We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel free to skip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prague Loreto

The Prague Loreto
Book In Advance
More Info
$302.23*
and up
Musical Prague Private Tour
Ranked #53 of 920 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Baroque-style shrine housing liturgical treasures including the famous star-shaped "Sun of Prague," which is studded with 6,222 diamonds. Place of pilgrimage, Loreto Treasure, baroque carillon, 3D model of newly discovered Crypt with special macabre fresco paintings.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feel free to skip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our guide book told us this was one of the top places to visit in Prague, and as Catholics who love visiting churches (we visited about 20 in Prague alone) we were excited to see it. We were disappointed, however. The ticket price was more expensive than most other churches that charged (and most churches are free) and they charge you a fee to take pictures which is almost as expensive as the ticket price.

In my opinion, the two main draws to the Loreta were the Santa Casa and the "treasury" which contains a number of beautiful monstrances including the Diamond Monstrance. Nothing in particular is special about this Santa Casa - it's a reproduction of the actual Santa Casa in Italy (held by Catholic tradition to be the Holy Family's house from Nazareth) looks like. It was cool to see what the Santa Casa looks like, but you don't get any sort of special feeling that you are walking where Jesus, Mary, and Joseph walked because you aren't - it's a reproduction. The collection of monstrances and other precious vessels and valuables was interesting and nice to see, and of course the Diamond Monstrance was beautiful.

My main criticism is that the Loreta is just not as pretty as many other churches in Prague and therefore isn't worth the price to see it. Other churches that charge cheaper entry fees which are far more beautiful than the Loreta include St. Vitus's Cathedral (if you buy a the smaller packaged ticket, not even the large one, you can see Prague Castle, St. George's Basilica, and St. Vitus for less than twice as much as just the Loreta and St. Vitus puts the Loreta to shame aesthetically) and St. Nicholas in Mala Strana (not in Old Town Square), which is a stunningly beautiful baroque Jesuit church.

But there are still plenty of other churches more beautiful than the Loreta that are free such as St. Thomas in Mala Strana near the Charles Bridge, Our Lady before Tyn in Old Town Square (only open for about two hours a day), St. Ignatius of Loyola near Charles Square, and St. Ludmilla near Wenceslaus Square. The Church of Our Lady Victorious in Mala Strana is free to enter and has a collection of monstrances upstairs as well in addition to housing the famous Infant Jesus of Prague statue.

Anyway, the Loreta was okay but nothing special. If you want to see a beautiful church, you can see plenty that are prettier and cheaper elsewhere. Unless you really want to see a reproduction of Santa Casa or love diamonds and want to see the diamond monstrance, feel free to skip it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    184
    59
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“another piece of church history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Didn't actually go into the monastery as had not purchased the Prague card which only gave a small discount but the building had heaps of character and Loreta is a well known Catholic brand. The monastery was not far from where I was staying and others told me it was well worth visiting

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,329 reviews
3,419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,298 helpful votes
“Loreta Monastery and Treasury: A very nice collection of attractions near Prague Castle.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

When spending time in Hradcany District, there are several very good places to visit, one being the Loreta Monastery and Treasury (130czk per adult & 100czk camera permit) where you can see a handful of impressive attractions. The attraction is located from Tuesday to Sunday, 9.15-12.15pm and then again from 1-4.30pm.

The Baroque style palace was commissioned by the Lobkowicz family in 1626 and includes a nicely decorated cloister, with impressive frescos, which we found to be a pleasant surprise and one of the more enjoyable aspects of Loretta. The inside courtyard also features the Santa Casa "Holy House" - a highly decorative brick structure that encompasses a hut that was designed on what is believed to be a copy of the house of Virgin Mary. The inside is simple and worth passing through, it takes only a minute or two to see.

There are a handful of chapels within the courtyard, one being the beautiful Church of Nativity of Our Lord, which features lovely Renaissance paintings, very nice cherubs and saints and other Rococo style fixtures. It is an elaborately decorated church, well worth a sit down to enjoy. This chapel, completed in 1738, was one of our favourite features of the Loreta Monastery and Treasury.

Another important attraction is the upstairs treasury which displays priceless pieces, the most famous being the 6222 diamond studded object known as the 'Prague Sun'. While this was interesting to see, we didn't find it to be as spectacular as it is often built up to be in the guidebooks.

Note that every hour, the 27-bell carillon begins to play as a call to prayer. While this can be also be easily heard from outside Loreta, hearing the chimes within the walls of the courtyard is a different acoustic experience, and definitely enhances the visitation here.

Overall, we quite enjoyed our visit to Loreta. The treasury was less memorable than we anticipated however the cloister frescos and the Church of Nativity of Our Lord Chapel, exceeded our expectations and made this a much appreciated compound, a place we would very much enjoy seeing again during future trips to Prague. Overall, we spent around an hour and 30 minutes at Loreta but you could certainly spend less time if you were in a hurry.

Tip: Loreta is located near the Stravhov Monastery, and can be coupled with a visit to Loreta to maximise time spent in this area of Prague.

Tip: The camera fee (100czk) might turn some off but we'd suggest paying for one permit anyway. There is much to photograph throughout Loreta, making it well worth the purchase.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Loreta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This monastery was quite good. Be aware that there is a cost for admission which was about 130czk. This equates to about £5.

For those of you who are religious, this will be a must see. This has a replica of the original Santa Casa where the Virgin Mary was originally told she would concieve (according to the story) It is believed to be the truest representation of the original.

For those of you like myself who are not religious, its a time to enjoy the s tunning architecture. There is also a vault on the inside where some very nice trasure is kept including lots of wonderful artifacts encrusted with diamons, pearls and gold!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayRussell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The reviews on tripadvisor nearly dissuaded me to make the effort to visit this place. Since its not too touristy, the place is calm quiet and beautiful. The treasury also holds an amazing array of jewels.

Helpful?
2 Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Prague Loreto also viewed

 

Been to The Prague Loreto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing