We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for walks”

StaromEstske namEsti
Ranked #2 of 1,029 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The most significant square of historical Prague, it was founded in the 12th century and has been witness to many historical events. In addition to the Old Town Hall and the Church of Our Lady before Týn, the square is dominated by the Baroque Church of St Nicholas, the Rococo Kinský Palace, the Gothic House at the Stone Bell and the monument to Jan Hus. In the pavement of the square are memorial stones marking the execution of 27 Czech lords in 1621, and the Prague meridian.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 23, 2013

You will love to get lost in the small streets and find very interesting lokals. Yo can find Hard Rock cafe there as well and try the brewery By trhee roses!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank MVidenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"astronomical clock"
in 3,756 reviews
"christmas market"
in 862 reviews
"street performers"
in 695 reviews
"food stalls"
in 275 reviews
"beautiful architecture"
in 572 reviews
"fairy tale"
in 438 reviews
"walk around"
in 316 reviews
"every hour"
in 389 reviews
"hot wings"
in 265 reviews
"sausage"
in 265 reviews
"charles bridge"
in 789 reviews
"visit prague"
in 276 reviews
"tourists"
in 2,475 reviews
"church"
in 2,014 reviews
"europe"
in 1,010 reviews
"pickpockets"
in 401 reviews
"tower"
in 1,032 reviews
Filter

22,246 - 22,250 of 53,688 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you like Venice Beach, Times Square and Mall of America then you'll love Old Town Square. Street performers, cops, and tons of people abound. It's crowded with tourists and it's the only place in eastern Europe I moved my wallet from my back pocket to my front. Expect to pay tourists prices.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A brilliant blend of history and lively restaurants and shops, the atmosphere is electric. Very busy, but this added to the vibe, and there were plenty bars to stop for a well earned beer.

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We were able to visit this square on a day basis as it was very close to our hotel, and easily accessible on foot. Whether during the day or at night it never ceased to amaze me how
many people seemed to be dallying around! Couples groups and organised tours flocked to see the baroque style architecture and the clock within the clock - though it must be said ...the crowds who waited in anticipation prior to the striking of every hour was not terribly impressive.... To us of to the majority of on-lookers.... It was obvious that a lot of folks didn't feel the wait was worthwhile.
Whilst we were in Prague we noticed with interest the building of a stage in the square centre - it turned out that a jazz festival was to take place there on the Thursday night. We went back to participate and enjoyed the entertainment very much indeed.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did a three day trip to Prague and this was the first destination that we went to. Old town is filled with so much history and things to do... From horse driven carriage rides to feeding the pigeons, there is something for everyone

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StaromEstske namEsti also viewed

 

Been to StaromEstske namEsti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing