We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way!”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Maximilian Hotel, Prague City. We arrived on 29th December for the new year and had the best New Year ever!. I booked flights early on in the year and spent months trying to research the hotels in the local area and settled on Maximilian - best choice by far. We had an amazing time and will definitely be returning next year with family.

Not having been to Prague before and being slightly overwhelmed by the number of hotels available I spent many months researching accommodation and travel options in Prague. We chose to use the hotel's chauffeur service both on arrival and on our return journey which went smoothly unlike some people's experience of using a taxi outside the airport. We arrived promptly in our hotel and was greeted by Jacob on reception. He booked us in quickly and directed us to our room [with church view - room 306], which was lovely. Max our goldfish was waiting for us and the room was warm which was lovely on such a cold day. Jacob made restaurant recommendations and booked tables for us and was always on hand to assist us with any questions throughout our stay..

We booked directly through the hotel where the rates included breakfast. Again we were not disappointed. Breakfast was delightful and a good choice of foods were available. Although I was tempted by the freshly made scrambled eggs and salmon every morning followed by fresh pancakes. Andreas the restaurant manager gave exceptional service to us and even arranged for a bottle of champagne and chocolates in our room to celebrate our engagement on New Years Eve - this was a lovely personal touch and a lovely surprise - another example of how Maximilian staff make you feel welcome.

With regard to location, Maximilian is perfect. Just outside the old town but only 5 minutes walk away from the old town and Christmas markets, restaurants, shops and bars.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel that gives outstanding service and is ideally located just outside the old town, you should look no further than Maximilian!! The Hotel Manager and Staff should be proud of what they have created - it was perfection in every way! We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 306 has a church view, bath with shower over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Softtopchick_12,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your New Year's celebration, as well as for taking the time to write and post your really nice and detailed feedback on our TripAdvisor page.

It was delightful to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and it makes us happy to know that you were satisfied with your room and liked our goldfish, and that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.

Our entire team would like to congratulate to you on your engagement, and we are pleased to know that we could be your host for such a special occasion.

Thank you once more for your wonderful feedback, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay this year!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our experience with Maximilian started weeks prior to the actual stay when we received a couple of emails with recommendations to restaurants we could dine at during the festive period, which the staff also promptly helped make reservations for. Upon arrival, we were expecting to not be able to check in since it was only 7 in the morning but to our surprise, the staff actually had our room ready. Overall, I'd say it was a memorable stay at Maximilian mainly due to the impeccable service and quirky twist the hotel offers (e.g. Honesty Bar and the pet gold fish!). Not forgetting the great location - tucked away in a quiet part of Old Town, yet still very accessible on foot. We will definitely return to Maximilian the next time we're in Prague and highly recommend it to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecinriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear ecinriv,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated our assistance with dinner reservations and that your room was ready for your early arrival in the morning. It is our goal to exceed our guests' expectations and that is why it makes us really happy to know that we managed to make your stay so memorable.
We truly hope you will be visiting us again very soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location is perfect because it's so close to everything, but at the same time - the hotel itself is located on a quite street. Even on New Year's Eve, we had no issues with the noise. Loved the breakfast, honesty bar, the seating area with the fireplace, books and free DVDs for rental. Loved the sunken bathtub and comfortable bed. What really made our stay in Prague a great experience was the staff at Maximillian, Sonia at the front desk took care of all our requests effortlessly, Tomas and Andrej were very helpful and friendly and made us feel so welcomed.
They really went out of their way and took very good care of us. The staff at Maximillian were the friendliest people we met in Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Beachlove08,

Many thanks for your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page, as well as for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel in Prague.
It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay here and we honestly appreciate your kind feedback regarding all the features you liked here. We would especially like to thank you for your kind recognition of our staff for their efforts in making your stay a pleasant one - everyone sends their best regards to you and they are grateful that you mentioned them in your comments.
We would be happy to see you again here!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel! We took the airport shuttle into the city and walked about 15 minutes which gave us the chance to sightsee along the way. Room was very spacious and very clean, the staff were very friendly and the bellhop was so helpful. There was a short circuit in our room and the power went out and the hotel maintenance attended to it within 3 minutes of us calling reception. It's close to the main square and other attractions if you don't mind walking and experiencing the city on foot. Breakfast was great - in addition to the buffet spread, each day had additional breakfast items which were made to order. Great lounges to wait in if you have checked out and there is time till your flight. Free wifi, although it was a bit slow at times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denice l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear denice l,

Please allow me to thank you on behalf of the entire team for leaving your kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page. I will make sure that your comments will be shared with everyone.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A great location. Tucked away so quiet but only 5 mins to the main streets.
All the staff were helpful particularly the breakfast staff. The breakfasts were buffet style but every taste covered. Timing of breakfast 630-1130 meant that there were no queues.
The rooms of a high standard.
I ordered the taxi to and from the airport which worked well.
A great stay - thank you.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Andrew B,

We were delighted to read your kind comments - a huge thanks for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page!
It makes us really happy to know that you had a great time here and enjoyed our facilities.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Loved our stay at the Maximilian in Prague's old town !! Kind and helpful staff Great little details like afternoon tea served in the Honesty Bar free of charge!.Excellent breakfast included in the rate, which is unusual these days Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansfalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, General Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear hansfalada,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor and also for having chosen the Maximilian Hotel for your stay in Prague. Your review is a great motivation for our entire team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Apart from being very modern and ‘hip’ (with an offer of an in-room pet fish, in case you miss your pet at home!), this hotel has some of the best customer service I have ever experienced! A few weeks prior to our arrival we received an email offering help with booking transfers, restaurants and spa treatments. The staff were patient and accommodating, answering queries in detail. Therefore upon arrival we had cars, dinners and a pamper package all organised, without doing a thing! This was very helpful.
During our stay the staff offered smiles and were always willing to help. Which was absolutely lovely!
I went on an early morning jog, organised by the hotel and got to see the city in a different way, another great touch.
Thank you Maximilian Hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Pauline927,

Thank you so much for posting your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page! We always strive for excellence in our service, therefore we are really proud to hear that you were so satisfied with so many aspects of your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We will be looking forward to seeing you again here in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,715 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 646 in Prague
1,756 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 646 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $96 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing