We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Maximilian Hotel for a few days before Thanksgiving with my girlfriend and we had a lovely time.

First, the hotel staff was attentive and helpful. For example, we had made a reservation at a local restaurant and wanted to change the time. I called the hotel but, as I did not speak Czech, could not communicate with the restaurant. I went downstairs and asked the concierge, Tomas, to assist me. He gladly called the restaurant and moved the reservation. Tomas helped us several times during our trip and really helped make our stay perfect.

Second, our room was romantic and lovely. While we did not book a room with a Church view, the hotel staff gladly provided one upon request, and the view was beautiful. We were also provided a goldfish, named Lucy, to stay with us during our trip. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and clean. Everything in the room was perfect.

Third, the amenities at the hotel were phenomenal. Before we booked, we checked other reviews and they all discussed the free breakfast. Well it did not disappoint. They had everything you could ask for: eggs, bacon, sausage, cheeses, danish, toast, pancakes, crepes, and even a fruit smoothie upon request. The morning breakfast really added a nice beginning each day.

Fourth, the location was perfect. The hotel is located about a five minute walk to the Olde Town Square, but it is also on a very quiet street. So it offers great proximity to all of the sites while also being in a quiet part of town.

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and absolutely loved it. It was romantic, well positioned, with great staff and amenities. We could not have asked for more during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettG791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Brett G,

Thank you for such nice and detailed feedback, and for writing about so many details that made your stay pleasant at the Maximilian Hotel!
It is delightful to know that you found our staff attentive and helpful. Thank you also for mentioning how much you liked our breakfast, the amenities, the location of the hotel and our goldfish.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    488
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
359
1,181
137
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel is well located and the staff were great. They happily made a few reservations for us and great suggestions for restaurants. The room was comfortable and the hotel amenities were appreciated - the coffee bar was a great touch, but can get smokey. While we don't typically get a room with breakfast included, the breakfast option was nice and surprisingly convenient and good.

Enjoyed the hotel and would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseTheTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear ChaseTheTravels,

Thank you for posting your review on our TripAdvisor page!
It is delightful to know that you had a pleasant stay here, and that you liked our breakfast, the Honesty Bar and the service provided by our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We loved Hotel Maximilian. VERY modern, a spa. Build for comfort and convenience. Snacks and tea upon arrival. Free coffee and tea and strudel in the evening. Terrific location- five minutes from the Old Town Square. Good price, friendly staff. They didn't "nickel and dime" you to death: terrific breakfast is included, Nespresso free in the rooms, water carafe provided with a message *encouraging* you to drink from the tap as the water in Prague is the cleanest in Europe, comfy bathrobes, umbrellas for your use. Free internet use. They think of everything. They even say they'll provide a GOLDFISH to you if you miss your pet! Very impressed. Little steep car service to the airport, but we used another company on the way home and save ten bucks. Right near "the Red Wheel" restaurant, 50 meters away, that was AWESOME. Loved our stay! Funny, our only complaint is that the two pillows provided for each person, one was too small and one was too big. I'm not being whiney, you'll see!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear MNataro,

Thank you for such a nice and detailed review!
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you liked so many details from the very beginning, such as the complimentary snacks and tea upon check-in, the strudel in our Honesty Bar in the afternoon, the Nespresso machine in your room and our breakfast. It was great to read that you were impressed by the idea of the goldfish, and thank you also for mentioning how friendly our staff were.
We hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Maximilian Hotel!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadima
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is quite possibly one of the nicest, most accommodating places I've stayed in some 20 years of business and pleasure travel all over the world. A true four-star, good size rooms, immaculately clean, modern and minutely attentive to the little details that make a good hotel a GREAT hotel.

The location is awesome (3 minutes to Old Town Square), and the staff are simply friendly, nice people that are happy to help. Two thumbs up - and a hearty hat tip to a management that really gets what service means!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Steven G,

Thank you for your nice feedback, and for mentioning our freindly and helpful staff. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay here, and that you liked your room and the location of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel can be considered one of the best in Prague. The breakfast is great, there is a very complete buffet and you can also order from a menu. Staff very well prepared, everybody speaking perfect English. The room is of a decent size, not very big, but OK. There is an iPod dock from Boose, wine glasses, a frigobar, etc. Bathroom Ok. Free Internet access. The only thing thatbwas not that good is the garage, small with a few spots and a little expensive (EUR 25 per night). I would stay there again, and I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atilio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Atilio A,

Thank you for taking your time to post a recommendation on our TripAdvisor page. We were happy to read your nice feedback about our team, breakfast, room and complimentary WiFi connection. We would love to see you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed there for a 2 days tourism trip. The hotel was ideally located, and the staff very dynamic and helpful. High quality standards but good value. The hotel is modern but in the heart of the historical center. Very clean rooms. The transportation from/to the airport was provided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear tibifr,

Thank you for your nice review! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your weekend trip in Prague and in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the best hotels I have stayed in amongst all the countries I travelled . Extremely great and friendly staff. High quality standards. Reception open 24 hrs.food was great. Location is great. Even at higher costs I do not think you can get a better hotel!
I wish the staff and the management all the very best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahoul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Rahoul J,

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 649 in Prague
2,463 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing