We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #30 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was the best hotel I stayed in on my recent 6-country trip through Eastern Europe.

First, the location is good: right in Old Town but not on an obnoxiously crowded square. There are stores and restaurants (and a huge beer hall called Lokal) within the block.

Second, the hotel itself is cool. The rooms aren't large but they're well appointed and decorated with good taste. And there are all sorts of nice touches. My room had an espresso maker in it. You can request a pet gold fish for the length of your stay. The room came with a huge comfy robe and slippers. The wifi was excellent.

Third, the service was great. The people at the front desk were tremendous; the cleaning staff were not intrusive. And the breakfast buffet was the best I had in all my travels. They had a bit of everything.

There is access to a spa and fitness centre, but I didn't use them. There are two lounges, one for smokers, that have an "honour bar" so you can grab a drink and just sign for it.

I didn't want to leave. I will definitely return to this hotel the next time I'm in Prague.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to write review. It is very nice to read such a good feedback.
I hope I will have chance to see you in Maximilian in future again.

Martin Jambor
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    476
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
340
1,138
133
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Definitely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Extremely friendly staff. Great design, neat and minimalistic. Good size room. Very clean. Amazing breakfast buffet. Great location. Great value for money. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldfish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your stay in Maximilian. Thank you for your time which you took to write this review.

Martin Jambor
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hotel is situated in very good location, only 5 minutes walk from Astronomical clock and about 10 minutes from Charles bridge. Breakfast was excellent and lounge areas were very nice. But then, what comes to room and service...We booked 4 nights and stayed at red house on 6th floor (superior deluxe room 647). It was far away from deluxe. Expectations were high, cause the hotel is part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and that's the reason we booked this hotel. Floor carpet was very dirty and there were stale smell at the room. In first night we also had problems with air condition system. There were freezing cold in our room. The controlpanel didn't work at all. When we called reception (had to do it twice before somebody came to our room at 11 pm). They were quite rude to us and just turned air condition off and told us "hopefully it will be better"...Well, it helped, but at the morning stale smell was very bad. Then we complained once again in the morning, then finally they got it work (as well as broken shower, which was showering towards the wall). They didn't also warn us "rush hours" of showering times and during showering water pressure went down and there came no water at all, it was not so nice, when having shampoos on hair...We called the reception once again (because didn't know about the rush hours) and got answers "just wait for 20 minutes, then it will be better...well my hair was pure clean after that waiting..). There were also lacks in cleaning. They didn't replace vanity kits or coffee creamer when those were used. At the time of checking out, they were not interested in how we had enjoy our stay at Maximilian at all. When we told once again about things that happened during our stay, there were only sorry and we got the feeling that they just wanted us to leave.. There were no compensation at all during our stay. We wonder, how this hotel can be part of SLH with this level of service and rooms, but maybe we just faced persons with bad day and got the worst superior deluxe room, what they got.... Overall stay there was far away from expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinlandHeidiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. Unfortunatelly, as I can see we did not satisfy you at all. I remember one day when we had a water pressure problem on the six floor last week . There was actually problem in the whole city centre of Prague that morning. It doesnt make any excuse , I just wanted to mention it.

It is absolutelly unacceptable how the reception staff dealt with the situation and surely action will be taken to make sure it won't happen again.

I will be personally happy to invite you again to Maximilian and show to you that we can do it in a different way as you can read on most of our reviews. We are truly focusing on the high level of service and I hope you will have a chance in the future to experience it.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Martin Jambor
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had a very brief stay the Maximilian. It was long enough for me to be reassured that when I return to the enchanting Prague, I will be staying there again. My room was on the small side --I was by myself so it was not an issue for me. The bed comfy, the bathroom clean and modern. I requested a non-smoking room. Which they told me it was...i was however, not on the designated non-smoking floor and as you walk through the small hall it had the unpleasant stale smoke smell. My room smelled a bit as well...I did ask the front desk about it and they offered to move me....it wasn't that bad so I stayed...but if you are sensitive make sure to ask to stay on the non-smoking floor... I would say the only other issue with the room was no alarm clock!! It would be really nice as a traveler to have a clock in the room with the time.....
The breakfast was fantastic...fresh, bountiful and included with the price of the room...very impressed.
The staff were very professional and very nice....
I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the second time within a year. LOVE THIS PLACE. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast is THE BOMB. One of the best breakfast I have had in my business and vacation travels. The hotel staff wants to make sure you are happy during your stay and will take care of any issues - if you have any.
Will be back again to visit Prague and will be looking forward to our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMPSTCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stolberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Overall a very pleasant stay, excellent friendly and discreet staff, small and cozy sitting area, free wifi, free coffee and tea with biscuits, free mineralwater, excellent breakfast in the light "Wintergarden" with fresh orange juice and meal to order.
The room is medium-sized, the bathroom well appointed. Two drawbacks: One of the electric shutters did not work and the curtain did not darken the room sufficiently; solution: A curtain that really keeps the light out. There is no closed wardrobe but only open shelves with our socks and underwear on display. I would suggest an easy solution: A roller blind which can be pulled down over the shelves if desired.
When we complained about the shutters, the manager offered to upgrade us and sent a bottle of sparkling wine to our room.
Modern and tasteful, yet the corridor to the rooms looks more like a back entrance. The famous architect who designed the hotel probably wanted to be original...
A pleasant boutique hotel in the center of the old town with many restaurants of which we highly recommend "Nostress" in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelgaKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Maximilian Hotel was sleek and modern, clean and comfortable. It was close to Old Town Square- 5 minutes walking distance, but removed enough to be quiet at night for a peaceful sleep. We went on the buy two, get one night free deal and liked it so much we came back for two separate one night stays later in our trip. Fabulous breakfast buffet included, and even the things on the menu were no extra charge. Free wifi, free to-go espresso in the lobby in the morning, free juice and delicious flavored water in the afternoon, and great and friendly staff. When we left and it was raining the lobby staff even offered us free umbrellas to take away. Side note- they can sell you metro tickets here and add it )no padded charge) to your bill. This is convenient if you have only large bills or no change for the machines at the stations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you.
Come back to us again in September or October where the weather is quite steady and Prague is lovely in autumn. We will do our best to make your stay perfect.

Martin Jambor , Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing