We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude front desk male staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa
Ranked #333 of 649 Hotels in Prague
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very rude front desk male staff”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is in good location. Besides nothing good about it. Front desk male staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. My wife was pissed off completely by their behavior. To be specific if you ask a second time for directions the answer was I already told you yesterday. As most of the names are new, tourist are bound to ask again but this kind of behavior was unacceptable. Rooms and bathrooms are not five star. Breakfast is okay. There are cheaper and better hotels available as we found out later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
First I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague. Even the bad comments are very helpful. Of course it was very disappointing that your experience wasn't enjoyable.
Your comments regarding the behavour of our reception staff has been taken very serious. We have informed the relevant department head and measurements have been taken in order to avoid similar situations in the future.

Wish you Happy New Year!
With best regards from Prague,

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    313
    191
    81
    59
See reviews for
167
345
42
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Why would I stay anywhere else? The Hotel was wonderful. Great location. The suite was
perfect, large with beautiful view. The staff was extremely friendly, professional and helpful.
Valet guys were fast and smiling. I would recommend the Ambassador Hotel!! High class and
luxury!! I shall return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complimentary review regarding your stay with us.

I am very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague.
Thank you for your recommendation and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Happy New Year 2014!!
With best regards

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinsheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Location is indeed perfect and you get valet parking, which in the center of Prague would be otherwise very challenging. Is minutes away from all attractions and restaurants, so ideal for city trips. Breakfast buffet is good and rich. And it is clean. Was nice to have a whirlpool in the bathroom.
The bad is: as a couple, twin beds are a nightmare. They have many rooms with view to the other side of the building, which is awful if you keep curtains open. And many rooms still with old, bulky CRT television sets. Furniture probably still original and not renewed since emperor times (no, not talking about antiques, just about old furniture without value or design). Towels were broken, bath robes were plain from so much washing. And service..oh well. Bellboys were very polite and nice, but in the restaurant..they were pulling pants up and shirts in in the middle of the restaurant, stepping over you at buffet or pushing you away to refill something. Obviously, never trained.
I would not recommend it. Rather go for a tiny 3* in the center, there are plenty of them, cheap and clean.

Room Tip: Do insist to get another one if room doesn't fit you. The ones facing the square are good isolat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review regarding your stay in our hotel as even the bad comments are very helpful. Of course it was very disappointing that your experience wasn't enjoyable.

It is disturbing to hear about your disappointments especially regarding the stafff, I would like to assure you that this kind of experience does not reflect on our usual service. I have already passed your comments to my colleagues. We are provide the regular training to all our staff for guest relation, where we already discussed your review.

Wish you Happy New Year,
With regards from Prague,
Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been in the Ambassador hotel for two nights due to a business trip. The personell was more or less friendly, the rooms were huge and nicely decorated. The breakfast was chaotic, crowded and loud so it was not much a relaxing atmosphere. The bar was actually okay and the hotel itself has some kinde of nice "old fashioned" flair. The best at this hotel is its location as it's located absolutely centrally in Prague. So e.g. to the Chain Bridge, I would say, it's a 10 minutes walk.

In total I would go there again for a city trip but I would then have breakfast and other meals outside of the hotel - there are better places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mattsiefert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Ambassador Zlata Husa Prague. It feels great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your appreciative comments about our breakfast, I passed your feedback to my colleague from F&B Department.

Indeed, the convenient location of our hotel is an advantage since it provides accessibility to many points of interest, such as those you mentioned in your review.

Wish you Happy New Year and hope we will meet you again in Ambassador Zlata Husa hotel.

Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litvinov, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Ambassador hotel has the best location ever. Walking distance everywhere.....Our room located on top floor was large and clean, overlooking main square. Large marble bathroom with jacuzzi bath was very good. Breakfast staff was polite and friendly. Highly recommended !! Thanx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lud19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your good comments. We are happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and it feels great to read you had a wonderful stay with us. Again thank you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Happy New Year 2014

With best regards,
Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I visited prague in mid October . Our stay at this hotel was all you could wish for . The front desk staff are very helpful . A special mention to Zbunek the conciege at front of house. Goes out of his way to help and advise on any trips , restaurants, taxis, metro, buses. I highly recomend you speak with him .He is a big asset to this hotel . Breakfast is fine. Plenty of choice. We stayed in room 402. A lovely big comfortable , well furnished suite over looking the square. Value for money , its un beatable , although not 5 * standard. Its clean and presentable , but needs a make over to bring it up to its star status. Example , coffee in the rooms, fitness suite , swimming pool , these things are expected in a 5 star hotel . Saying that you know they are NOT there before you go .

All in all a very pleasent stay and would certainly recomend this hotel for a city break .

Room Tip: Room 402 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johnturnerNireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartkova, Director of Sales at Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for having chosen the Ambassador Zlata Husa hotel for your recent stay in Prague and for your very positive feedback. Comments like yours are a great motivation for all our team members and their efforts to make our guest’s stay unforgettable.

Thank you also for your comments regarding coffe and tea facilities in the room, which are not at our rooms.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the Ambassador Zlata Husa hotel or in our sister´s hotels Esplanade Spa and Golf Resort or Agricola Sport and Wellness Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Stanislava Bartkova
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avigliana, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Perfect hotel, excellent staff at the reception, in the bar, in the room and in the restaurant, fantastic location, luxury furniture in the room...Ambassador Zlata Husa is always the best hotel in Prague.It has a very fascinating atmosphere and for me is always a pleasure to go there

Room Tip: Rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxcontemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#193 of 649 in Prague
669 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#105 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Esplanade Prague
Hotel Esplanade Prague
#242 of 649 in Prague
466 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Julis
EA Hotel Julis
#246 of 649 in Prague
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa

Property: Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa
Address: Vaclavske namesti 840 / 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Prague
#45 Spa Hotel in Prague
#228 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau style building - Hotel Ambassador - Zlata Husa***** is located in the city center on the pedestrian zone of famous Wenceslas Square boulevard, surrounded by renowned historical and cultural monuments as well as a commercial district, department stores, luxury shops and a large number of private restaurants, cafes and clubs. Tastefully furnished comfortable rooms are all air-conditioned, they have private marble bathrooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower. All rooms are equipped with minibar, SAT TV, direct dial phone with voice machine, free wi-fi connection, safety deposit box and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ambassador - Zlata husa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Zlata Husa
Ambassador Zlata Husa Hotel
Top Hotel Prague
Prague Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing