We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I selected Maximilian Hotel based on past TA reviews & I was very pleased! The rooms are comfortable & spacious (for Europe). The addition of the goldfish to the room was a very special touch! The breakfast in the morning was superb....plenty of options! The location was ideal being just a short walk to the astronomical clock area. Free Wifi also added to the convenience of the property. Overall, I would highly recommend Maximilian!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMBgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear dmbgal,

Thank you for recommending the Maximilian Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here and found so many aspects to your liking.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

I will stay here any time I come to prague! It is in a great location, a few minutes walk from the center of old town. The staff was very helpful, they called the airport for us (twice) when our luggage was lost. The free breakfast is probably the best free breakfast I have ever had, there is a room with free coffee, tea and snacks, free water and tea in the lobby, free wifi and a free computer in the lobby. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is an old building, but renovated to be very modern. I dont have a single negative comment about this hotel and cannot say enough good things about it. I absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear NYCJulie,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comment on our TripAdvisor page.
It was great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Maximilian Hotel and we truly appreciate your kind comments regarding all the features you liked here.
We would be happy to see you again any time you come back to Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Maximillian's strong points are it's excellent central and cozy location right in Josefov in the old town. From here you can walk just about anywhere in the center if walking is not a problem for you. Otherwise, trams are just a couple of blocks away and the nearest metro stations are roughly a 5 minute walk. I've made over 15 trips to Prague and have tried almost as many hotels, apartments, etc, mainly I because I work with tourism and enjoy trying out different hotels. During the winter, especially at Christmas time, I prefer to stay right in the old town because it's simply more cozy (not to mention when there's a layer of snow everywhere and brightened by charming Christmas decorations).
The second strong point for Maximillian is their breakfast. It's not the best breakfast I've ever had, but it is excellent. Especially their specials of the day, such as blueberry pancakes or french toast etc. The smoothies are also a nice touch.
The rooms are good, but not as good as they could be. The first night I stayed in a regular room, but upgraded to a superior room for the remaining three nights. The Bose ipod docking station is very nice to have, as is the Nespresso machine. For someone like me who always starts their day with three espresso's at home, it's nice to be able to have an espresso in your room without having to wait until breakfast. Having a little fish friend was actually more fun than I imagined.
The weaker points were the staff. They all seemed a bit 'machine' like. I realize they want to appear professional but being professional doesn't mean you can't show some personality either. Even after four nights there, I never felt the slightest connection with any of them. In fact I got to the point where walking through the reception area and the breakfast room were the least favorite aspects of staying there because they were just so stiff and impersonal. Another negative point was when I asked about upgrading the first night (after arriving into the first room), the guy at the front desk quite curtly asked me why I didn't book a superior room to start with if that's what I wanted.
Overall, I would still recommend Maximillian Hotel to other people because I feel it is an overall good hotel in a great location. But, since there are so many great hotels to choose from in Prague, I will probably try a different one when I go back in December, as I did this past July.

Room Tip: If a Nespresso machine and Bose docking station are important to you, upgrade to a Superior room, ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear smokva,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review about the Maximilian Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you liked our location and amenities offered in the rooms.
Regarding your negative points, it is our aim to make our guests feel welcomed and provide service that is friendly but professional at the same time, therefore we were sorry to hear about your experience here.
We truly hope that you had a nice holiday in Prague.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My sister and I had an unbelievable stay here in August. The hotel is modern, clean, and new-looking. The room was a bit small but was perfect for our needs. It is just a few minutes walk to the Old Town Square. The service is what really stood out here. They helped us with whatever we asked for. Mike in particular was extremely helpful in giving us directions and making sure our stay went as smoothly as possible. Would most definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tova L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Tova L,

We were so happy to read your positive feedback about your stay at the Maximilian Hotel in August, thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor!
It makes us proud to know that you were satisfied with the location, service and liked so many features of the hotel, and we are especially grateful for your kind recognition of our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Interesting hotel, with quick access to transport e.g. hop on- hop off bus and tourist precincts, and excellent WIFI service. Our room was fine, and extra pillows, teabags and ice were provided on request. Breakfast certainly set us up for the day with a delicious variety of fruits, breads and cooked breakfasts available (try the berry smoothie!)
We were suffering from a nasty virus during our 4 day visit so the chocolates and strawberries on arrival were a lovely touch. We also appreciated the well appointed library to relax and read the papers and drool over the interior design books. There was also an 'honesty bar', a pleasant lounge where you can help yourself to a drink at any time and charge it to your room. Free coffee and cake is served at 5 pm, and one evening they had local cheeses and wine tasting - delicious and a good chance to talk with the staff and other guests.

Special tip: we had 2 weeks worth of washing to do which was going to cost a fortune at the hotel. When we explained this, the staff member recommended a laundry about 50m from the hotel. After weighing in our clothes and using sign language to pay a premium for the 1 day service, we got all our beautifully folded clothes back the next day for about AUD$16 - a bargain! They were very busy as many local people do not have laundry facilities in their homes.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bandicoots2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Bandicoots2013,

Thank you so much for your kind review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
We were happy to hear that you appreciated the welcome treat in your room and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our daily 5 o'clock coffee and tea presentation and wine and cheese tasting on Wednesday.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We decided to book a room for 2 nights in Prague at this hotel based on the reviews and the listing we found here on TripAdvisor. We filtered our search to include Luxury Hotels only. This one popped up and we found another important detail about staying in Prague is secure parking, since we read that many cars were being broken into and stolen. We were assured that this hotel had very secure parking, it had a great location and it got the great reviews!! They did in fact have very secure parking and we paid dearly for that amenity. The only good thing about this hotel other than the parking is the location. Its about a 5-10 min walk to Old Town, very desirable. We had a King bed for 2 people. The bed was hard, we each had a Euro Sham type pillow and then a really small, sort of travel size pillow-weird! There was a radiator in the bathroom, but no other heating or AC in the room. The bathroom has no magnified mirror, we were given only 1 cheap towel each and the hair dryer, while did not look old, was old technology. It weighed about 20 pounds and you had to depress the on button all the time to keep it going, very inconvenient for us since we have long thick hair. Our room was to include a Nespresso machine which I would guess is like our Keurig at home. It didn't have a coffee machine at all, but there were 2 packets of instant coffee and a kettle to boil water. Some milk in the little disposable cups was left in the mini bar for us. We had tea the first day and when we came in that night, the housekeeping service had not washed the mugs, replenished any of the supplies or done anything about that. We had to call to get more supplies and they showed up with Nespresso cups for the machine we did not have in our room. I can't think how other reviewers gave this hotel such a high rating unless they are from Prague and are accustomed to austere rooms. As Americans that are well traveled, we felt this hotel did not even deserve 3 stars. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The lobby by the way... when you walk in, you think you're walking into the lobby of a business office, there are two regular work desks, not like a typical check in counter in a usual hotel lobby. We would not ever stay there again unless we couldn't find another place that could assure us that our car would still be in the parking lot when we check out. It definitely is NOT a luxury hotel and in our opinion, definitely not worthy of the glowing reviews we found on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: I couldn't say since we only stayed in the one room. I think it was the only room on the 6th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reno-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to constantly increase our level of service. We will work hard on improving upon the items you mentioned. Once again thank you for staying with us.

Luke Bodenschatz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was a short walk 5 to 8 minutes from the old city. The interior was very modern and nice and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butch J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Butchbob,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay at the Maximilian Hotel.
It is delightful to know that you had a great time here and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,697 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 646 in Prague
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,542 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 646 in Prague
1,728 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $114 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing