We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Old-New Synagogue (Staronova synagoga)
from $65.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $39.70
More Info
from $18.40
More Info
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveler rating
185
154
127
62
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
154
127
62
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jewish quarter holy place jewish faith gothic building eastern europe worth a visit interesting place guided tour czech republic golem worship oldest jews century prayer kippah ark
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 576 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Dating back to the late 1200's (do you believe it???), this gem of a synagogue is wonderful example of a Gothic building, and it IS the most ancient synagogue in Europe.
While I did not find any trace of the famous Golem in the synagogue, walking in its two ancient naves and absorbing the atmosphere was truly a wonderful experience.
While no photography is allowed inside, as long as you keep you flash switched off – you'd be fine.

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We paid for it (400 CZK) and later we were told that if you go to pray (of course, if you are jewish), only on shabbat they do, entrance was free.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Leo1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Of all the synagogues we visited in Prague, this in my humble opinion was the one that felt most spiritual . I loved it for its symplicity, and one could feel time stand still. It really felt ancient and like a refuge, which during some of the more turbulent times in Europe must have been greatly valued. We bought the two day pass for the Jewish quarters, and this synagogue and the old cemetery accross the street were my and my wife's favourite.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

There is no doubting the cultural and religious importance of this building – but that can be the only reason to visit. The building is old, but lacks the architectural quality of most churches in Prague. However, the most disappointing thing was the decision to charge over £7 per person. A ridiculous price to visit what is, in effect, a small room. Unless you are going for religious reasons, don’t bother

Date of experience: March 2013
3  Thank Dangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is so much part of our cultural history that it must be rated as a "must see" on every Jewish itinerary of Prague.
Just across the road from the old Jewish cemetery.

Date of experience: February 2013
2  Thank Shalom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews