We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prague Castle

Prague Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.58*
and up
Skip-the-line: Prague Castle Admission Ticket
Ranked #8 of 920 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The largest castle in Europe contains more than seven hundred rooms.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely Castle for strolling round - very busy in summer but didn't feel rushed or claustrophobic. Had a tasty lunch - homemade soup baguette and wine /beer - in a very secluded and quiet courtyard café - an oasis of peace well worth seeking out. Much better than the other options available and at a good price for a tourist trap.
We had to go on 2 consecutive days as 3 of the "included sites" on our ticket had closed early - no notice and no explanation. Were supposed to be open until 6pm but were closed when we tried to enter at 4.30pm. This was not a problem for us as we wanted to go to places up and around the area. It may have been if you were only there for the day.
Area round the Castle was lovely too - very few tourists on the day we were there - not sure why as there is plenty to see/ visit there. Perhaps it was just quiet that day! Would recommend for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,517
    6,243
    1,716
    306
    99
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We saw this up on the hill and thought we'd go see it. It's is a lot of steps up to the top but what we saw when we got up there was very surprising and better than expected. This is a must see place if you visit Prague. Bring your walking shoes though because you are going to hit the stair master!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More old world beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visited the Prague Castle and the cathedral on a beautiful day in Prague. The cathedral is definitely a must see with beautiful stained glass windows depicting Chech history (Winceslas) and religious scenes. A must on your next trip to Prague.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must do when in Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent about half day here. It is a very impressive complex, including St Vitus and other churches on site. We did the self tour with audio guide, very informative. Walked up from Lesser town square through that little street lined with shops, make a hairpin turn, voila, the view of Prague is fantastic. Dont forget to stop by the Starbucks right by the Mattias Gate, I dubbed it the Starbucks with the best view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ebweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The main site in Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Prague Castle is one of those places everyone goes, but it still deserves a review. You can buy the short ticket (4 attractions) or long (8). We went for the short as we had other things to do and had been in St Nicholas (the Mala Strana church not the Old Town one) so thought the long ticket may get a bit samey. The short ticket gets you in St Vitus cathedral, which is awe-inspiring and very different to St Nicholas (go to both, its worth it for the comparison and St Nicholas is only ten minutes walk away from the Castle), the Old Royal Palace, which is interesting, St George's Basilica (a smaller church and much simpler) and the Golden Lane, a collection of miniature houses. All were interesting and enjoyable. If you time your visit right, you can see the big changing of the guard at 12.00 (we didn't, and were at the wrong end of the castle by then). We spent 2 hours, probably could have taken longer but we were hungry by then!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ANS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prague Castle also viewed

 

Been to Prague Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing