day around in bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Ksianka,

We were delighted to read your kind review, thank you so much for sharing it with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We are grateful for your kind comments about breakfast, your room and the prime location of the Maximilian Hotel.
We would be happy to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our first visit to Prague we stayed at the Unitas Hotel. We were extremely impressed..We were going to stay there again but there were no rooms available. we decided to stay at the Maximilan Hotel. Pros: 1-location is very close to old town square and other major points of interest 2- the breakfast was very good. They offered a nice selection as well as several made to order selections. 3- the in room complimentary dvd rentals were a nice touch. 4- We had a very early departure and they packed a very nice breakfast for us to take..This was very appreciated . Now for the negatives: 1- the room was DEFINITELY not of 4 star quality...it was 3 stars at best..the pillows were very lumpy ..honestly the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever slept on..the bed was ok but, again, not a 4 star hotel bed...the room was on the small side and not well appointed at all. As far as the hotel staff, most of them, including the breakfast staff were very nice and helpful. However, we found Daila to be quite cold .She gave us the impression that the guests were an interruption..We read about how the goldfish are offered upon arrival. She never offered one. On the second day we had asked for one and she said "sorry, we have none available".This may seem like a trivial complaint but they make a big deal about the goldfish on the hotel website and then dismiss you when you ask for one . Overall I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a true 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear happytravelers87,

Please allow us to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are truly grateful for your comments regarding all the features you liked and enjoyed here, such as our location, breakfast, complimentary DVD selection and our breakfast-to-go package.
As for the negative points of your review, we were sorry to read that you didn't find the size of your room and the style of the pillows to your liking. Regarding our goldfish, we regret not having been able to provide you with one due to lack of availability.
Concerning your experience with Dalila, I have personally addressed and informed her about your feedback. She is extremely sorry and we assure you that we will do our best to avoid such negative experiences in the future, and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Thank you once more for sharing your review with us.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,463 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing