We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Ranked #38 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cornville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We don't normally stay in 5 star hotels, but were lucky enough to get a deal on Le Palais, & loved every moment of our stay there, from arrival to departure. The staff were welcoming, kind and helpful, from the front desk to the doormen and maids. Room comfortable & well-appointed (a special treat was the continually replenished mini-bar at no extra cost). Marble bathroom an extravagance with fluffy towels, bathrobes & lovely soaps, etc., but, do be careful in & out of shower, as tub walls quite high. Breakfasts were ample & with a great variety of goodies to choose from, both hot & cold. Yes, the hotel is a bit removed from center, but a public transport pass was included, with trams nearby & frequent, so no difficulty getting into Old Town or across river to the Castle. It's also possible to walk to the center & the hotel does provide car service a few times a day. It was a welcome relief to get back to this lovely retreat (the hotel actually is comprised of two former private mansions), after the mob of tourists in the center. It's not the Hilton, but personally, we much prefer atmosphere over impersonality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    152
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
490
41
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Not in city center, but this should not deter you from staying here. Wonderfully warm welcome, great service, historic building with frescos in the hallways and stairs and some rooms. Don't overlook the skylight rooms as you have windows to the stars at night! Comfortable library. The area has a lot of graffiti on the buildings around the hotel but it is one of the most affluent areas of the city. Don't be put off by the graffiti.
My favorite place to stay in Prague.

Room Tip: Try the skylight rooms for the stars at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The only thing I regret is that we did not stay longer at this hotel. We finished our sojourn in Prague with one night at this hotel. Not being located in the center also means: neighbourghood with more local and authentic ambiance. Public transport is efficient, has a dense network and is easy to use.
We checked-in early and our room has been ready. First we opted for a short tour of the hotel, then we went to our room. We had a Deluxe Room with a large double-window showing towards the street (very quiet). It was not a huge room but of very good size and had a large bathroom. We had a voucher for a welcome drink (which was admittedly not so overwhelming), used the sauna and steam room (extremely well maintained, very kind and attentive employee) and then went into town for a concert.
At night our room had been prepared by a thoughtful turn-down service. Next morning after a perfect sleep in a comfortable bed, we enjoyed breakfast. Again, attentive and very friendly service, broad choice of excellent breakfast items.
Receptionists were very kind (and Mr. José was a pleasure!) both at check-in and check-out (and when adressing for information on public transport). All in all, a hotel stay as it should be (but in reality not always is). The excellence experienced was provided by the hotel's layout, architecture, overall appearance but most of all by staff. Thank you!
I would happily return - and then stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ok..it is about 3 weeks since my friend and I have returned from our one week stay at this hotel. We are two friends who reserved two rooms each with a king size bed. We were so taken by the pictures of the rooms that we thought we were in for a real treat. The camera they used for those photos was most definitely had a wide angle lens. The rooms are small, dark and worn. The bathroom is marble but small with a ridiculously high bath/shower making it absolutely perilous if you are not physically fit.
The front desk was clueless, with the exception of one lovely lady. There is no concierge available at any time. They lost my friend's reservation and kept saying we had one room reserved. I like my friend but I do not want to share a room for a week. Finally they found her reservation however the room had two twin beds..ok..she requested a king sheet and comforter so she could feel less confined. They informed us they ran out of sheets. Not a sheet to spare..all week ..no sheet!
Breakfast was fine, not great. The Hotel restaurant was surprisingly good. Location is convenient but not attractive.
If you are thinking this is luxury hotel..think again. If you want service,elegance etc look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bitseysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location is the only drawback as the rest is on a par with Prague's best. Do not expect International Hotel atmosphere as this is a locally managed and owned property with typical Czech atmosphere in food and accommodation.
Check in/out is not as quick as in international chains but it is speedy nonetheless.
Rooms are very clean and decorated in local classic style.
Food is Czech and very good. Room service is not as good as the restaurant but it is still very good.
Breakfast is very, very good with a beautiful view and the staff are super kind.
Price is high, considering the hotel but, then again, it is worth it if you want a romantic get away in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommaso_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nevada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This former residence of the well to has been beautifully restored and wonderfully decorated. Our room was not large but the bathroom was generous in size. It is located a 20 minute walk to Wenceslas Square and a 10 minute walk to the Metro. We had one evening meal at the hotel restaurant which was very good as were the breakfasts. The staff is very friendly and eager to help you enjoy Prague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdiefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Beautifully restored in a quiet area of town. Very nice lounges and lovely sun terrace. Rooms small but adequate. Staff excellent. Easy walk to Wenceslas Square and trams available to downtown nearby. Local bars and restaurants with great food less then 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#24 of 649 in Prague
622 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 649 in Prague
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,408 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#41 of 649 in Prague
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Art Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Property: Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Address: U Zvonarky 65/1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Art Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1841, restored from 1888 until 1897, the luxury Le Palais Art Hotel is a striking example of Belle Epoque architecture. The historic ornamental stucco and magnificent wall paintings help to create an unforgettable impression. A special atmosphere can be found in the spacious rooms and suites at our luxury hotel in Prague. The intimate size of le Palais (72 rooms) guarantees a different approach to our guests, a personal, refined approach in every single detail. This attention to the details, the personal touches and guest oriented assistance distils in a uniquely Italian artistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Le Palais Art Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing