We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - shame about wi-fi!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Prague
Ranked #96 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Great location - nice hotel - but why oh why do they not offer free wi-fi......

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

I am thankful for your feedback. It looks like you enjoyed the central location of our hotel. The internet prices are fully competitive on the Prague hotel market. The wireless internet is available in the lobby bar and the lobby itself. During the consumption in Duke’s Bar and Café (not valid for the extended breakfast during busy periods) you can get free WIFI access valid for 1 hour. I hope you give us another opportunity during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We just spent 3 nights in the Intercontinental in Prague. It was located down the street from the main square in Prague, and right on the river. It is in the heart of the Jewish quarter. Very nice overall. Breakfast room was very nice and lots of food. Very convenient to all. Fabulous spa, but unfortunately, we had no time to use any of the facilities. We spent all our time touring, shopping, eating....
íinternet charges were high....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonsPromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you very much for commenting on TripAdvisor. I hope to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Impressive facade and location but the wows end right about at the check in. Service staff were generally cold, much like the Prague weather.

Price is reasonable for an Intercon but hospitality has much to be improved.

We chose to check out after two nights and booked a B&B two miles away for a third of the price and four times the warmth!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the central location of our property. We do appreciate your comments regarding the service as there is always the opportunity to improve. I hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My first impression was marred by the extremely rude young man on the reception desk. I couldn't believe what I heard him say to the guest before me trying to check in. Then I myself was subjected to his off-hand manner, with a dismissive wave of the hand to indicate where the concierge was located. I will add that the reception area was very crowded at this time due to a tour group having just arrived, but this guy's attitude stinks. Some staff training in customer service needed there!

Now some good - the location is great - very handy to the old town and if you're keen on walking, it's not all that far to the new town and also across Charles Bridge to the lesser town. However, the lesser town is best accessed by tram or metro.

Also good is the food. I ate in the little cafe beside the bar twice and it was very nice. Breakfast has everything you could want and then some! The pikelets (hot cakes) with wild honey and blueberries were delicious. I really felt sorry for the staff at my first breakfast - not enough of them to cope with the numbers. They were trying to serve tea and coffee making it very hard for them to clear tables as necessary. There were empty tables but covered in used dishes and no sign of them being cleared. Management need to look at this in peak times. The breakfast times for the next couple of mornings were less crowded and more relaxing.

The house-keeping ladies were friendly, happy and very efficient. Well done team! The bed looked absolutely fantastic, inviting. Sadly, it was as hard as nails and I didn't sleep well for the whole of my stay. It's a pity only 1 teabag per day was given, especially as this was a double room! Oh, and the spa, complete with gym and swimming pool, is a very well kept secret: access it via the general lifts from floors 2,3 and 4, then find your way along the passages till you find a single, well hidden lift that takes you down to the facility. There's no instructions how to find it in the folder in each room.

Room Tip: The in-room tea and coffee making facility is rather slim on teabags and coffee - take your own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTraveller666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. I do appreciate your comments regarding the service you experienced during your check-in and also during your breakfast. I shared all with them with my colleagues who will arrange attitude trainings, retrainings and operational procedures as there is always the opportunity to improve.
Otherwise I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location, breakfast selection and house-keeping services. I hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights following a Danube River Cruise. The hotel was fantastic. The location was wonderful, so near to the Old Town Square and walking distance to many of the attractions in Prague. The buffet breakfast was amazing... everything you could possibly want was available. Beds were comfy and room was very nicely decorated. We had a view of Paritzka street and the wonderful spires on the buildings. The bathroom was all done in white marble with even a bidet. The down comforters were really nice. Just beware of the prices on the roof garden though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deekav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I hope this experience will stay in your minds for a while.
Anyway, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we stayed here for a long weekend. Since we have Ambassador status, we were upgraded, but only one category (stingy of the hotel, isn't it hehe?), although we were offered to be further upgraded for a low cost (which we did, of course).
The location of the hotel is very nice, close to the old center, and easy to take public transport (5 minutes walk to the nearest tram or underground). The buffet breakfast is very nice but only for a short stay, since there's not much daily change of food. We stayed in room 327, which was nicely soundproof and spacious enough for a weekend stay. The indoor pool is heated (27°C) and only very busy on Sunday, when it's a childrens playground.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulbavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that in general you enjoyed your stay.
As a Gold Ambassador member you are entitled to those benefits in the hotel:
• Guaranteed room upgrade into next category • Fresh fruit and mineral water upon arrival • 4 p.m. late check-out • Complimentary Pay TV film per stay • Instant Check-Out
The slight extra charge was mainly for Club Lounge access which is not part of Ambassador benefits.
I appreciate your comments related to breakfast buffet which I shared with our Executive Chef.
We would like to have more detailed information regarding breakfast and also the pool - what time you were there?. If you do not mind, please, contact me on my e-mail petra.kazdova@whgeu.com. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Upon arriving at the InterContinental, the outer building was somewhat reminiscent of a communism at its best... the appearance of the hotel from the outside is very old and outdated looking, however, once inside it is impeccable. Very modern, clean, and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and we had a great view of parts of the city. Wifi was offered at the bar and lobby area with a code given to you by one of the staff members. In relation to location, the hotel is conveniently located near the Charles Bridge, the Castle, Old Town Square and so much more. This was my second visit to Prague and I would definitely return and stay at the InterContinental when I do.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRGHA, Manager at InterContinental Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

I am thankfull for your comments shared on TripAdvisor. The hotel was built by architect Karel Filsak in the style called Brutalism and it is historically listed and protected building due to the outside look.
Please contact me for your future visit on petra.kazdova@whgeu.com and we will be happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 646 in Prague
3,309 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#141 of 646 in Prague
5,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Marriott Hotel
Prague Marriott Hotel
#83 of 646 in Prague
2,309 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 646 in Prague
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Prague

Address: Parizska 30, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Prague
#55 Business Hotel in Prague
#85 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $120 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding regally above the hilly banks of the Vltava River, the InterContinental Prague is the landmark choice of Prague hotels, providing a sophisticated setting for all types of travel. Experience the City from its premier location - in the heart of the Prague’s historic Old Town. Magnificent accommodations provide the perfect base from which to explore the shops, restaurants, and architectural treasures that give the region its distinctive character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Praha Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Prague
Intercontinental Hotel Praha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing