We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, Clean and Popular”
Review of Hotel Zlata Vaha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zlata Vaha
Ranked #294 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Stavanger
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Compact, Clean and Popular”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel Zlata Vaha is Compact, Clean and Popular.
I have never seen such a "small" hotel, with such a busy reception, in my life.
You can see it has been newly renovated: Fresh paint, new furniture and modern bathrooms.
The staff was very supportive, when one of our suitcases was delayed at airport. They communicated with the baggage office at the airport, for us, and were very helpful.

If I have to put my finger on some lesser qualities, I must say the breakfast was very simple, but I didn’t starve. The Wi-Fi was unfortunately limited, as it so often is in most hotels.

Room Tip: The higher up, your room is, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passed50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    256
    145
    36
    33
See reviews for
71
223
86
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

the location of this hotel is good because of its convenience for walking but its proximity to the noisy street cars and its shared courtyard with the hotel's cafe/bar made our room facing the courtyard extremely noisy. the room was nothing special, but sufficed. was clean and what we needed. due to the noise, I would say this place was overpriced. also the 5 euro breakfast was subpar. 5 euros gets you a lot better food anywhere else in Prague.

Room Tip: do not stay in a room facing the courtyard! stay further off the street to avoid noise from street c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived in this hotel from the airport express bus which stopped at about 15 mins easy walk. The main train station Halvani nadrazi is 10 mins walk away, all the attractions in old town are pretty much walkable. The room we got was on 4th floor, clean, AC working well,the reception speaks English, & are helpful.A practical choice for a short stay in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehabhushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

same as another reviewer we booked this hotel because it was cheap. £26 for a double room but in fact we were given a 3 bedded room on the 4th floor which was good. the room was bright, airy and clean and the large bathroom was also very clean. only fault was the air-con, we stayed there during august so it was quite hot and the hotel controls the a/c, so the room was warm but not uncomfortably warm.
the stall were pleasant and helpful and spoke good enough english. the hotel is in a good location 10 minutes walk to prague old town square and then 5 minutes walk to charles bridge.
we will definatly go to prague again and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz-moonspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was very cheap, under £100 for 3 nights in a double room. We met lots of other people there who were staying further away and sharing bathrooms who paid more than us.

The rooms are simple but modern and clean. Staff were polite and helpful with transport.

Some people have said the trams were loud but we didnt hear anything.

The locations was perfect. About 5 minute walk from the old town square, 2 min walk to the main train/metro/bus station and lots of bars nearby.

It is an ideal place to stay to save money as you can get a bus from the airport and walk straight to the hotel. It only costs about £2 pp. Would recommend it for anyone!

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac26806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was going to rate this hotel 4 stars but after planning out my review I realized that was probably a little generous. My group of 4 stayed at the Hotel Zlata Vaha for two nights in July on the 4th floor.

The Good: The hotel is located just west of the main train station and is appropriately a eight minute walk to the Old Town Square and Clock Tower. The room was very spacious, clean, and came with four beds, two of which were pushed together as a King. The bathroom was also quite spacious, clean, and came with the appropriate number of towels. Overall, the hotel had just been renovated and was in much better condition than we had anticipated. There is also free wifi that reached our room. We spent $200 total for for 2 nights, so at $25 USD per person per night we thought it was a pretty good deal and more secure than a hostel.

The Bad: The A/C is centrally controlled and cannot be adjusted from your room. We were constantly battling if we should open the windows (which automatically turned off the A/C) or see if the room would get cooler with the air on. Both were quite poor options as the A/C was insufficient and with the windows open the street noise from cable cars and vehicles was very disruptive. The remote for the windows was all in Russian but there was a cheat sheet to figure out how to open and close the windows. The last night it was quite intolerable in the room and I ended up sleeping on top of my comforter even with the A/C on.

The Ugly: THE SHADES!!! We came back from partying on Saturday night (Sunday morning) at about 5 AM. As it is July, it was already quite light when we got to sleep. We closed the blinds as best we could but there is a 4 inch gap at the bottom of the skylight windows that allowed light to come right onto two of the beds and illuminated most of the room. This severely detracted us from our ability to sleep. This was also prohibitive when trying to nap during the day.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 4th floor and try to find one away from the street to minimize cable car no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottieWP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed her for the first weekend in July, As you can see I've given it a rating of 2 and let me explain why.

Pro's
Fantastic location
Fairly cheap
Clean

Con's
Rude staff (bar man)
Warm room - ok not warm - sweltering, it was so hot I think I had about 4 hours sleep the whole weekend.
Hard bed
Leaking shower
Constant dripping (no idea where from - not our room)
Late letting us into our room (most not be used to more then 4 couples checking in!!)

As you can see the con's out weigh the pro's and for a city where cheap hotel rooms are 10 for a penny I was expecting a lot better then this, as I say the location is fantastic (5mins walk from the square) and the rooms and hotel itself were extremely clean I just think it let it's self down massively on customer service.

I went for a stag do (now I'm guessing everyone is thinking great) but we are a fairly sensible lot and to be told we are being too loud at 2 o'clock PM is crazy! For a start we didn't want to be there! If they had got our rooms ready on time we would have been someone else! Out of the group 2 are under 30 so it wasnt your typical lads "stag do"!

The bar man was rude to the extreme and even 2 couples next to us commented on the rudeness of said member (I just hope they write a review like they said they were going too!)

Then to the rooms! Right clean - tick! Bed hard - tick (not much else to say on that). Leaking shower - dangerous as the water was all over the bathroom making it really slippery.
Constant dripping - I had and still have no idea where this come from but it was very irritating and went on all night - stopped about 5 in the morning - one of my party said it could have been the air conditioning units - but if the hotel Zlata had air con, well then my uncles my aunt.

So in fairness don't go to this hotel BUT you have to visit Prague, the city itself is fantastic, with history you cannot believe, it is such a nice city I'm booking to take the girlfriend later in the year - however one things for sure I wont be booking at this hotel AND won't be popping back for a drink with the nice gentleman behind the bar!!!

Dean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Exe City Park Prague
Exe City Park Prague
#164 of 649 in Prague
659 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
987 Design Prague Hotel
987 Design Prague Hotel
#169 of 649 in Prague
1,222 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
AXA hotel
AXA hotel
#185 of 649 in Prague
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#578 of 649 in Prague
149 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#224 of 649 in Prague
607 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel City Centre
Hotel City Centre
#586 of 649 in Prague
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zlata Vaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zlata Vaha

Property: Hotel Zlata Vaha
Address: Senovazhne namesti 981/21, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zlata Vaha 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Zlata Vaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing