We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #30 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Friendly Staff”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We came to this hotel unintentionally having following our booked hotel over booking and then claiming the room was flooded. The hotel Maximilian is well located a few minutes walk from the city centre close to a tram stop and has everything you can ask of a hotel. The breakfast offers a great choice with different specials each day. We also particularly liked the honesty bar and free and tea and coffee in the lounge.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian19650715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Ian19650715,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here, despite the fact that the Maximilian Hotel wasn't your initial choice. Thank you also for mentioning our breakfast, location and the complimentary tea and coffee in our Honesty bar.
We definitely look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    466
    45
    16
    4
See reviews for
328
1,106
132
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed in the Maximillian for 2 nights when on a business trip to Prague. The hotel is centrally located, 5 minutes walk away from the Old town square and the republic square (metro). Very good breakfast buffet with a lot of choice. Rooms are clean and modern looking. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful (they even helped me find a public transport connection at 11pm for the next day).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inimini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear inimini86,

Thank you for your nice review on our TripAdvisor page!
It is delightful to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff. We are glad that you liked our location, breakfast and rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you here again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maximilian for 4 nights and what a superb hotel.
Location was on the edge of the Old Town and Jewish quarter and to walk to the river, republic square or wencelas Square was only 10 mins.
breakfast was great and we want to thank Lyuba for her very attentive service.There was a large selection of food plus the Chef cooked everything from frsh omelettes to eggs benedict.
Rooms fairly spacious and beautiful sheets/towels.
There is a library and also a "Honesty" bar with a nice lounge area and free coffee/cake for those afternoons when you walk back inside after a six hour day exploring and you just want to sit with a coffee or wine/beer.
Reception staff were helpful at all times.
Would definetely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Jane T,

Thank you for writing such a nice review!
We were happy to read that you liked our location, breakfast, the room and the lounge areas. Thank you also for mentioning how helpful and attentive our staff were.
If you are planning to visit Prague again, it would definitely be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Maximilian Hotel.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I just got back from two nights at this fabulously located, very pleasant hotel. We had a wonderful trip, and enjoyed a lot about the hotel itself - and the nearby highly-recommended U cerveného kola restaurant (By The Red Wheel), which was simply outstanding.

My gripe is that, despite having followed the hotel's recommendation and spent the extra for a 'Superior' room to allow enough room for the sofa to be made into a bed for my son, there was simply not enough space to spend any time in the room: insufficient area, not particularly well set out.

On the plus, this is the first time I've ever been offered a goldfish (which we named Vaclav) for the duration of our stay. My son LOVED that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

* Long and excellent breakfast (buffet, coffee, á la carte menu, all free). Long opening hours. Frea, real, freshly grinded coffee for breakfast in the usual forms: cappucino, latte, espresso etc. Free, decorative, freshly prepared á la carte dishes for breakfast.
* Free wifi in the lobby and in the rooms. Very fast internet. Wired internet (ethernet cable) is also available for free in the room.
* Free self-service coffee using a Nespresso machine in the room.
* Free self-service tea and coffee in the lobby bar. Freshly grinded caffee of good quality.
* Self-service (but not free) alcoholic drinks and bottled soft drinks in the lobby bar. Honesty bar: register your consumption, and pay at check-out time.
* Check-out time is at noon, there is plenty of time for breakfast.
* Located at the edge of the historic city center of Prague, the main square is in 10 minutes walking distance. Dozens of excellent bars and restaurants in walking distance (1 ... 10 minutes).
* Free sauna and gym with long opening hours in a partner hotel in walking distance (5 minutes). Free drinks and apples in the sauna. The sauna can only seat 4 people, so sometimes there is a queue.
* No sauna, steam rooms, hot bath, spa or swimming pool in the hotel. The wellness center is only for pay-by-the-hour cosmetic and wellness treatments.
* Receptionists and waiters are nice, patient and helpful. They solve problems extremely quickly.
* Even the normal room is very spacious, with huge mirrors, sofa, chair, desk, large bed, TV.
* Spacious bathroom with a bathtub.
* Free goldfish (upon request) in a small fish tank in the room. The oxygen pump for the fish tank produces some noise, but it's not disturbing during the night.
* Nicely decorated lounge with comfortable armchairs and sofas, album books and contemporary paintings and other small artistic installations.
* No sign of ripping off tourists.
* Not the cheapest, but well worth the price.

We were spoiled by the excellent facilities and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptsptspts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear ptsptspts,

Thank you for recommending our hotel on Tripadvisor and for giving us such detailed feedback!
We appreciate that you mentioned so many facilities and services available here, for example the Nespresso machines, our self-service Honesty Bar, the refreshments in the lobby, the sauna in our sister property, the long opening hours of our breakfast and the features of the room. It was great to read that you liked staff‘s service and the location, and that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you also for writing about our goldfish.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location just 5 mins stroll to the Old Town Square. Really smart and well appointed rooms. Beds are huge and lovely duvets. One of the best hotel breakfasts ever and the eggs benedict are excellent (made to order). The staff are just brilliant and really helpful (car service to/from the airport is perfect). We had a problem with the room and it was sorted instantly and professionally. Loved the goldfish too! Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squeaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Squeaksy,

Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor!
We were happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here, and that you liked the room, our breakfast, the hotel car service and our goldfish. Thank you also for mentioning the helpful attitude of our front office team.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Maximilian for 7 nights in a Superior Deluxe Church View room mid- October and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a great location in Old Town near good restaurants and the sights. The room was quite spacious, clean and had a nice view of an old church. The breakfast that they provide is outstanding. In addition to the fruit, eggs, breads and cereals you can get omelets, quiche, pancakes, porridge and great tasting coffee and juice. The staff (especially Tomas, Andrea and Dalila) at this hotel is top notch. Andrea and Dalila were very friendly and accommodating and made excellent recommendations for tours and restaurants and helped us with reservations for all of our activities. We really wanted to take in a Czech league hockey game and Tomas made it happen for us, providing us schedule information for the games as well as instructions and directions for transportation to the TipSport Arena and back. When our flight from Prague to Paris was cancelled Hotel Maximilian was able to accommodate us by extending our stay one more day and Tomas helped us coordinate with the hotel in Paris as well. Robes, slippers, free in-room Wi-Fi and coffee/espresso are provided as well. The only knock would be that the bed was too firm for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFO223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximilianHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear JFO223,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your nice review! We are delighted that you mentioned so many details you liked during your stay here, such as our front desk staff’s great service – we are always glad to assist our guests and provide them with personal recommendations. Last but not least thank you also for mentioning our location, breakfast and all the small details in the room.
We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Maximilian Hotel.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 670 in Prague
1,620 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 670 in Prague
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
1,244 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 670 in Prague
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing