We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Prague is magical - and so it the Le Palais” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Ranked #38 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prague is magical - and so it the Le Palais”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Highly recommend the Le Palais, as it's beauty and character match that of Prague. The service was flawless and enjoyable.

Booked through Leading Hotels of the World, and achieved an excellent rate and package for our 3 night stay. Reception was superb and very efficient. Jaroslav the Manager provided a brief and unobtrusive tour of the hotel (great library and lobby bars, very good restaurant, and excellent fitness centre). The hotel is on a quiet street with a convenient reception and secure underground parking right on site - a true plus as we had a rental car (not all locations in Prague can offer such).

We did receive our LHW upgrade, welcome gift, etc. The decor is beautiful with every attention to detail. We truly felt like we were pampered and on a special visit.

Location is a short walk from the centre of Prague. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    139
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
93
453
40
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Incredible. This hotel sets itself clearly apart from any other we are aware of in Prague. The level of service is far above any standard expected, the rooms are delightful and the staff overwhelming. You will not go wrong here if you choose to stay, which basically is a must!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I believe I may be echoing the words of many other reviewers of Hotel Le Palais but when the truth is there it can't be ignored. From my first moment of contact with the Management and Staff of this fantastic hotel to the very last moment when I left every single member of staff whom I encountered worked as if I was the only guest in the hotel. They were attentive, informative, entertaining, professional, immaculately presented, knowledgeable and welcoming at every instance.

Sometimes staff in top end hotels are highly trained but rarely is there the feeling of warmth and being part of a team dedicated to customer care like I have encountered at Le Palais.

The decor and rooms in this superior old hotel arre outstanding as is its location on the perimeter of the Old Town centre. Trams are available within metres of the front door and the efficient metro connections only a five minute walk away.

The breakfasts are sumptuous and served expertly with great care taken in preparation and presentation. Also the view across the city from the restaurant adds to the whole feeling that you are in someplace special and not another anonymous hotel.

My recommendation is simple; if your budget allows you the luxury of staying at Le Palais, do not miss the opportunity.
Someday I hope to return for more of this unique Prague delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel where every single member of the staff was: pleasant, eager to help, friendly, and welcoming. The room was lovely, the bathroom was a treat (heated floors AND ample space), the breakfast was the best of our european vacation. But the real difference was the staff. Like the other reviewers have said, they go out of their way to be as helpful as possible and make your stay comfortable.

While yes, the hotel isn't in the center of the old town sites, the experience at the Palais more than makes up for it. We took advantage of the public tram system and were pleasantly surprised on how easy it was to get back to the hotel at night.

Highly recommended, we really can't say enough nice things about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nextstoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed four nights in September on a jet2 package. Everything about the Hotel is good - service, food and rooms. Location might not suit all as it is 20 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square, 10 minutes to the Metro or 5 minutes to the tram. We enjoyed the neighbourhood, coffee at Pauls by Pavlova metro and dinner at Sapori which is on Americka and not where it says on google.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We did n't book his hotel. We only stayed here for 1 night because our original hotel sent us here. However, it's a great hotel. On arrival, we were met by friendly staff, one of whom gave us a tour of the hotel. She took us to our room and got out a map of Prague and explained where the hotel is in relation to the sights, restaurants etc. We were told that we could have a complimentary drink in the bar when we were ready. Not only that, but there was also a free well stocked mini bar with a couple of bottles of beer, a couple of small bottles of wine (1 red & 1 white), some water, coke, fruit juices and some nibbles etc.

The room was nice, and clean, and the bed was comfortable. It's a quiet hotel in a residential area, so we had no problems sleeping that night.

After freshening up, we went out to dinner. On our return to the hotel, we went to the hotel bar for our complimentary drinks. It was a nice, relaxing, comfortable and well decorated bar. We stayed for a couple of drinks, before going up to our room.

We had breakfast in the hotel the next morning. The selection of hot and cold food was great, and they even has Prosecco available, which was a nice touch, and made us feel like we were having a "Champagne" breakfast.

It's a very good hotel. It's a shame it's quite far from the main sights.

There is a spa at the hotel, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BSesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Let me first agree with all the other reviewers on how nice of a property this is. The buffet breakfast is outstanding and the hotel is gorgeous. Our room was nice, however, they tried to first give me a room without wifi, I did have to wait while they changed my room to one with wireless. They first told me there was only wireless in the lobby. The only complaint I had about the room was that the mattress was so hard I felt like I was sleeping on a box spring and they had forgotten to put a mattress. A/C was very weak and the room was hot at night. By the third night we just opened the window. It's very quiet. And an old tube t.v., quite odd for such an upscale property but it didn't matter to us as we never turned it on. The complimentary mini-bar was a nice touch. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent and extremely clean with lovely toiletries.

However if i had to do over I would have chosen a hotel closer to the center of town. We were able to find the hotel using public transportation (we asked for a cab at the train station T.I. and we told "no one in Prague takes cabs." )

Knowing that the hotel is a distance from town, I was shocked they could not provide simple, clear instructions on the best way to get from "A" to "B".
There is no concierge and we expected a little help with directions and getting around town. This is not in a 'touristy' part of town but it's quite far to the metro/tram, around 15 minutes. That might not seem far but after walking for hours in town (on hilly, cobblestones streets) you might be tired and want to home back to your hotel and rest before your next activity. The metro is quite deep and we timed the escalator alone at about 3 minutes. The neighborhood around the hotel is a working class one, there are no amenities for tourists. The area is not well lit but we never felt unsafe because people there don't have handguns like the U.S. but it's not an upscale area. We did take a cab into town one night but it took about 40 minutes (traffic). We never used the car service because the times were inconvenient, no service after 4 p.m.

If we asked for help they pulled out a map so small you need a magnifying glass. To get an idea of how complicated the map is, the best way I can describe it is some one dropped pick up sticks and cooked spaghetti together. In short, the streets are not on grids. On three occasions we got very poor or wrong directions on using transportation. We asked for recommendations for local restaurant, we were sent to a depressing neighborhood dive. The hotel restaurant was quite pricey, we were charged $12 for a bottle of water. But the final straw was we asked for a wake-up call for 4:30 a.m. to go to the airport, the call never came.

Room Tip: ONly some of the rooms have wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LePalaisPrague, General Manager at Le Palais Art Hotel Prague, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Le Palais for your recent stay in Prague. It has been our pleasure to have you in our hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.

It is our plan to extend the WIFI connection to all rooms, as well as to install flat screen TVs.
We were surprised to learn about the working class hotel neighborhood as the Vinohrady district is considered as an upscale residential area of Prague with many restaurants, bars and small shops in the vicinity.

Your comments about the wake up call and lack of concierge services inspire all of us to evolve to a higher level of professionalism and deeper understanding of guest needs in everything we do.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your experience and comments for our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Jana Jeschek
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#43 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#33 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#11 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Art Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Art Hotel Prague

Property: Le Palais Art Hotel Prague
Address: U Zvonarky 65/1, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Palais Art Hotel Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1841, restored from 1888 until 1897, the luxury Le Palais Art Hotel is a striking example of Belle Epoque architecture. The historic ornamental stucco and magnificent wall paintings help to create an unforgettable impression. A special atmosphere can be found in the spacious rooms and suites at our luxury hotel in Prague. The intimate size of le Palais (72 rooms) guarantees a different approach to our guests, a personal, refined approach in every single detail. This attention to the details, the personal touches and guest oriented assistance distils in a uniquely Italian artistic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Palais Art Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing