We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location ideal for exploring Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Marcello
Ranked #166 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Quiet location ideal for exploring Prague”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found this hotel through Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. It is ideally located on the edge of the Jewish Quarter only 5 minutes walk from the Old Town Square but tucked away in a quiet side street with no traffic. There is a good choice of restaurants in the surrounding streets.
Although the building is old, the rooms are comfortably furnished and equipped with modern bathrooms. The staff were all very helpful and generally spoke good English. The breakfasts were excellent and offered something for every taste although seating was limited and could fill up at busy times.
We had dinner in the courtyard one evening and I was pleasantly surprised by the above average quality of the food offered.
We arrived by car and the reception directed us to the car park beneath the Palladium shopping centre which cost CzK1800 for 3 days. There is masses of space there and it seemed quite secure but it is 5 minutes walk from the hotel and not easy to drive back from the car park to the hotel to collect luggage. If they have space, the car park beneath the Hotel Maximilian, which is 50 yards from Casa Marcello is much more convenient and only charges CzK600 per night.
Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Casa Marcello as a comfortable, good value base from which to explore Prague

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or overlooking the courtyard would probably be quietest but we had a room over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André l'Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    231
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
95
310
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel which was at one time a convent. Our rooms were on the 3rd floor. We actually had 2 bathrooms, a bedroom, and a sitting area...unbelievable! It was magical as there were lots of corridors, stairs, with rooms in different parts of the building. The location is convenient, but quiet with cobblestone streets and sidewalks. One of our windows overlooked an ancient church. The breakfast was extensive and lovely. You could choose from some warm foods as well as the traditonal cold ones. The selection of bread was large. The staff was superb and helpful. One of the staff picked us up from the airport which was so helpful. There is a restaurant that serves lunch as well as dinner. This is just a wonderful place in a special city.

Room Tip: If you have problem with stairs you might want to ask for a room on a lower level since there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A friendly hotel in a truly magical area of Prague, full of narrow cobbled streets and flaking palaces. After 24 years living in and visiting the city, I can truly say this is one of the best. We've stayed at Casa Marcello with the kids for two years running and it's proved welcoming and good value. The breakfast is generous and well presented. The city's prime sites are close at hand and there are numerous good restaurants nearby. Parking's a bit of a problem but the neighbouring hotel helps out and if not there are other options. We will return

Room Tip: Rooms above the alley are occasionally noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife has been wanting to visit Prague for about as long as I can remember, so I was looking for a hotel that was both a bit special and not hugely expensive. Casa Marcello did not disappoint. It's location in the old town (only 5-10 mins walk from the old town square) is great. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. Beautiful central courtyard. The rooms were large: ours had two bathrooms, we also had a separate space for our toddler. One quibble: some of the staff were more friendly than others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and it was a great experience. The breakfast was extensive and of good quality. The staff were helpful and on leaving we were taken to the train station by one of the staff who made sure we got as close as possible to the station and ensure we knew how to catch the right train. The rooms were good value and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I spent two nights here in may. What a stunning building and lovely staff great location in the city and so quiet? The food was excellent especially breakfast. The courtyard is lovely to sit in on a warm evening. I was able to walk all around central Prague from here.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so a room closer to ground level is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Animalsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and had a great time. It is within walking distance of the main square and the river. The hotel is very clean and the room was very comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is no lift but staff is always helpful. The breakfast can be improved as sometimes the cooked items were not hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veroinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 670 in Prague
501 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 670 in Prague
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Caruso
Caruso
#263 of 670 in Prague
371 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#130 of 670 in Prague
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Marcello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Marcello

Property: Hotel Casa Marcello
Address: Rasnovka 783/1 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Prague
#141 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#154 Business Hotel in Prague
#197 Family Hotel in Prague
#199 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Marcello 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Marcello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marcello Hotel
Casa Marcello Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing