We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "free" stay in Prague, courtesy of Hilton HHonors...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Prague Old Town
Ranked #94 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My husband and I just completed a nine night excursion to Dresden, Poland, and Prague in honor of our sixth wedding anniversary. The city of Prague in the Czech Republic is a city that we both wanted to see, but going there also served a practical purpose. My husband is a member of the Hilton HHonors program and, over the course of several years taking TDY trips for the U.S. military, he had amassed a number of Hilton HHonors points that he needed to use or lose. Since Prague was close to the two other places we wanted to visit, it seemed a natural choice to use the points on a reservation at Hilton Prague Old Town, one of Prague's two Hilton hotels.

Why I decided to book Hilton Prague Old Town over the Hilton Prague...

I'm the type of person who likes to stay in small but original hotels. The Hilton chain very much caters to business travelers. It's very corporate, so I knew no matter which hotel I chose, it wouldn't exactly be an intimate experience. Both Hilton Prague and Hilton Prague Old Town offer a lot of amenities, especially for business travelers. However, Hilton Prague Old Town was just renovated last summer and isn't as large as the Hilton Prague is. It's also located closer to the downtown area.

Our arrival

We arrived at the Hilton Prague Old Town at about 1:30pm, close to the 2:00pm check in time. My husband parked our car in front of the hotel while I waited. A few minutes later, he came out and we started to unload our luggage. A bell hop approached us and asked if we needed help. My husband said yes, but he wanted to park the car first. The bellhop offered to park for us and take our bags to our room. That was very helpful... I'm not sure why we didn't expect it in the first place.

Our room

We were given room 426, which was a corner room located close to the elevators. The room was decorated in a very modern style, with a nice king sized bed with reading lights, a huge flat screen TV with a variety of channels, pay per view movies (including porn), and Internet TV, telephone, and a minibar. We had a very nice, large window. Unfortunately, our view was mostly of an alley. There was a desk in the corner of the room, which included a cable for Internet access. Hilton Prague Old Town offers Internet access in three levels/connection speeds, but the cheapest level is about $25 a day. We used the lowest level and found it adequate for our needs. The minibar was, not surprisingly, extremely overpriced. We're talking $6 for a can of Coke.

The bathroom

The bathroom in our room was very small, but it included a combination tub and shower. There was one sink and a toilet, of course. Next to the toilet was another phone. I found myself wondering how many people are so busy that they have to use the phone while they're in the bathroom. The bathroom was stocked with toiletries from Crabtree and Evelyn. Two worn looking bathrobes with slippers hung on the wall. The robes were surprisingly shabby, with belts that were pretty torn up. I was surprised they hadn't been retired.

Food

Hilton Prague Old Town has a restaurant called Maze, which was inspired by Chef Gordon Ramsay, who apparently has a similar restaurant in London. We didn't try it, since we wanted to try some of Prague's local eateries instead. Maze also handles room service, which we also didn't use. Breakfast is served, but we didn't try it because it was expensive.

Health club

Hilton Prague Old Town has a small health club that offers locker rooms, treadmills, ellipticals, and free weights. There's also a textile free sauna and steam room, as well as a tiny indoor pool. We tried the pool and enjoyed it, as it has a very powerful jet that offers a good workout and a massage. Speaking of massages, they can be arranged for a price through the health club. There's also a solarium which can be accessed for a fee.

Service

On our first day in Prague, two housekeepers knocked on our door. We opened the door and one of the ladies said, "Small gift!" They had brought us a bowl of fresh, sweet strawberries and a bottle of Czech sparkling wine. There was also a letter from the hotel manager, congratulating us on our 30th wedding anniversary! Of course, if we had actually been married for 30 years, I would have been a six year old bride and my husband would have been a 14 year old groom. Still, it was a very nice gesture that gave us a laugh.

The housekeeper didn't get around to cleaning our room until mid afternoon on the second day. Since we had just come from a walk around Prague and didn't feel like leaving again, we asked for fresh towels and toiletries, and she gladly obliged. We noted that she looked a little harried, as if she was behind in her work.

We came back from dinner both nights to find our bed turned down for us and chocolates left on our pillows. The drapes were also drawn. We were also given complimentary bottles of water each night. The bed was very comfortable, with four huge feather pillows and a soft duvet.

Check out

Check out was pretty easy. Once we paid for our one day Internet usage and parking, we were on our way.

Overall

We had a wonderful time in Prague and I'd like to visit again, though next time I might choose a different hotel. It's nothing at all against Hilton... I just prefer smaller, more intimate hotels. Still, since we used Hilton HHonors points to pay for our stay, I can say we were pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank knotheadusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,222)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Prague Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,547 - 2,553 of 3,222 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Old Town in Prague for only one night.
The room was good, so was check in. I still can't understand how and why I had to add 30% to the final bill.
The hotel is in a sort of OK location, there is no breakfast.
All in all it is a very expensive hotel that doesn't justify it's price.
There are better 5 stars and 4 stars hotels to stay in Prague. We will not return there!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton Prague Old Town for 6 nights in October with my husband and our 14 month old daughter. The hotel was centrally located with a metro stop (Namesti Republiky) just around the corner and a Billa grocery store across the street. As Hilton HHonors Gold members we were upgraded to an Executive Suite and found the suite to be quite spacious and well appointed. The staff was helpful and friendly - of particular note were: Barbara, Executive Lounge Manager; Miroslav, Front Office Manager and Nina, Front Desk Agent. We thought the location was a perfect base for seeing the sites of Prague with Wenscelas Square and the Old Town Square being equally close (an easy 10 minute walk). We enjoyed breakfast in the Executive Lounge every morning and cocktails and appetizers each evening. The Palladium shopping center is 2 blocks away and has a diverse selection of shops and restaurants. The Cedaz airport shuttle departs every 30 minutes from next door to the hotel and is a bargain at 120 CZK per person. We are already planning our next trip to Prague and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joygerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

I stayed at the Prague Hilton Old Town, and I would not recommend it because it is a ripoff, and is also a long walk from the Old Town Square. It is not even in Old Town--it is in New Town, a busy business district.

Internet access was 595 Korunas per day, or $32.88, which is a total ripoff. I travel frequently on business and pleasure, and half the time internet access is free, or if not, approximately $6 per day. The most I have paid before is $12 per day. The $33 per day at the Hilton was a total ripoff. I asked the desk clerk if that was a mistake, and he said no, that is their regular price.

Another ripoff was that two times I asked the desk clerk to call me a taxi, and instead they tried to surcharge me about 100%. I asked them to call me a taxi to the castle, and the desk clerk told me it would be a flat fee of 400 Korunas =$24. I walked out on the street and talked to a taxi driver, and he said he would take me for 200 Korumas=$12.

The last day I asked the front desk if they could arrange a taxi to the airport the next morning at 5 am. They said it would be a flat fee of 900 Korunas = $54. I knew that was more than I paid when I came in from the airport in midday traffic, so I called a AAA taxi, and the meter charged me 500 Korunas = $30.

The other thing is that it is a lot farther away from Old Town Square than I had thought. If you can believe this, it is not even in Old Town--the medieval area--it is in New Town, in a busy business section with busy traffic and a view of the train station. Look at Frommer Online or Frommer's book, and you will see that it is listed in "New Town--Banking District". If you look on a map at the Old Town Square, and look several blocks to the right you will find the Powder Tower, and the hotel is about 5 blocks to the right of that.

It was a 15 minute walk to the Old Town Square, and you wind up making the walk 4 times a day. The walk in the morning was not bad because you are fresh, but at 5pm you are exhausted from walking all day, and you walk 15 minutes back to your room to freshen up, then walk 15 minutes back to the Old Town Square for dinner and entertainment, then walk 15 minutes back to the hotel after dinner. The 45 minutes at the end of the day when you are exhausted is a killer. If I had it to do again I would stay close to Old Town Square.

The hotel is also a 20 minute walk from Wencesclas Square and the Jewish Quarter, and 20-30 minutes from Charles Bridge and Little Town.

The other posts describe the staff who could not care less about helping you, and only seem interested in ripping you off.

I considered this hotel to be a bad experience and a ripoff, and I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone. I would select a hotel in Old Town, the medieval section, near Old Town Square.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The location of the Hilton Old Town can't be beat. The front desk and the concierge are very helpful and knowledgeble. However, the Executive Lounge is a sorry disappointment. The quality fo the food, drink and service is very bad. In my 6 nights there I never once heard anyone ask if they could help you. This is in dire contrast to the Hiltons in Vienna and Budapest where they bent over backward to make your stay pleasurable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mirpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

I was very pleased with the Hilton Old town. Firstly they had given us two beds instead of one king size bed but with a quick call to reception our room was changed immediately.

The room was large with a big plasma tv comfy bed and nice clean bathroom.

Breakfast was great had a huge variaty to chose from and toast and hot food was available on request.

We didnt eat at the Maze restaurant so i cant comment, the hotels gym, sauna and steam room were great. Overall this is a great hotel close to everything that you need to see. The only thing i would change would be to have an out door swimming pool as well it was very hot and would have been good to be able to cool off and sun bake at the same time.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Eur0pe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed at 4 different Hiltons on our Europe trip and this was our least favorite for customer service but the location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sarated13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#136 of 648 in Prague
4,956 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Marriott Hotel
Prague Marriott Hotel
#87 of 648 in Prague
2,248 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#92 of 648 in Prague
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#49 of 648 in Prague
2,022 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Prague Old Town

Address: V Celnici 2079/7 | Nove Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Prague
#51 Business Hotel in Prague
#72 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#83 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $146 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Prague Old Town 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the in the centre of Prague’s most desirable attractions. Its proximity to the oldest parts of the city offers guests the option to fully explore the surrounding area including Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square and Charles Bridge. The hotel has over three hundred well-appointed guest rooms offering high quality accommodations and contemporary interior design, including non-smoking and accessible rooms. All rooms have been carefully refurbished to offer state of the art facilities with contemporary styling and sumptuous furnishings. Prague’s stylish dining spot, Zinc Restaurant features modern European cuisine with Asian flavours is recommended by the Michelin and Gault Millau guides. In its art deco inspired interior, Zinc lounge & bar seats over 70 people. Zinc lounge & bar serves specialty coffees, snacks with Asian flavours and tempting selection of cocktails. The new Prague meetings & events facilities form a great location for a successful business or leisure event in Prague Facilities include twelve meeting rooms as well as the Dvorak Ballroom, which can host up to 340 people. Other facilities include free access to Health & Fitness Center for hotel guests, 24 – hour Room Service, high-speed internet access, with a choice of a wired or wireless connection (Fee applies), underground parking (Fee applies), laundry services, business center, concierge and limousine services. The hotel was awarded with: Certificate of Excellence TripAdvisor 2015 One of Top 35 hotels in middle Europe, awarded by readers of Conde Nast Traveler Awards 2013 One of Top 25 Luxury hotels in Czech Republic, TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards 2014 Restaurant Zinc - TripAdvisor Travellers Choice Awards 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Prague Old Town Hotel Prague
Hilton International Prague
Prague Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing